We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find an Alternative”
Review of Best Western Tampa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Tampa
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Find an Alternative”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Rather old and dated, felt dirty and unpleasant. Cold breakfast and local newspaper only. The neighborhood was congested with high vehicular traffic and very difficult ingress and egress due to highway and freeway construction.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deacon252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmas2013, Manager at Best Western Tampa, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
good day i would like to say thankyou for staying with us and aplogize for some of the incoveniences wich you mentioned in your review, however i would like to point out briefly that as of labor day weekend 2013 all mattreses were replace with brand new serta mattresses brand new TV's were put in during the month of december as well as an addition of 100 more channels and new WIFI system, our breakf does offer hot waffles as well as eggs and a selection of bagels, yougurt and fruits.
As far some of the contruction you see around the city is due to Tampa's oevrwehelming popularity and its continue growth as we ready ousrselve to be a host city for such events such as Bollywood and the 2017 College playoffs , unfortunately growth and progress is not for everyone ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    147
    89
    37
    25
See reviews for
147
121
46
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Staff was courteous and hard working. Breakfast was good - used the laundry facilities too. I stayed two nights in Tampa and then went to Orlando and then returned here again and stayed another 3 nights. I was very happy here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ValerieS702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmas2013, Manager at Best Western Tampa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
thankyou so much i am so pleased hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel!...
on behalf on my staff and my self i like to say thankyou for your kind and sincere words we look forward to been your hotel of choice next time you visit Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were extremely impressed by the great staff at this Best Western. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us, gave us great recommendations for restaurants and bars in the nearby area, and were friendly. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable stay at a great price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We got a good price on a room with two queen-sized beds, but they couldn't provide any accommodation for an extra child (no rollaway bed). The beds were comfortable, but there was an obvious water stain on the carpeting outside the bathroom, and the carpeting smelled of mildew. The continental breakfast was fine, although they were a bit slow restocking the supplies, and the waffle batter was more like water (and didn't work), until they finally added new batter. This place was acceptable for an overnight stay - decently quiet, comfortable beds, etc. - but the mildew smell suggests that they don't really pay attention to the state of the rooms. In other words, "average" encapsulates well the rating I would give.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldrew007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I rec'd a call from someone claiming they were from Best Western regarding my credit card declining. She didn't speak English that well and she handed the phone to the GM name George. George had mentioned that they were trying to authorize my credit card at 11am and it was declining. I thought this was a scam and he said that I needed to give another credit card and I refuse to give a credit card over the phone again and he threaten me that they were going to cancel my reservation or if I didn't show up by 4pm my two reservation was going to cancel! I was upset and I told him that a credit card was to guarantee my reservation but he said they needed to authorize my card cause it was there policy. I had hung up on George and I called back. It was George who answered the phone and it was definitely the GM that I was talking too. POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!
I asked George if they were the one that called me and he said it was. The beginning of booking the reservation I felt wiered about staying at this hotel but it was so close to my friends house. The person that took my reservation had enter the wrong credit card number in the first place. Then I get a threat about my credit card declining from the GM. I gave him the same credit card and it went through!
Then when I checked in around 8pm, went to the room it was a NASTY MILDEW SMELL! The remote didn't work in the room so I called the front desk and she didn't speak English that well too! She said I had to go down and pick one up at the front desk cause she was the only one on duty. Management knew it was going to be a busy night on New Year Eve and they had one employee working!
Again, this is the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT I'VE EXPERIENCE IN 2013! PLEASE CHANGE THE MANAGEMENT!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctoves65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmas2013, Manager at Best Western Tampa, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Firstly we would like to apologize for the inconvience and disappointment that you experienced during your recent visit to our hotel, regarding the reason why we call guest during sold out nights and special holidays it's to protect guest reservations and garanteed their rooms at arrival time, unffortanetly some times guest credit cards are declined and do to company policy we are required to cancell reservations if the credit card is not valid, This is a courtesy that we extend to all our guests in order to provide superior customer service and re-assurre them that they will have a room at our hotel. . I have been a GM for well over 8 years at this property and can re-assure that we strive to provide excellent customer service as well as a safe enviroment to all of our guest.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mcmurray
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night while passing through Tampa. The staff was helpful and the hotel was quiet. It was a great place for anyone, even those with kids. The parking lot is very small and we had a hard time finding a parking space after we went out to eat, but everything else was great!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmas2013, Manager at Best Western Tampa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Good day on behalf of my staff and my self i would like to take this opportunity to say thankyou for taking the time to lets us know how your stay we appreciate all your kind words.. we at bestwestern pride ourselves in providing superior customer service and as allways we look forward to been your hotel of choice the next time you visit the tampa bay area..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed here this past weekend on business and it was the perfect hotel. I did not use the gym but the equipment looked brand new and just enough for what you would need for a good work out. They have a breakfast area and I'm sure they do a continental breakfast (I didn't eat breakfast) and there is also an I Hop next door. The staff was very helpful but they should do a better job of NOT revealing someone's room number when other guests are in the lobby. The coffee pot in the room was a plus. For a busy weekend the hotel was nice and quiet. If I have business in the Tampa area I will definitely be back..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoefler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmas2013, Manager at Best Western Tampa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Good day on behalf of my staff and my self i would like to take this opportunity to say thankyou for taking the time to lets us know how your stay we appreciate all your kind words.. we at bestwestern pride ourselves in providing superior customer service and as allways we look forward to been your hotel of choice the next time you visit the tampa bay area..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#97 of 163 in Tampa
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
0.2 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#91 of 163 in Tampa
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tampa

Property: Best Western Tampa
Address: 734 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tampa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Tampa, Florida hotel located in the desirable South Tampa area only minutes from downtown Tampa and nearby attractions like Raymond James Stadium, George M. Steinbrenner Field, Amalie Arena, the Tampa Convention Center, and Tampa International Airport. Whether you are visiting for fun or work, the BEST WESTERN Tampa wants to make your trip memorable! Our accommodations are perfect for leisure travelers visiting the Tampa Bay area. Discover new creatures at the Tampa Aquarium, take a well-deserved cruise from the Port of Tampa, or enjoy a Tampa Bay Buccaneers football game, New York Yankees Spring Training game, Tampa Bay Lightning hockey, or the Outback Bowl. You are sure to have a great time and enjoy the convenient location of the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Traveling on business? We cater to both corporate and military travelers by offering Free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour business center. In addition, this Tampa, FL hotel's location is only minutes from MacDill Air Force Base, the University of Tampa, Tampa General Hospital, Westshore Business District, IBM, and Time, Inc. The BEST WESTERN Tampa offers newly renovated guest rooms, each complete with microwave, refrigerator, new Serta(R) beds, and LED flat screen TVS with over 70 HD channels. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. This hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility, and business center. For an enjoyable experience and a convenient location, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Best Western
Best Western Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing