We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay if you are a convention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kitimat
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay if you are a convention”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice rooms, good service. The complimentary breakfast was good (word of warning about the omelette bar, they are not fully cooked). The complimentary wine and cheese in the evening was a nice way of winding down for the day. The gym and pool aren't big, but are they serve the purpose quite well. Only complaint, wi-fi is not free, and is a little pricey.
But I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KramJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear KramJH,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    591
    312
    150
    138
See reviews for
515
420
53
720
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Good: The breakfast is quite good and the evening reception (free drinks) is great! The location is a perfect jumping off point for the Convention Center, Channelside, Riverwalk, Ybor City (by trolley), Curtis Hixon Park, and anything else downtown. The Bad: $25/night parking (plus tip), $10 internet fee, the carpet in my room was in need of replacement. I didn't expect that in an Embassy Suites. I parked in a public garage right next to the hotel for only $9.50/night versus the $25/night for valet parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ronaldn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear ronaldn74,
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your candor. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our property appearance is something we are actively examining and we will be sure to make any feasible updates and repairs. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have traveled there several times due to my daughter's drama class having their annual FL Thespian festival. This is the nicest hotel in the area and you step out the door and you're at the Convention Center. A 15-20 minute walk in either direction will take to you wonderful theater, dining, and shopping. Can't wait to come to this hotel for pleasure!! Plus the full breakfast is absolutely amazing!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sheryl P,
I am very pleased to read you and your family enjoyed your stay at Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown. Thank you for sharing your favorite aspects and for acknowledging our efforts to ensure no detail is missed in regards to making your stay comfortable.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family's return in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Kristen in group sales was fabulous to work with! She went above and beyond to accommodate our unique setup, even helping to close off the street to accommodate our semi and numerous crates. She and her team created a great space for us to host meetings during a recent convention making this one of our most successful events yet. We hosted breakfast, lunch, appetizers and a bar over three days making this space to place people sought out. It was such a treat to host this event in the same hotel where we were staying, and dinner recommendations outside of the hotel made by Kristen were perfect. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Shannon M,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff including Kristen we so helpful in making your stay exceed your expecations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanahan, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and seemed to be very clean. We loved the complimentary happy hour drinks and breakfast. The only problem was the customer service. The receptionist (multiple ones) and the bar tender were a little rude and just short with us. We were bringing in a lot of business due to it being a wedding party so you'd think they could be a little kinder. I will say the valets and the bell hops were super nice and helpful though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clp1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear clp1621,
I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed. I have noted your comments regarding lack of professionalism by the team.

Our team at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves; we strive to ensure our guests recognize the services and facilities we provide as offering a high level of value and a warmly memorable experience. I would like to apologize if in any way we feel short in this respect. I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was in Tampa for a convention, and the location of the hotel is very convenient. I also liked the spacious rooms, comfortable bed, and Starbucks in the lobby. Manager's happy hour in the lobby every evening. Our group rate included breakfast which was convenient. About 20 minutes from the airport by SuperShuttle. Would stay again, and I think it would also be good for a vacation stay since it's close to the Aquarium and other activities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestwoodTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear WestwoodTrekker,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown on TripAdvisor and for choosing to spend your time with us. I am very happy to read you enjoyed the service you received as well as our facilities and location.

I do hope you will be returning to visit us again; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the location is great. its walking distance (about 2 blocks) from the convention center, harbour, & several places to eat. This hotel is about 3 blocks from the aquarium. The outdoor pool has a beautiful view although its fairly small. At peak shower times (such as shortly before checkout) there is NO hot water. I was very impressed by the complimentary breakfast which included made to order omlettes by friendly but quick cooks, pancakes, scrambled eggs, homefries, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, &a variety of cereals & yogurts. I was expecting a nice hotel like this to have complementary toiletries upon request but unfortunately they don't.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear janet a,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown during your recent trip to Tampa. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.
I have noted your comments regarding the hot water and apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. I would like to assure you we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Tampa.
We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Embassy Suites Tampa-Downtown.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#24 of 163 in Tampa
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 163 in Tampa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing