We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    297
    209
    109
    75
See reviews for
232
213
90
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for a 10 week mission trip type deal over the summer and they were excellent with their service to us. Anytime we needed something like another set of room keys they provided it to us with quick ease. All the staff is friendly and easy to talk to unlike a lot of the hotels I've been in the past. You have excellent scenery all around the hotel especially by the swimming pool. Not to mention we are right off the highway downtown which is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoleyT, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for sharing on trip advisor your extended stay with the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa. We have all enjoyed having your group stay with us for the ten weeks. We look forward to having all of you back again in the near future as I am sure you all will be missed.

Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was one of the JW that stayed for the convention. I was very impressed with the courteous and professional personnel and how clean and neat was the room, the amenities, etc... I definitely recommend this hotel. Special thanks to the manager for the warm welcome and special menu!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griselle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoleyT, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us. Our entire staff is dedicated to providing the best service in the lodging industry today and reading our guests' acknowledgements is truly appreciated. We look forward to your return and thank you for sharing.

Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The stay was horrible. We move rooms twice. Then the new room leaked water all over our belongings, then the house keeping stole some of our stuff, claiming she thought I was garbage and she took it home. The staff states they are going to send it to us. Then we were sitting by the pool and my son saw a rat. Never again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Tai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoleyT, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. It is our goal to provide the best accommodations in the lodging industry today and regret that this did not occur during your recent visit. We only hope is that the return of your items has given you some piece of mind regarding your previous experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologizes for the inconvenience. We appreciate your patronage and hope you give us another opportunity to serving you on further trips.

Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tampa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#24 of 163 in Tampa
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,396 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Property: The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Address: 111 W Fortune St, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602-3206 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing