We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Second Line Cafe - CLOSED

Second Line Cafe
Price range: US$4 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Featuring a full list a Signature Coffees, Beignets and only the most authentic New Orleans fare. Enjoy a French Quarter atmosphere and have a Po-boy Sandwich or Crawfish Etouffee or pick up some Red Beans and Rice, Gumbo or Jambalaya all ready to heat and eat. Second Line Café (aka NOLA Cafe) welcomes you to experience some of the true flavors and feel of New Orleans.My deep “Southern Hospitality” culture comes from growing up in one of the most unique places in the world, New Orleans. Rich in all it has to offer, from it’s food, music and values of family & neighborhood, to a dialect all it’s own ~ “Where Y’at?,” “How’s ya mom and ’em.” My desire is to bring you a bit of the spirit and authentic tastes of New Orleans. I use only the freshest ingredients to create the addicting flavors of this unique food that can’t be found anywhere else in the world! Once your palate has experienced these flavors, you will know - there is no substitute!
Tampa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Authentic New Orleans food. We had alligator burgers and beignets. Excellent.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good - enjoyed by all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I took some clients to Nola Cafe for dinner after work. We had the seafood gumbo and the red beans and rice. It was really good. The service was decent. The place was clean. The atmosphere has the New Orleans charm; laid back and relaxing. Had some excellent coffee and those beignes that were mouth-watering. I will be coming back Saturday with the kids for more.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Cajun food in the Bay area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Very good authentic New Orleans style food. The seafood gumbo and the red beans and rice were delicious. We had good service. The beignets were the best! The prices were fair. The place doesn't have a lot of atmosphere, but the food definitely makes up for it. The owner, Louis, stopped at our table to make sure that everything was going well. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allycat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tremendous Potential, must have been a Bad Day (Mother's Day 2011)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I was so angry at first with the bad service (no food for about 30 minutes, no coffee at all-but we did get water) that I wanted to vaporize the entire establishment and sell the owner/manger into slavery. I have since moderated my memory of this experience, I would go if it's not busy, because slammed they shut down, and someone looking owner/manager-esque was present but did little to aid the lead waitress (who was trying) and the kitchen seemed like it collapsed from one beignet too many.
I loved the style, ambience, and everything smelled good, and the water glasses were 50's greasy spoon chic, but beyond olfactory stimulation I grew VERY FRUSTRATED with the wait and obvious dysfunction between service/kitchen, which the impartial attitude of the owner/manager (like they were on a murder jury) made storming out angry BUT Silent (it's not like the service controlled the food flow) a great option.
This place has a good reputation on the street, because I constantly ranted against it, but its not a Consistent dining experience, more Hit or Miss.

If its not busy, give it a try, if it has more than two tables go to McDonalds.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyv56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love te beignets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

You have got to go to this place. It's a must visit if you are a beignet lover

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidThinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing