We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
Ranked #126 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    70
    119
    151
    200
See reviews for
147
128
104
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

room 231 was very nasty the furniture was not clean nor were the walls and baseborads and the light fixture the room smelled very bad even when I tried to air it out it was a cold night and the heater didn't work the manager said the other rooms were full and they didn't have an extra one for us so they gave us a blanket. I will not go back there and would not recommend anyone to stay there either.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cieray1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Room was unclean, carpet dirty, and could not walk in socks or bare feet or it showed dirt. Filters on A/C were clogged, filter in bathroom was clogged. Bed sheets were dirty with stains. Price for room was not worth it, since it was totally dirty, and I had to report it, to the manager. Continental breakfast was real cheap, with minimal selections, and they ran out of food every morning, and no one was around to get more food for all the hotel guests. Room smelled so bad, that we asked to be moved, but no room was large enough for us to move too, and it was too late to move to another hotel. They gave us a spray bottle to eliminate some of the smell, but it did not help. We needed a spare foldout bed or cot, and they said it would be available, well guess what, it never was, nor did we ever get it for our family. I would not recommend this hotel in Tampa, FL, to anyone to stay at, and I hope it does not represent all the other Howard Johnson Hotels, since this one was not taken care of by their management. I reported all these issues to their staff, but nothing was done.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amenia, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent one night and I couldn't wait to vacate the room this non smoking room. The room smelled like old tobacco, rugs were dirty and bathroom floors could use a good scrubbing. We asked for a wake up call and it never came, lucky for us I woke up in time to make our flight. Office staff in the morning was not very friendly, we couldn't wait to be done with this Howard Johnson's. If you are smart you would book a room somewhere else, I sure would NEVER stay there again!!!!

Room Tip: The Ramada near the airport is a better value and staff and rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barberton
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is in a decent area. The room was not very appealing. The carpet was dirty and I have the bottoms of my socks to prove how much soot is in those floors. The bed felt like a pallet of rocks and it squeaked if you just looked at it. My sheets were not changed on my second night and dirty towels were left in the bathroom. The sink did not drain you would have to wait for it to let out. Most of the shower water was on the wall as there was a leak in the pipe and lighting was awful in the bathroom. I turned on all lights to get decent lighting in the room. I don't think this hotel would get any more of my business or a referral.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
1.9 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
1.3 mi away
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#97 of 163 in Tampa
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium
Address: 2055 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33607-2542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Hotel Tampa Airport/Stadium consistently provides the kind of comfort, service and hospitality you expect in a hotel for both vacation and business travelers. Free Scheduled shuttle to/from Tampa Int. Airport 5:15am-11pm, which runs every hour. Transportation also available to Port of Tampa, 10 Dollars Per Person each way. Free Continental Breakfast in Lobby 5:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel - Tampa Airport/Stadium Florida
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing