We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock hard mattress!”
Review of Best Western Tampa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Tampa
Ranked #55 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Nice enough, small room, everything works and is clean. But, yikes, I like firm mattresses, but it was like sleeping on the floor. My husband had to finally get up and go to CVS for OTC sleeping aides. Desk staff is friendly, breakfast has the basics (coffee, bagels and yogurt) and the BW standard, the waffle maker. Convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Tampa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

we stayed in room #222 what a nice room that is,at the end of the hallway,peaceful,and so big looks a suite,even the bathroom was huge,we were very happy with that,swiming pool on the back of hotel were wont disterb anyone opens 24 hours,great location, room price was good also.continental breakfast was great too.

Room Tip: 222 was a great room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salserita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel itself is relatively nice...it has been remodeled fairly recently, or at least looks like it. The lobby is very nice, and the hallways and rooms are nice as well. Got a random upgrade to the jacuzzi suite. It's actually a whirlpool tub, not a hot tub.

A few not-so-great things:
-Wifi was unreliable. Connection kept failing, and when the connection was steady the internet was very slow and unusable.
-The whirlpool tub had really poor water pressure, it took over 20 minutes to fill up.
-It might have just been the room I was in (all the way towards the back of the hotel) but there was this relatively loud booming noise that kept happening. It seemed like it was the AC or maybe some sort of vent connected to the room, but it made the room be very unrelaxing, especially for sleep.

-Bed was very stiff/firm. In that, it was not uncomfortable...but if you prefer the "cloud" feeling these beds will not be to your liking.

If not for the worthless wifi, I would have rated this a 4.

Room Tip: Do not pick the rooms closest to the back of the hotel, noisy AC.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hector A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. Pleasant experience. Room was big with good wifi. Breakfast was ok. Next door is IHOP and supermarket and other eateries are within 10 mins walk. Reception service was very good. Parking is free and it was easy to find best western tampa. About 15 mins drive to Tampa Convention Centre. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmsg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel is only 10 minutes from downtown & near several grocery stores, restaurants, and fast food places. Great for someone just wanting a place to sleep while visiting but certainly not to hang out for hours. There is a small refrigerator, an onsite laundry, treadmill in the fitness room, & free wireless. The rooms are very average. it's been a while since they were updates but my room was clean. The staff was helpful with directions to places. Near to the airport. With a car you can get quickly to the shopping mall & downtown.

Room Tip: The rooms are off the street so you really don't have street noise. On a very busy street and I...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stay at a lot of Best Western hotels and are usually satisfied with them. This particular hotel was a huge disappointment. This was the most uncomfortable bed I've slept on in a very long time. The bathroom was a galley...very narrow. The TV was old. Breakfast was typical for a continental breakfast, nothing special but the only reason they did not get a terrible rating! We got a good deal on the room compared to hotels in the area but I felt we got ripped off!!! This was a hotel that should have been in the budget range at best!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PR0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was an ok place to spend one night before my flight in the morning. They offered a free shuttle which always helps. Free internet as well. The room was rather ordinary expect for the 9 foot ceilings on the 3rd floor! It is a bit dated. I appreciate the fridge and the microwave there. There was no hot tub (yah I know its Florida, but a hot tub is nice in the spring and fall after a long drive). For the cheap price I got it, I would stay again for 1 night myself, but I would like something a little better if the girlfriend was with me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Quality Inn Airport
#100 of 163 in Tampa
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Hyde Park Hotel
#105 of 163 in Tampa
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tampa

Address: 734 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#51 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £62 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tampa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Tampa, Florida hotel located in the desirable South Tampa area only minutes from downtown Tampa and nearby attractions like Raymond James Stadium, George M. Steinbrenner Field, Amalie Arena, the Tampa Convention Center, and Tampa International Airport. Whether you are visiting for fun or work, the BEST WESTERN Tampa wants to make your trip memorable! Our accommodations are perfect for leisure travelers visiting the Tampa Bay area. Discover new creatures at the Tampa Aquarium, take a well-deserved cruise from the Port of Tampa, or enjoy a Tampa Bay Buccaneers football game, New York Yankees Spring Training game, Tampa Bay Lightning hockey, or the Outback Bowl. You are sure to have a great time and enjoy the convenient location of the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Traveling on business? We cater to both corporate and military travelers by offering Free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour business center. In addition, this Tampa, FL hotel's location is only minutes from MacDill Air Force Base, the University of Tampa, Tampa General Hospital, Westshore Business District, IBM, and Time, Inc. The BEST WESTERN Tampa offers newly renovated guest rooms, each complete with microwave, refrigerator, new Serta(R) beds, and LED flat screen TVS with over 70 HD channels. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. This hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility, and business center. For an enjoyable experience and a convenient location, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Best Western
Best Western Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing