We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rate, convenient”
Review of Best Western Tampa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Tampa
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good rate, convenient”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The hotel outside and in public areas is very nice. Location is convenient to restaurants, etc. but area is a bit rundown, congested, possibly not safe to walk around at night. Room was good rate, but disappointing. One of the two double beds squeaked when touching it, was impossible to sleep in it. First floor room window faced dumpster and the screen was broken off window. Could not use TV as sound didn't match up with speakers at all. Breakfast was good, nothing special. Convenient to airport, pleasant staff, very clean.

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor up to avoid kitchen and lobby noise on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dar019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    147
    89
    37
    25
See reviews for
147
121
46
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I enjoyed the stay. The food was very good. The view was nice. It was noisy at the pool until 2 AM.OK for vacationers. My only real complaint is that I forgot my clothes in the closet and they were not turned in. I lost a few hundred dollars of clothes. I left a good tip too.Disappointed.

Room Tip: Not close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is next to a noisy, busy highway, and was hard to make a left turn into from the interstate, but not impossible. It's even hard to make a right turn into, just because of the speed of the drivers piling up behind you as you slow down to turn. There's only one entrance/exit to and from the parking lot, and it's hard to distinguish from the entrance to IHOP's parking lot next door, so take the risk of upsetting a few drivers behind you and slow down to be sure. It took about 10 minutes to make a left turn out of the parking lot yesterday, around 7 pm, so I can only imagine what it's like during rush hour.

Surprisingly, however, my hotel room is very quiet and comfortable, with the exception of the air conditioning unit, which is rather noisy, even by hotel standards.

Yesterday when I arrived in my room, a little after 5 pm, the bed was only half made. The pillows didn't have cases on them--the clean cases were piled on a night stand next to the bed. There's a bent wire hangar hanging from a painting next to the "work desk" (a table). The hall smells of cigarette smoke and mold, despite the fact that the 3rd floor is supposed to be non smoking.

The fridge is large, with a separate freezer compartment that works quite well, and the microwave is a Magic Chef, with a turn table inside. This, I like.

The bed is moderately comfortable--not a mattress I'd care to own at home, but I didn't wake up with back pain, either. The television is outdated. There's a few rust stains in the bathroom, but it's clean, save a few long, dark hairs that were on the floor yesterday.

The breakfast was...about what I expected. Make your own waffles, cold hard boiled eggs, bagels, danishes, but nothing particularly hot or filling. The IHOP next door gives a 10% discount to Best Western guests, however--all you have to do is show them your room key. I believe I'll be going there tomorrow for breakfast instead. It's worth it to have something hot to eat in the morning.

There is a large fitness center on the third floor, that I haven't seen being used yet. They keep fresh towels in there and the equipment looks to be in good condition.

Really, I completely agree with an earlier reviewer that said "you get what you pay for." This is neither the best, nor the worst Best Western in which I've stayed, but I would stay here again if here on business, as it gives me no particular complaints.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Only stayed one night, but the front desk staff were all very nice. The hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants and when we asked what was close by, we were handed a pamphlet with locations and coupons. Worked out great. Room was clean and pretty big. Continental breakfast was also nice with hot and cold foods such as waffles, bagels, fruits and cereals. Overall not bad for the price, would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C20876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Overall I think that this is a nice hotel, and certainly one of the better Best Westerns I've ever stayed in. My room was fairly quiet and comfortable, and the staff was really nice. You also can't beat the location of the hotel--super close to Hyde Park and downtown.

My one and only complaint is that as I was peeling my comforter off the bed I noticed massive stains on the underside that looked brown, like dried blood or worse. That didn't really bother me as I've learned over the years never to sleep with the hotel comforter. If you're the kind of person who would be offended enough by something like that to want to switch rooms or hotels, then Best Western is probably not the hotel for you. But if you're like me, and can throw the comforter in the corner and forget it, go ahead--can't beat the location or the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pas1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This hotel was incredibly good value for money. We hadn't booked the hotel and turned up late in the afternoon to be surprised at what an amazing rate for a room we were able to get. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. Breakfast was also included in the price. The bed was huge(!) which enabled us to get a good nights sleep after a long day's driving. The hotel also has an outside pool to take a dip in to cool off and relax. The chap on the front desk was helpful and able to recommend a couple of places to go for food and drinks. For the money we paid, I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_R1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
311 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We first stayed at this hotel for two nights and had a pleasant experience. Nice daytime front desk staff, clean, reasonable room, no problems! Upon checking out we reserved for an additional night, since we planned a road trip to Key West and were returning to Tampa ten days later to fly home. We received a confirmation # (my husband asked for it) and also were told we did not need to give a CC#, since everything was on file. We believed it. On our drive back to Tampa from Key West we realized that we would be getting in at about 10 pm, so we called from the road to notify the hotel of our late arrival. Best decision ever, because there was no room reserved for us and we were told the hotel was full. After much discussion and citing our conf. #, the clerk assured us he would call back with a solution. He did not, but we did. No solution yet, he would call back. Again, no call, so we called for the third time. Now he had a room, same price as the one we reserved, with jaccuzzi. Great, we were pleased, gave our CC info over the phone for payment and got a new confirmation #. Arrived at the hotel, rude clerk, very unprofessional, not the one we dealt with on the phone, although it is a tiny reception area and there is NO WAY this guy did not overhear his collegue's conversation with us. "Hotel is full". Yes, but we just called less than an hour ago and paid for a room with jaccuzzi, here is the conf. #. No clue, no room. I asked him to please call the other employee for assistance. No, he was told not to call and would not call until the morning. Having just come off the road after driving for 10 hours, my husband and I insisted that he call NOW. He said he would only call if people were nice to him. EXCUSE ME??? He finally called and left a message for somebody in Spanish. No call back. Well after midnight and following my threat that I would notify the police since we paid for a room we are not getting, he somehow found the reserved room, no apology, no explanation. Terrible end to our otherwise great honeymoon, we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#97 of 163 in Tampa
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
0.2 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#91 of 163 in Tampa
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tampa

Property: Best Western Tampa
Address: 734 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tampa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Tampa, Florida hotel located in the desirable South Tampa area only minutes from downtown Tampa and nearby attractions like Raymond James Stadium, George M. Steinbrenner Field, Amalie Arena, the Tampa Convention Center, and Tampa International Airport. Whether you are visiting for fun or work, the BEST WESTERN Tampa wants to make your trip memorable! Our accommodations are perfect for leisure travelers visiting the Tampa Bay area. Discover new creatures at the Tampa Aquarium, take a well-deserved cruise from the Port of Tampa, or enjoy a Tampa Bay Buccaneers football game, New York Yankees Spring Training game, Tampa Bay Lightning hockey, or the Outback Bowl. You are sure to have a great time and enjoy the convenient location of the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Traveling on business? We cater to both corporate and military travelers by offering Free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour business center. In addition, this Tampa, FL hotel's location is only minutes from MacDill Air Force Base, the University of Tampa, Tampa General Hospital, Westshore Business District, IBM, and Time, Inc. The BEST WESTERN Tampa offers newly renovated guest rooms, each complete with microwave, refrigerator, new Serta(R) beds, and LED flat screen TVS with over 70 HD channels. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. This hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility, and business center. For an enjoyable experience and a convenient location, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Best Western
Best Western Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing