We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap stay and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Ranked #88 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A cheap stay and nice”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We just got back from a weeks stay at the Baymont near Busch Gardens. It was a cheap stay at just over $400 for the week. The hotel isn't a 4 or 5 star but it is nice. Our room was large enough to accommodate the 6 of us. We received a continental breakfast every morning, the food was always the same but good and plentiful. The pool was heated and treat for my kids who took advantage and swam every day despite the cooler weather. Like I say it is not at all fancy but it was clean, had a nice staff, a decent breakfast, a good location and it's cheap so really what is there to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherslad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    426
    400
    241
    214
See reviews for
863
297
73
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I agree with some other reviewers, great location if you visit Busch gardens, but that's where the positive part ends. The welcome was poor by the check in team so first impression was not great but I thought hey, maybe they're having a bad day so I didn't dwell on it.
When we got to the room at first I thought it was ok, however, soon discovered a bad smell. We couldn't work out if it was the aircon smelling or the soft furnishings. After a short while we worked out it was both. The a/c was pumping out a musty damp smell and the sofa smelled like a rat had you know what on it! The beds were ok although my 9 yr old daughter was very reluctant to sleep in it, said it smelled bad too. As it was only the 1 night we were there I told her its the sofa or the bed and she will have to choose; she chose the bed!!
The lasting memory was the breakfast, for me the worst ever. There was a one member of staff who was the most inanimate person I have come across in the states. I asked him where the cutlery was and he simply stared through me and walked past. After that I could see it was a quick in and out job as I found the disposable cutlery, oh, and plates, napkins, cups.....all plastic and styrofoam, pure class!
Well, they do say you get what you paid for. The rooms need gutting and cleaning which is a management and funding issue. The poor attitude of the staff however can be changed as it is usually these persons who can change a bad situation. I guess they are probably poorly paid and therefore have a don't give a .... Attitude. Sad as it could be a nice place to stay and should get plenty of business from B gardens. My advice would be if you can avoid it, do!

Room Tip: My tip for a good room - choose another hotel 😉
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flannelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel was so inexpensive there had to be something wrong. We only needed a place to stay for one night in Tampa. It was really close to Busch Gardens. The room was comfortable for the 6 of us and for the price we could not complain. Breakfast was great. The pool was warm and enjoyable. Other than getting a bit of a run around for the necessary pillows and blanket for the hide-a-bed, we all settled in.

At midnight there seemed to be a helicopter that continually circled the area for about 30 minutes. Then we got a call that the police were coming to our door but our vehicle did not have any damage. Apparently it was a case of the wrong room and our vehicle was fine but two other people that night that I heard of had issues with vehicle damage.

The hotel felt safe but I am not sure I would want to leave a vehicle in their parking lots for another night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieSmallTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

If you can get this hotel for a very low price... grab it. Very close to Busch Gardens, so it's very easy to take a mid day break and return to the hotel for a few hours. Short rides to Raymond James, airport, Ybor City. Not a bad neighborhood. Very tight with towels, pliiows,etc

Room was fairly clean, but sofa and chairs need to be replaced now!

Be sure to lock the front window.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigronaldo40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We were a little leery of this hotel because of some of the reviews but decided to "roll the dice" because of the great price. We were pleasantly surprised. Debra at the front desk was great at checkin. We were missing a TV remote and were short towels and she made sure we had both right away. One of the Pros of the hotel, in addition to the price, is the closeness to Busch Gardens. A quick and easy drive. One of the cons was the fact that the shuttle van didnt leave until 10:00 to take you to the park which is way too late if you want to ride Cheetah Hunt. So you will have to drive and pay the $15 to park. We thought breakfast was adequate for the price. Plenty to eat and well stocked. We had a king suite but the sofa bed for our two teenage girls was terrible. Thin old mattress. But our king bed was wonderful. We didn't use the pool because it was way too cold for we Floridians but people did swim so it mustve been heated sufficiently (or else they were all part of the Polar Bear Club). All in all a great family hotel for the money if youre in Tampa for busch Gardens

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4inFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Address: 3001 University Center Dr, Tampa, FL 33612-6407 (Formerly All Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa near Busch Gardens. We are conveniently located only minutes from I275, the University of South Florida, James A. Haley Veterans Hospital and of course, Busch Gardens. Our all-suite hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast daily, free high speed internet, complimentary shuttle service to Busch Gardens, USF and Veterans Hospital, outdoor heated pool, activity deck with pool tables and table tennis, guest laundry service, large vehicle parking and so much more. We are located in the heart of it all. Book on line today or call us for personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens/Usf Hotel Tampa
Best Western Hotel Tampa
Best Western Tampa
Tampa Best Western
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing