We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay(Tampa)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$113
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,159)
Filter reviews
2,159 results
Traveller rating
831
660
348
167
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
660
348
167
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingamalie arenatrolley stoppretzelsfree happy hourevening receptionmade to order omeletshockey gamemanagers receptionomelet stationfree breakfastvalet servicetampa downtownliving roomriver walkthird floorcruise terminal
Filter
Updating list...
1,405 - 1,410 of 2,159 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you are attending events at the TB Times Forum or the Convention Center, this is the place to stay. The location is great and easy to get to everything along Channelside or Habor Island (walking distance). Short cab rides to Ybor or downtown. Overnight parking at the hotel is pricey ($22). Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Heidi S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown on TripAdvisor and for choosing to spend your time with us. I am very happy to read you enjoyed the service you received and our location.

I do hope you will be returning to visit us again; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great downtown location,wonderful views and access to the interstate. Pricey parking, but close to the Times Forum. Breakfast was first rate and staff very helpful. Tampa had graduation that weekend, the staff were amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Diane K,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

WHY DID I STAY HERE? I needed a downtown hotel a day prior to embarking on a cruise. The rate was fair and you get a first class breakfast at no additional cost.

LOCATION: The hotel is adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center; one block to the Tampa Bay Times Forum (pro hockey and Arena football); and a short distance to cruise ship terminals.

THE HOTEL: The building is a 20-story atrium hotel. The front desk staff is friendly. You get to enjoy a first-class complimentary breakfast. There is a free happy hour with selected alcoholic drinks (tip your bartender).The happy hour snack consisted of two types of chips with salsa and cheese dips. Meanwhile at a recent stay at Embassy Suites in Sacramento, the snacks consisted of a big spread, hors d'oeuvres, fresh veggies and dips and other assorted goodies (yes, it's free, so I'm looking a gift horse in the mouth. Guilty.) There is a Starbucks off the lobby with an early opening. The bar/restaurant is called Trolleys (if you like your onion rings crispy, avoid theirs.)

THE ROOM: Typical Embassy Suites layout. You have a spacious living room with convertible sofa, an easy chair, ottoman, LG flat screen TV, a spacious desk/table with several chairs and several electrical outlets. The lighting is very good. The bedroom has two double beds, another LG flat screen TV, a cabinet closet with a safe. The living room and bathroom are divided by the bathroom and a wet sink area with a small refrigerator and microwave. As is typical with some Hilton properties, there are no towel racks in the bathroom. The towels are on shelves under the vanity; there is a hook on the back of the bathroom door. The vanity is elevated (a plus) and the shower head is good. The room was clean except for the carpet that had numerous stains and dirty spots that a vacuum won't correct. The carpeting was puckered in both the living room and bedroom. A problem with atrium hotels such as this is that lobby noise carries into your living room; you should be OK in the bedroom behind a closed door. The hotel is ideal for families because of abundant sleeping space and you save a bundle with the free quality breakfast.

GOING ON A CRUISE FROM TERMINAL 2? It's a 15-20 walk from the hotel to Terminal 2. But with luggage and possibly warm weather, I suggest you call Blue One Transportation at 813-927-3602. The cost is $5 per person. It departs from the back entrance of the hotel. I cruised on the Carnival Legend and left the hotel at 12:45 PM. Boarding the ship was a breeze. I waited in the check-in line for only 5-7 minutes and did not get herded into a holding pen afterwards. Access to the stateroom was immediate.

PRACTICING CATHOLIC STAYING ON A SATURDAY NIGHT? OK, I know this applies to only 10% of readers. You can attend Mass at the ornate and friendly Sacred Heart Church (Franciscan). It's a 15-minute walk north on Florida Avenue adjacent to the hotel. Don't panic if you don't see the church on the east side of the street as it's obscured by buildings. Saturday Mass is at 5:30 PM. Sunday Masses are 7:30 AM, 9:00 AM and 10:30 AM. If going on a cruise, I don't recommend the Noon Mass as you'll be "pushing it."

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoKen60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear ChicagoKen60657,
I am very pleased to read you felt welcome to Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your feedback of your experience. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in Tampa. Dont pay the extra for this one especially if you have a car! For what you pay in valet tips and parking you can afford the gas to drive into town. Not a well organized breakfast area, had to stand in line for 10 minutes to get coffee. Have had much better housekeeping at a much less expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Mark H,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown during your recent trip to Tampa. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.
I have noted your comments and apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. I would like to assure you we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Tampa.
We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was a great hotel in a perfect location. The suite was clean and fresh and very large. I was able to select the top floor during my Hilton HHonors e-check in so the view was also nice. The staff was friendly and professional. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Steven G,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews