We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GP Gram's Place Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$616
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sailport Waterfront Suites(Tampa)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
59
39
3
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
39
3
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz roomprivate bathspent nightshot tubwould stay here againbrucegramsflconference
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Four of us drove from Chicago looking for a clean bed and bathroom at a reaonsable rate. Red Roof Inn did not cut it and we wanted to experience the local scene. Gram's place provided so much more and is a highlight of our trip that we will always remember. We experienced the private room and the train room along with meeting so many wonderful people. Bruce is an excellent host, and offered for us to tour the place prior to commiting as some of us were a little leary. The nooks and cranny's to hide out in and reflect on life were incredible, the cemetery across the street was an excellent place to walk in and contemplate the past lives of the departed. Luis and Christine were wonderful hosts as well. The music, conversation, hot tub, were incredible to top our evening off. The use of the kitchen/barbecue were wonderful for dinner and breakfast with expresso definitely made the trip! The sheets and bedding were so clean and comfy - bathrooms too!!! GP is all over the place - this is museum quality experience. The Phoenix Glass Studio by Susan Gott is close by and so is the YBOR District where you can find awesome coffee at the El Molino coffee shop. We will definitely be returning! Thanks Bruce for a wonderful stay!!!!

Room Tip: Private rooms have sink in room and shared bathroom. Good if you want to be alone. Bunks are very comfortable and ok for a good night sleep. There is electricity by each bed as well as locked storage unit.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It's a hostel...so be familiar with hostel lodging or you might be disappointed. This said, Gram's place is the ONLY reasonable, safe housing choice if you are flying into Tampa on a budget.
It is a 70's throwback and you will meet a lot of really nice people. Bruce, the owner is a warm- hearted sweet man who will chill with you and throw back a beer or two with you on the patio. Luis who is the property manager couldn't have been nicer and set us up with a couple of bikes to use while we were there.
There is all sorts of really unique music memorabilia and also there is impromptu jam sessions on the weekends. Many of the guests are international and frequent hostel travelers.
You can save a bunch of money by cooking up your own food in the community kitchen and Bruce is nice enough to provide coffee and eggs and bread for you free in the morning.
Its more a community than a hotel room. Also it is close to bus lines, but the neighborhood is not located in any tourist area, although there is a small park next door.-- NOT recommended for families with young children. But 2 people can easily share a private room for $60 or a single can get a bunk in a shared dorm for @$ 25. There are all kinds of little nooks to sit on the small property with a book and relax. The beaches of Clearwater are only about a 30 minute drive away and Ybor City is a decent day trip for shopping and history.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seveneasy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

You know, I haven't found that much hostels while travelling within Florida...so finding this place, even I was there while most of people in Tampa were in Xmas holidays so it was not crowdy, I was really suprised. I really liked the facility, that has been built around trees with a huge effort of handwork that gives to this place a unique character. People of the staff helped me a lot in finding good clubs where to spend the nights listening very good jam sessions and also suggesting alternatives to not being driving at night while partying. I stayed both ina private room as in a dormitory of 6 beds upstairs. Both solution were clean and confortable, always remembering you are in an hostel of course! Bathroom while ina private room is private, while with a dorm solution is shared and outside of the dorm. Both cases clean bathrooms and shower.
Owner built also a heated jacuzzi in the middle of the "lobby" that he used to switch on middel afternoon, for having a beer before dinner with a relaxing bath.
good place and even better people there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I’ve been skateboarding from Key West to Tampa and this was just the right spot to spend some down time. A super friendly, warm staff welcomed along with the owner Bruce who went above and beyond to accommodate me. This is by far one of the most unique places I have stayed at and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

It locates in a silent suburb near a cemetery. I was terrified by the environment. Not convenient to the airport. The owner said that I was free to have the Chrismas food but several minutes later, she hide the expansive ones. The dorm is close to the living room and kitchen. You can hear outside clearly from inside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews