We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hotel”
Review of Best Western Tampa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Tampa
Ranked #48 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Do not stay at this hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel many years ago and remembered it as a good value overall. It is a very good location but the hotel is run down, the room was drab and dreary. I chose it also because the price was right. But next time I will pay the added price to stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmdskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    153
    91
    37
    26
See reviews for
153
123
47
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Though I stayed only for two days when I was on my business trip to Tampa , this Tampa hotel was a good bargain for money and service quality was good. I may not stay here for family vacation but yes, I will not hesitate to stay here for my business trips to Tampa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming-Hurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iselin, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This past August I had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western while visiting Tamp and helping my daughter get settled in her dorm. What a wonderful hotel. The employees couldn't be more helpful. The room was spotless! The hotel is conviently located to USF and Bush Gardens. It is right off of Fowler Ave. so there are plenty of restaurants, fast food, convience stores, gas stations and pharmacies. I would definatly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catram69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I was traveling there on business. The staff was nice and pleasant. The rooms could use some updates and the pool. But I did feel safe a secure. I did not have any problems but another guest did and they were quick to respond and make it right. The breakfast was nice and the breakfast room was clean and stocked. The staffs checked to ensure the guest needs were met. If you are on a budget this is a nice hotel to stay at. It may not have the biggest and best of everything but the staff make up for that.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFrequentTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

As a hotel manager with another flag I tend to be more wary of hotels as I know what to look for. I have to say the management of this hotel is top notch. Over all the staff was very well too. The rooms were clean and over all the hotel is in good shap. Just needs a fine tue in a few spots. I plan in staying again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelwatch172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Very attractive and clean, centrally located, within walking distance of several good restaurants and a short driving distance of many more. Very hospitable to the runners who were staying there. My friends and I wanted to meet up in the lobby and share a bottle of wine at night and they were most accommodating. The Best Western Tampa will be my first choice next year for running the Gasparilla.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valbres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I stayed at the Best Western when I first arrived in Tampa and enjoyed my 10 day stay here. This Best Western meets the projected standard for the chain and in some instances, exceeds that standard.

The front desk staff was very professional and well-managed. I was new to the area and they provided essential information on the area that would have been very difficult for me to get otherwise. Additionally, they were very friendly and responsive in every interaction.

The lobby was always immaculate and inviting, whether I was waiting for friends or coming back from dinner. The rooms were pretty standard for Best Western hotels. The continental breakfast was also pretty standard.

My only real complaint is its location. There isn't much within walking distance although a couple of malls and Hyde Park are within reasonable taxi distance. Additionally, S. Dale Mabry is a very crowded road that made it difficult to enter & exit the hotel parking lot depending from which location you're traveling. Also, the parking lot is not large enough for the amount of rooms that they have. Not real complaints; mostly inconveniences.

I would definitely stay here again and have even recommended it to friends. It's ideal if you have business in South Tampa and want the assurance of a chain hotel. (which I prefer).

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UTampaMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#100 of 163 in Tampa
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tampa

Property: Best Western Tampa
Address: 734 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tampa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Tampa, Florida hotel located in the desirable South Tampa area only minutes from downtown Tampa and nearby attractions like Raymond James Stadium, George M. Steinbrenner Field, Amalie Arena, the Tampa Convention Center, and Tampa International Airport. Whether you are visiting for fun or work, the BEST WESTERN Tampa wants to make your trip memorable! Our accommodations are perfect for leisure travelers visiting the Tampa Bay area. Discover new creatures at the Tampa Aquarium, take a well-deserved cruise from the Port of Tampa, or enjoy a Tampa Bay Buccaneers football game, New York Yankees Spring Training game, Tampa Bay Lightning hockey, or the Outback Bowl. You are sure to have a great time and enjoy the convenient location of the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Traveling on business? We cater to both corporate and military travelers by offering Free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour business center. In addition, this Tampa, FL hotel's location is only minutes from MacDill Air Force Base, the University of Tampa, Tampa General Hospital, Westshore Business District, IBM, and Time, Inc. The BEST WESTERN Tampa offers newly renovated guest rooms, each complete with microwave, refrigerator, new Serta(R) beds, and LED flat screen TVS with over 70 HD channels. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. This hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility, and business center. For an enjoyable experience and a convenient location, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Tampa! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Best Western
Best Western Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing