We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel-Awesome Location-Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed here for one night on our recent trip to Fla. (the Marriott would not honor a price I got online.) The first thing that impressed us was Amanda at the front desk. We arrived early and asked if we could check in early. She never hesitated, and we were in our room in no time. Everyone we met in the hotel asked how our room was, etc. Seemed to really care how our stay was. The manager's reception was great, the free drinks were better than any we paid for our whole trip! The breakfast was awesome, some of the best omelette's we have ever had. Better than other Embassy's we have stayed at. The room was really nice, we overlooked the water. We can't think of one problem that we had while staying there. When it was raining, they even let us use an umbrella. We would definately recommend and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shenry1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,833 - 1,839 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

Although we stayed only one night at the Embassy Suites in Tampa (prior to our Caribbean cruise) I can say that we enjoyed our brief stay. This is a nice hotel with clean modern rooms and conveniently located about a 5-minute ride to the Carnival Cruise Port. As many of the guest were staying there prior to cruising, they had a shuttle bus from "Blue One" shuttle company in the garage. While this was NOT a free service (I think we paid $20 for three of us for transport to the port) it was very convenient.
The managers cocktail party was nice as was the free breakfast buffet. The trolley, which we rode to Ybor City for dinner, was located just outside the front door and costs $5 per person/day for unlimited rides. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hercule08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stayed here for a Yankees spring training visit. It's only a few miles from the field. The staff was all friendly and very helpful. Breakfast can't be beat - they have a chef cooking made to order eggs. Nice to have the additional space in the suite. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yankeegirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed for the frist time in Oct 2009 when were going to a concert in Tampa. Our only reget was that we had to leave the hotel and go to the concert. Between the amazing views, great rooms, complimentary managers reception every night, and cook to order breakfast you can really not beat it. We have been 3 weekends since and love it everytime!!! Any time we are in need of a weekend getway that is our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choff82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We stayed 5 nights with our 5 year-old for a leisure trip and were pleased with our accommodations. Our check-in was quick. All hotel employees that we encountered were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was good but nothing special. The staff did keep the quantity of food well stocked despite large crowds on the weekend. Starbucks in the lobby is very handy. The room itself was roomy, simply decorated, clean and fresh. Lots of lamps, and plenty of outlets for charging all our "stuff". The bed was firm and very comfortable, and there were extra blankets and pillows. Our son slept comfortably on the fold-out sofa in the TV area of the suite. The "kitchen" area is small but very serviceable with a granite countertop, sink, microwave, coffee maker, small refrigerator and some storage cabinets. Coffee was provided. The hotel has an open atrium with most of the rooms opening onto a balcony overlooking the atrium. While the design gives a great view, it also allows quite a bit of noise to rise up to all floors of the hotel from the lobby, but this was only an issue on Saturday night when there were several receptions/parties. Fortunately, the bedroom is situated in the back of the suite, so it didn't interrupt our sleep, but it's something to consider for someone sleeping on the fold-out sofa although the exhausted 5 year-old was unaffected by the noise. The parking is pricey but the valets were quick and courteous. The hotel location is great, especially if you want to walk to the St. Pete Times Forum, aquarium or Channelside. Easy walk/run to Bayshore Drive where Tampa loves to run, bike, rollerblade and walk, and you can walk to several restaurants along the waterfront. Not all rooms have a water view, so you might specify if that is important to you. Pool is small, on the 3rd floor and on the shady side of the hotel so I would not consider it a great pool. The Marriott's pool which you can see from the hotel elevator was enviable. We ate at the hotel restaurant Trolley's one evening...nothing exceptional but all was tasty, and they were open late. Cleaning was good and unintrusive. Overall, this hotel was a winner for us. We have spent a lot of time in Tampa and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wejustgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Just what I expect from Ebassy Suites. Beautiful Views depending on your room view. We had one of the bay. Excellent professional staff from front desk to car valet. Nice location with-in 10 minute walking distance of restaurants. Excellent morning breakfast buffet. Only down side is you have to pay $20 for parking.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calcalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed here while in town for 98 Rock Fest. The location is great. Walking distance to Channelside Plaza, the Florida Aquarium and SOHO.

The staff was friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. The room was large and we had a great view of downtown Tampa.

Lots of places to walk from this hotel including Channelside, Davis Island or downtown Tampa.

Cabs lineup right outside the hotel so it is easy to get a ride to SOHO or Ybor. SOHO is less than a 1.5 mile walk so you can just walk if the weather is nice and you are heading to a bar or place to eat.

The Trolley's restaurant delivered to the pool or it was just a quick trip down to get a drink.

Elevators can be a little slow, but not uncommon for a hotel with 20 floors. We would stay here again if coming to town for a concert, convention or cruise.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £122 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing