We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Ranked #33 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

This was about on par with a Best Western that I stayed at in LA. Meaning, there was nothing substantailly wrong with it, but I would expect more for the price. The pool seemed a bit over-chlorinated, and the hot tub was only about 99 or 100 degrees (4-5 degrees cooler than I like). The parking garage had me worried, as there were signs indicating the garage was for hotel guests only, and also signs indicating pay to park availability. No one ever mentioned that I had to pay to park, and I didn't ask. Each day, I felt lucky that my car wasn't towed. One other thing: there was no exit for the stairwell. I got to the bottom and found an "emergency exit only," so I had to go up a floor and take the elevator back down to the lobby. I guess they don't expect people to use stairs under ordinary circumstances.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SgtDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear SgtDew,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit with us. Your feedback is important to what we do each day. I have addressed your comments with the team so that we can correct the issues that you noted and make future visits to our property a great experience.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed one night with kids (11-13yrs), in town for an academic competition. Great location, great pool. Managers reception was nice way to start our evening there. Pool and excercise room were very nice for family play time. Walked to Chipotle for easy dinner. Breakfast buffet nicely done.

Room Tip: Room layout was sprawling but a bit unusual. Lots of space though. Our bathroom only accessible th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanders32615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Sanders32615,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent visit with us. The team is happy to know that your overall experience was a pleasant one. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We visited this hotel during a recent family trip to Tampa. The location is prime and close to everything we wanted to do. We often select Embassy Suites as it is usually spacious, pristine and the made to order breakfast is great... This particular property did not meet standards in cleanliness in common areas. The floors were filthy during our entire 4 day stay. I kept thinking it was just not "mop the floors day" but that day never came. My concern is that if the main areas (lobby, breakfast area and restaurant) were neglected, what sort of detail was kept in the kitchen? Don't want to know... Everything else was good...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Susan R.

Thank you for your recent review. Your feedback is so important in what we do each day. We are delighted that you found our location and service to be great! I have addressed your comments regarding the floors with our Food & Beverage and Housekeeping Teams. We have revised our floor care service plan and recently put into service a new machine that will assist us in this area. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night after our cruise. The hotel is close to the airport, has a beautiful pool, managers reception, breakfast (we didn't utilize), and close to mall. Beautiful spacious suites. Would highly recommend. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karmen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Karmen F.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your recent visit! We hope you enjoyed your cruise and glad you found our hotel to be the perfect location to wind down your vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The service was great---staff rushed one of my co-workers belongings left at the hotel over to the airport so we made our flight in plenty of time. The hotel was clean, and in an ideal location, near many restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa201349136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Lisa201349136,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us! We were happy to assist in getting the missed item back to the airport in time. The team appreciates your kind words and looks forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location. Right across from a mall and a quick trip from the airport. The van driver was nice, but drove a bit too fast for my comfort level. They were short staffed for drivers was the explanation.

Front desk Manager, Troy was very friendly and helpful with all of our questions. He seemed a bit over worked at times. It is a busy hotel and he always seemed to be on the go.

By contrast, Melvin at the desk acted like he was only there in body. Very lackadaisical attitude. He did the check out process efficiently enough, but he needs a better level of professionalism. He yelled across the lobby!

The Chef is very nice and makes the normal breakfast a little better. It is all in the level of caring. The omelets are great.

The bussers were very busy and appeared to need more help. The floors got a little too dirty for my taste.

This hotel does not have the normal atrium style, but the second floor is nice and the lobby looks like it has been redone.

They need a better variety of snacks at the reception in the evening. The bar staff is great though! John did a great job keeping up with everyone.

The rooms are not great. The bed was comfortable and good pillows. The room Was a very odd shape.

There is a great pool area at the hotel, which was a surprise for a downtown hotel.

Overall, the stay was fine, but they need more help and a better level of service.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Dear Orlaub-

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us! Your feedback helps us to make future visits to our property an even better experience. Thank you for the kind words directed towards several members of the team. I will be reviewing your comments with the team as a whole so that we can correct the challenges that you experienced in some areas of our service.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites Westshore over the MLK holiday weekend. The hotel lobby and breakfast room areas were nice, the usual Embassy Suite layout. Unfortunately the guest room hallways, and our room were really showing their age. The hall and room carpets were dirty, and the walls banged up. The air conditioner vent in the room was full of crude - what were we breathing? We were disappointed with the overall cleanliness of the hotel; however the staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBP8639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinVarr, Assistant General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear SBP8639:

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us. Your feedback is so important to what we do each day. I want to apologize for the cleanliness challenges that you experienced during your stay. I have reviewed your comments with the team so that we can identify and correct the issues that you mentioned.

We appreciate your kind words regarding the staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Prior to your next visit, please contact me personally and I will ensure that all of the details of your suite are taken care of.

Best regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
0.3 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore

Address: 555 N West Shore Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-1923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#43 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £110 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from Tampa International Airport, Embassy Suites Tampa Airport Westshore provides warm hospitality for your business or leisure travel. Our 243 all-suite accommodations offer amenities designed for your comfort and convenience. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily and a complimentary Evening reception nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing