We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, not really clean, but location is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I have to agree with some of the other reviews - this place is really overpriced. The rooms were not overly clean, and the bathroom was really small. It is convenient to the convention center, but without free wi-fi (which is available just outside the doors at the nearest bus stop!) it wasn't at all business-friendly. There is a "business center" with extremely slow computers and an almost unusable printer. The hotel also chose to block ESPN when the local Tampa Bay Rays game was on, and doesn't get Sunshine Network so baseball wasn't available on other days either. They would not provide late checkout, even though our convention ended 15 minutes before the check-out time. Most of the rooms open up onto the open lobby, and some nights it was really loud on even the upper floors from the lower bar area.

There are other downtown hotels - I'd look at them a bit closer before I'd stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solarstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,992)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,826 - 1,832 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

Nothing special about this hotel, as a matter of fact kind of on the bland side. Limited menu at the restaurant and usual fare at the breakfast buffet.

Day we were there was kind of interesting (Labor Day) because management had sent out a letter the night before indicating that breakfast buffet is open M-F 630 to 930; weekends and holidays 730 to 1030a. Well you can imagine the upset guests who were trying to get breakfast AFTER 930a with the poor manager trying to argue that it was a Monday, while guests were pointing out that Labor Day is of course a holiday.

We used the Embassy Suites as a base before our cruise and worked out fine. There is no reason to seek out this hotel unless your business takes you to the convention center or you have another reason to stay downtown. Tampa on the weekends is completely dead with little going on.

Hotel seemed relatively new, rooms were clean and nice and the evening manager's reception is a nice touch as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frqflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We planned to stay here for a wedding as bride booked a block of rooms. She was told that rates would be $116. Well that is for one person in the room. Two people is $134. Cancellation is 14 days ahead. Parking is $20. And since we are coming from out of town would like early check-in... oh, extra $9. So we started looking for other hotels around the area. Much better deals without a "wedding discount". Hyatt Regency which is about 1/2 mile away will be $82 with AAA discount (no additonal charge for extra person or early check-in). Cancellation is 24 hrs. What does Embassy Suites have that is worth so much more? Cant tell from the reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
2  Thank RETIRE2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Pros:
1. Close to the Tampa Convention Center (the purpose of my trip).
2. Free breakfast bar and omelette station (not that good but free).
3. Large room with separate sitting area with sofa bed.
4. Good location if you need to be downtown or near the port.

Cons:
1. Carpet was dirty.
2. On most occasions, toilet would not work.
3. The air conditioners in the room are motion activated. Sounds nice for the environment but that means that when you leave the room for the day and return, it is hot and stuffy.
4. Elevators are terribly slow.
5. WORST PART: Showers were COLD. Immediately upon turning on the water it is hot but then it gets cold very fast and then warms up again and gets cold again, etc. Horrible.
6. Valet parking fee is $20.00/day.

Overall:
Way overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel9blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I stayed for a convention with two teenagers, the air conditioning was sub standard when I called for repair a technician came and had to overide the system to provide me with decent air conditioning, it seems the units stop during the day to conserve energy or something, but in upper 90's this is not a good idea.The refrigerator did not keep our soda cold, the tech said it had been adjusted wrong and readjusted it but it still did not work. The elevator situation is disgusting, we had to wait 10-15 minutes for the elevators, they where over crowded and stopped on every floor. At night people(kids) where playing hide and seek in the elevators for fun, where was security? The rooms had alot of space, the room was clean except the dryed urine stains on the front of the commode. This should have been the cleanest part of the room but it was not. We paid regular room rates( not convention discount price) and I can say it was not worth it. The hotel had no wi-fi , you had to pay 15 dollars and change per day "per computer", what a rip off !!!! I also hated the fact that people piled garbage and empty food containers in the hall to be picked up. This garbage was there from nighttime till the next afternoon, how disqusting!!! I'm sorry that I stayed here, I was originally going to stay at the Marriot waterside hotel across the street, but I switched so I could use the skybrige to the convention center. This was not worth it, especially when other folks we spoke to in the lounge had stayed before at the marriot and they said it was 10 times nicer in everyway. Also if you enjoy swimming in the pool when you go to a hotel forget this one, they have what they call a "swim spa" a long narrow water feature that is not a pool or a spa, it is a joke. I will not reccommend or stay at this hotel ever again. But the way here is a side note, if you do stay here don't fall for the mandatory valet parking at $20.00 per day, you can park in the convention center parking garage for $ 5.00 per day, we left our car there for three days(overnight) with no problem(friday 5P.M. to sunday 4:40P.M.) and paid $15.35 for the 3 days. It was a multi level covered parking garage, who knows where the valet would park and they don't lock your car. I liked saving money and knowing that my car was locked and secure in the convention center parking.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pilaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

i loved the hotel, rooms were great, clean and spacious, excellent breakfast cooked to order; free drinks during happy hour from 5-7pm;

on the not so good side: the only restaurant / bar closes at 11pm - so no luck for late arrivals like me

one of the few hotels left certainly in this category that i know of where you have to pay separately for the use of the internet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heinztheketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The location of the hotel is very accessible to transportation. $0.25 for a bus will take you around downtown Tampa and to the Harbour Island. I made my two-way back and forth to Ybor city via the street trolleys. Buying the unlimited 1-day pass will save you more. Their room service was well some are lazy or unprofessional but most of the staffs are very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank Rosaglenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £125 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing