We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship
Ranked #38 of 195 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This shipment is well worth a visit. It is hot this time of year but not unbearable. It does however make you admire the sailors who have served aboard. Easy to drift back in time and imagine the brave men doing what needed to be done in the Pacific.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    99
    47
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humble
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We had never seen a Victory Ship before”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have been on a lot of war ships but had never seen a victory ship before. It was very informative. You hear about the aircraft carriers and battleships but don't really think about how they get their supplies. It was a little hot but I don't think they get the attention they should so they don't get as many guests. Would have liked a better gift shop with more history books.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss adding this to agenda when at aquarium.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Don't miss this. Even my young girls loved touring the ship and seeing how it was to live on a WWII SHIP. really enjoyed the self guided approach.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cool to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have seen many battleships and old war museums. This one was alright, I didn't realize it was a cargo ship when i planned my visit but it was still neat to see and walk around. I wish the museum part would have had a little more and the gift shop was much to be desired, but still a neat experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Groupon is the way to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I visited this museum in 2011 and it is definitely an interesting exhibit because you can walk all up on the decks, and see the staterooms the way they probably looked years ago. It's worth doing a least once to see and we can remember the service men and women who gave their lives in service to our country.

I got my tickets through Groupon and it was uber cheap! Nice day overall.

Helpful?
Thank JenL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship also viewed

 

Been to SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing