We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Two in Tampa”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We agree with those reviews which suggest staying at the Embassy Suites downtown if you are going to be boarding a ship the next day. Very close to pier, although getting there with the complimentary shuttle was a little time-consuming. The room was spacious and comfortable- two TVs come in handy when one person wants to sleep, the other wants to watch a ballgame; the carpet showed a little bit it's age. Happy Hour sounds like fun, but be prepared for a looong wait in line to get your free drink.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fahrvergnuegte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    591
    312
    150
    138
See reviews for
515
420
53
720
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This was a faily new hotel. Very clean and neat. The valet parking was well worth the money and convienent. You cannot take your car out of public ramps after 7PM. The rooms were in excellent condition and staff was great.

The only minor concerns were that there was little tourist information available in the lobby. The happy hour snacks were not what we have come to expect from other Embassy Suites - however, the free drinks at happy hour were great.

Located within walking distance of Channelside and Ybor City is only a $6 taxi ride each way.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzard2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I was there for one night before my Christmas cruise with my wife and my two teenagers. The quality of the suite is excellent: perfect for 4 persons, good beds, 2 ACL televisions, quiet… Nothing to complain on this important part of a hotel stayed!
Front desk: long lines. I had to wait ± 15 minutes before receiving my keys. I also asked basic information to the front desk employee (where is the nearest place to buy wines) and the answer was inappropriate: for him I had to order a cab to go to a store at 3 or 4 miles away. Finally on Google maps I found a large Publix supermarket at 5-7 minutes walk from the hotel (west side of Hillsborough river right after Channelside Drive Bridge if you need it!).
Happy hour: Embassy suites offer 7 nights per week free drinks from 5 to 7PM but at this hotel I had to wait 15-20 minutes in long line to get my drink. After it, you are not able to sit; no tables or seats are available!
Breakfast: it was included and Embassy suites always offer cook to order breakfast: nice again if you are ready to wait another 15 minutes in a long line to get it! And seating problem again!
It seems their breakfast / lounge area is too small to handle all their clients when the hotel is full. If it happens to you, be prepared to wait in line and eat (or drink) whenever you can!
As mentioned the internet is 15$ per day but it’s fast and efficient.
Location: not far from the cruise departure. They don’t offer shuttle transportation to the cruise port. Taxi cost is ± $10.
Hotel restaurant: small but services and foods were good.
Finally if I have to go back in Tampa, I will certainly stayed at another hotel. Unless I’m going there for a convention as the convention center is their direct neighbour.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alainl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansboro
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I know I am downtown, but as a gold hilton honors member, $20.00 a night is ridiculous. I am a gold member because I find the Embassy Suites is a great value for the room rates but $20.00 a night for parking---------------won't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolpix12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights on our trip around Florida. I mainly picked the hotel because I like to have a separate sitting room for the children to sleep in. We didn't know that there was a pool at the hotel and it really was fabulous. The children ended up spending many hours in the pool each afternoon and it was fairly quiet. We enjoyed the Starbucks in the lobby. Staff were really friendly. Breakfast was just as advertised but pretty busy. We had room service pizza one night which was very good. Great location for the Florida Aquarium which was really good and a cinema is very close by. Pretty easy drive to Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

This hotel was enjoyable to stay in. The 24-floor lobby made the views stunning while the glass elevator was great to see the lights of Tampa outside as well as the hotel pool and Tampa Bay. Looking out of the room the sights were also beautiful, including the St. Pete Forum all lit up at night. The rooms were quiet and Hilton quality. I enjoyed the ample sugar and creamer for my coffee - unusual in a self-serve kitchen nook. The complimentary breakfast was good, serving the standard omelets, eggs, bacon, sausage, oj, etc.,..and I enjoyed that they served it until 10:30. Valet was the only parking available that I knew of, $20 and internet was $14.95/stay. The pool outside on the third floor was beautiful on a sunny Tampa day. Very good location and I felt safe as a solo traveler. There was a Starbucks right in the building - a nice surprise. The staff were wonderfully friendly and overall this was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindawJ811LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

On the positive side, being within walking distance of the hockey arena and the amazing views from our 19th floor windows. Enjoyed the free HBO, room was clean and comfortable, managers reception and breakfast were good. Location was great for taking a long relaxing walk along the harbor and watching cruise ships depart. A small bar called Trolley's was actually very good, had an amazing grouper sandwich and chicken quesidillas. On the less than positive side, elevators are very slow, parking is a confusing nightmare but the attendants are very sweet gentlemen who try to be helpful under less than ideal circumstances. Our biggest complaint was a wedding banquet attendee staying in the next room, my family member who was sleeping on the fold out sofa heard what sounded like the drunken gentlemen urinating on the hallway carpet when he couldn't get into his room at 1 am.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewLondonCTAdrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 163 in Tampa
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 163 in Tampa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing