We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GP Gram's Place Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
59
39
3
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
39
3
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz roomprivate bathspent nightshot tubwould stay here againbrucegramsflconference
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our Requirements: Budget friendly, private bath, clean & bug free room.
Requirements were all met.

This place is a flashback to the late 60's. Lived through it once and wasn't prepared for what we found. Yes, Gram's Place is like visit to Haight-Ashbury during the Summer of Love. It is a friendly, somewhat cluttered place and makes you feel a little like you are visiting your very distant and slightly pickled uncle... the one with the good intentions and low drive. In the "cottage" where the Blues Room is located, there is no central air so the entire place has that damp & musty smell that goes with authentic "Old Florida Living". In our room however, the AC kept it dried out and less aromatic. The beds were comfortable, the room clean & sparse. Towels clean yet stained as if someone had used them while dying their hair. Not surprising given the motto... "Relax, They'll never find you here."

The big plus was the 2nd egress from the bathroom led directly to the laundry area. Two washers & two dryers. $5 for a complete load (washed & dried). We did our laundry at midnight without a qualm. Just throw your money in the jar before you leave.

If you are short on cash & long on adventurous spirit and NOT traveling with kids. I would say give it a go. If you are at all prissy or staid.. go elsewhere ... you won't be happy at Gram's Place. Private room & bath $67/ night. We stayed for two.

Room Tip: If you are over 25 I would go for one of the private rooms and skip the dorm atmosphere.. but that's just me.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LowellBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great people friendly place!! I've stayed her a few times over the years, while attending local shows. The vibe is both energetic and relaxing. The owner and his staff have always been attentive to my needs. The other guests have always enriched my life with their worldly travel stories and perspectives. For a hostel that can have many people in and out, it is immaculately maintained and cleaned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed there a few years ago in the shared room as a student and I will never forget it how dirty, unfriendly and noisy it was. I do like music but having it on all night? The owner was rude, unhelpful and just mean. I would not recommend it to anyone. Stay clear.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogusia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce h, Owner at GP Gram's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank You for your review, I have never seen someone reference a review based on staying somewhere, and I quote " A FEW YEARS AGO" We understand we can not make everyone happy and since my late brother died "A FEW YEARS AGO" we admit we needed to do some work around here. and for the last 6 years have been doing a full make over . We wish you much success in your travels Mr B and hope your travels are safe and enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Four of us drove from Chicago looking for a clean bed and bathroom at a reaonsable rate. Red Roof Inn did not cut it and we wanted to experience the local scene. Gram's place provided so much more and is a highlight of our trip that we will always remember. We experienced the private room and the train room along with meeting so many wonderful people. Bruce is an excellent host, and offered for us to tour the place prior to commiting as some of us were a little leary. The nooks and cranny's to hide out in and reflect on life were incredible, the cemetery across the street was an excellent place to walk in and contemplate the past lives of the departed. Luis and Christine were wonderful hosts as well. The music, conversation, hot tub, were incredible to top our evening off. The use of the kitchen/barbecue were wonderful for dinner and breakfast with expresso definitely made the trip! The sheets and bedding were so clean and comfy - bathrooms too!!! GP is all over the place - this is museum quality experience. The Phoenix Glass Studio by Susan Gott is close by and so is the YBOR District where you can find awesome coffee at the El Molino coffee shop. We will definitely be returning! Thanks Bruce for a wonderful stay!!!!

Room Tip: Private rooms have sink in room and shared bathroom. Good if you want to be alone. Bunks are very comfortable and ok for a good night sleep. There is electricity by each bed as well as locked storage unit.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It's a hostel...so be familiar with hostel lodging or you might be disappointed. This said, Gram's place is the ONLY reasonable, safe housing choice if you are flying into Tampa on a budget.
It is a 70's throwback and you will meet a lot of really nice people. Bruce, the owner is a warm- hearted sweet man who will chill with you and throw back a beer or two with you on the patio. Luis who is the property manager couldn't have been nicer and set us up with a couple of bikes to use while we were there.
There is all sorts of really unique music memorabilia and also there is impromptu jam sessions on the weekends. Many of the guests are international and frequent hostel travelers.
You can save a bunch of money by cooking up your own food in the community kitchen and Bruce is nice enough to provide coffee and eggs and bread for you free in the morning.
Its more a community than a hotel room. Also it is close to bus lines, but the neighborhood is not located in any tourist area, although there is a small park next door.-- NOT recommended for families with young children. But 2 people can easily share a private room for $60 or a single can get a bunk in a shared dorm for @$ 25. There are all kinds of little nooks to sit on the small property with a book and relax. The beaches of Clearwater are only about a 30 minute drive away and Ybor City is a decent day trip for shopping and history.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seveneasy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews