We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #41 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good - The front desk staff very helpful. The restaurant food surprisingly good.
Bad - Most everything else. Room: Toilet ran for literally 15 minutes after every flush. Bath tub drain didn't work right during showers leaving pool of water. Walls paper thin - just like the towels in bathroom. No Do Not Disturb Sign in room. Lousy tv reception in room.
Restaurant: God awful wait staff. 3 really young immature staff, 2 guys & 1 girl. Girl spends too much time texting on her phone. None of them monitors people to ask for drinks, etc. I never was asked how my meal was, never was asked if I wanted another drink (or anything else for that matter). All of the ketchup bottles in the restaurant were low (I know cause i went to every table trying to find one that had ketchup). I had lunch here on Tuesday with a huge mustard stain on my tablecloth when I arrived -- same stain was there on Wed night lol (only reason I went back is food was good and without a car there aren't many other choices).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. We truly believe that without feedback, both positive and negative, we cannot improve. I am sorry that you had such a horrible time with the room and staff and ask that you contact me offline at lcollier@hidevelopment.com so that I may inquire regarding some more details of your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with all of the hotel managers along with a spirited conversation on how to avoid future guests having experiences such as this. Thank you again and I look forward to our follow up. Guest Satisfaction, especially with the service, is our number one priority here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I should start by saying, I had no plans to stay at this hotel. I was booked into the Marriott Waterfront (see my review on that hotel) and at the last minute, was informed that the Marriott could not honor the reservation for the first night. The Marriott booked me into this hotel instead. That said, this hotel was very nice. It is a little older but well maintained. Rooms were comfortable and quiet. It has a free shuttle that will take you anywhere in a two mile radius, which includes the Tampa Bay Times Forum and the Convention Center. It is in the "arts" district so within walking distance of the theater and the library. I particularly enjoyed the lack of "extra" charges. Internet access was free, free incoming and outgoing faxes, free printing of documents. It was nice to stay in a hotel that did not have all of the "add on" charges that should be included. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly and took extra care to ensure that the stay was pleasant. While I did not pay for my stay (the Marriott covered that) the prices seemed reasonable particularly for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your experience here at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. I am pleased that you found us to your liking. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service at a great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is an older hotel in a busy downtown area. As such, you should expect to be surrounded by things to do but not expect the most plush accommodation. That said, the staff was nice and they offered a free shuttle service to anywhere within a 2 mile radius of the hotel. If there is one "bad" part to this hotel, it is the water. You can tell that it is coming from well. Those of you familiar with well water in Florida will know what I am talking about. It has a bit of an odor, but it's not enough to avoid staying here. Especially given how expensive everything else is in this area!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank klumac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry that you did not find the City of Tampa’s water appealing, but I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Tampa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Enjoyed room, front desk staff, cleaning staff, all but one of the van drivers was great help and kind.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay here at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown Tampa. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. It is always nice to hear that we have met the expectations of our valued guests. With the goal of delivering outstanding service to every guest everyday, we are pleased to receive feedback such as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 164 in Tampa
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Floridan Palace Hotel
#97 of 164 in Tampa
250 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 164 in Tampa
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Address: 111 W Fortune St, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602-3206 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £79 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing