We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I had a great experience with the Howard Johnson. The staff was extremely friendly and the location of the hotel is right in downtown Tampa. You can walk almost anywhere downtown in under 10 minutes and the hotel sits right on the river. The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. There is complimentary coffee every morning and a mini fridge & microwave in the room. Definitely a great place to stay for the price. There is also free wifi which is always a great thing!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoleyT, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear how you enjoyed the amazing downtown area. We are conveniently located and in walking distance to some amazing local attractions. The River Walk is convenient and will take you to Curtis Hixon Park for Rock the Park on Thursdays, or even Yoga on Sunday evenings. You also can walk to the newly open WaterWorks Park in under 5 minutes!! We look forward to your next stay with us while visiting the Tampa area.

Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

They show something else online. thye gave us a room on the 7th floor with some rehab people. it was the most harrowing experince for me and my family. we fal out refused to stay and instead moved hotels. the guy at the fornt desk assured us we would not be charged. Yet we were charged. I put a stop payment on my AMEX. Please stay away from this hotel. for that price we got the Sheraton and wow what a difference. Unless you are in rehab, please font venture there, especially with family or kids

Not recommended at all. Putting this in as I dont want anyone else to go through the harrowing experience

Room Tip: stay away, stay away, stay away, stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ravi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FoleyT, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FoleyT, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hi my name is Jessica Morales i was coming to Florida for vacation and to visit my grandmother who is very ill. I heard great stories about the Howard Johnson in downtown Tampa so I booked my reservation. When arriving at the hotel I was greeted by the manager her name was
Eneida Rosado any questions or concerns I had she was there to help me out I was very impressed with how clean and neat the room was and the amenities etc. All the staff was very friendly and easy to talk to unlike a lot of the hotels I've been in the past. Me and my son LOVED the pool. I would like to say a special thank you to the manager Eneida Rosado for helping me out on good idea on things to do with my son and for being such a nice person hotels need more managers like you in their hotel. I look forward to staying with your hotel again When visiting in Tampa. Thank you Howard Johnson Downtown Tampa for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jam3978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoleyT, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for the kind words shared regarding Eneida our Guest Service Manager at the Howard Johnson Plaza Downtown-Tampa. We all strive to provide the best service, amenities and accommodations to all our guests and cannot thank you enough for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return to the Tampa area.

Sincerely,

Tracy Foley
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Willie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FoleyT, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FoleyT, Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#21 of 163 in Tampa
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Floridan Palace Hotel
#100 of 163 in Tampa
248 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

Address: 111 W Fortune St, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602-3206 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £78 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk is located adjacent to the David A Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the beautiful Hillsborough River. The hotel is approximately 1 mile from the Tampa Convention Center, Tampa Bay Historic Center, Tampa Bay Times Forum, Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, and the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminals. The hotel offers a complimentary on-demand shuttle service from 7am until 10pm, 7 days a week. Popular Attractions include Channelside Dining and Entertainment Complex, The Florida Aquarium, and Historic Ybor City. Hotel Amenities Include:- All Non-Smoking Rooms- Onsite Restaurant, WaterWorks Bar & Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.- Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access- Free Local Calls- Business Center- Outdoor Swimming Pool- Onsite Fitness Center- Complimentary Shuttle Service within 2 miles - Tampa International Airport is only six miles from the Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Tampa
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing