We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport
Ranked #59 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not good location”
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Neighborhood was scary....hotel was typical courtyard. Staff excellent. Many other choices in Tampa ...won't stay again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jojostew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly M, General Manager at Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Hello and thank you for the the great comments about our staff ! We strive to make sure all of associates provide that excellent service to all of our guests and make sure they feel at home. Although our location is closer to the highway, we strive to provide an oasis in our beautifully landscaped courtyard area to relax and unwind. Thank you again for staying with us and for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    89
    51
    23
    5
See reviews for
63
59
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Due to some storms our flight arrived late, but as I found out too late the shuttle stops running at midnight, so we had to take a $15+tip taxi ride. The front desk person was apologetic but made no attempts to salvage the situation (a nicer room, a bottle of water, anything!). Bad start.

The room is pretty typical Courtyard. The bed was solid and the desk/furniture/TV were all nice. Rather than a view of the pool (like our friends got), our room faced a gas station (better than the freeway I guess). Noise was not an issue, but like other Courtyards/Fairfields the bathroom is just depressing and outdated.

The lobby was nice, open and airy, and the food at the bistro counter was reasonably priced, but the woman working the counter was somewhere between frazzled and rude. There is free wifi everywhere and even a couple of workstations in the lobby.

Location is not as bad as expected, but the strip club was indeed close by. There's some sort of pub right next door as well, and if you have a car you are minutes from decent shopping. The location along Dale Mabry also makes connections into Tampa easy and convenient.

This place is okay to shower and sleep but not somewhere I'd want to spend any amount of time. At least the shuttle was available at 5am to take us back to the airport.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I usually am a fan of the newer Courtyard, but this one is just ok. The lobby has been renovated, had a nice business area (but not in an enclosed room so you couldn't have a private call, etc. The restuarant was good and the prices reasonable. The pool area is nicely maintained. However, once you get to your floor, the hall is dark with low celings and so-so carpet. The room has the new desk/dresser set up, but an old sleeper loveseat. I did not have a balcony.

The biggest downfall was the location. Like other reviews, it appears to be in a seedy area. I imagine the rooms facing the interstate would be loud. At night (early 9ish) the had a guard in the parking lot. For nicer restuarants I would go futher up the street towards the mall.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms facing the interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruze-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here for one night in July 2012 in a room that faced the freeway. Apparently the freeway turns into a motorcycle racetrack around midnight as the sounds of ricers running up and down the road could be heard for the next couple of hours. The undercuts of the doors (the gap between the door and the carpet) are exceptionally high - over 1" - which allows all the noise from the hallway to enter the room. The doors also have very powerful closers on them, causing them to slam shut loudly. I realize the other guests weren't intentionally being noisy, but if the motorcycles don't keep you up the sounds of guests and slamming doors transmitting under your door certainly will.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, then ask to face away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Booked for two nights, but stayed for just one.

The positives were that the some of the staff were great, the hotel was easy to get to, a decent gym and it has a Bistro (the service at night was great! service in the morning was terrible)

Other negatives were a torn curtain, an a/c that didn't work (think a particularly hot and humid day in FL), a front office person who said they'll send someone to check it out right-away, but who didn't turn up even after 2 hours.

All in all, no maintenance and a bad experience at breakfast... so I decided enough was enough and checked out.

Thought it ended there but got home to find that they've charged me for the two days I booked, instead of the one day that I stayed. Two calls later and I'm still trying to get that sorted out.

So,... given a choice I'd stay away. You may get a good room & good service, or you may not. Stay at this hotel if you want to try your luck!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pernalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Quick check-in and I was in my room. Although the room layout is unusual (bed backs up to the bathroom, not the traditional wall) and the TV is located next to the bed instead of at the foot of the bed, it was quite comfortable. Good mattress, most likely a newer memory foam one. The tall ceilings in the room and bathroom were super. Tall shower head with good water pressure was especially appreciated as I am quite tall. The vanity outside of the bathroom made it easy for two to get dressed at the same time.

Although breakfast was not included, it was wonderful and made to order for a reasonable cost. Eggs, crisp bacon and hash browns. I was really impressed that the bistro area was constantly being cleaned and tables turned so that no one had to wait. Hats off to the manger of the hotel who not only picked up dirty plates, but picked up dropped food from the floor from other diners--ensuring that it was always clean.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lachoirboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This staff goes the extra mile to ensure your stay is problem-free! It is in a great location that is convenient to many amenities and tourist spots. Breakfast was outstanding and the exercise facilities were top notch! The whirl pool and outdoor pool were very well maintained! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkclassic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Westshore Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport

Property: Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport
Address: 3805 W Cypress St, Tampa, FL 33607-4802
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tampa Westshore/Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Marriott
Tampa Courtyard
Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing