We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
pensacola, florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

OK, I'm use to more upscale hotels but my stay at the Dale Mabry HJ was so pleasant. I didn't feel threatened at all walking around the area. Lot's of fast food and other restuarants in walking distance. Everything was clean and neat. Great breakfast except they kept the TV on FOX noise and you couldn't pick up MSNBC in your room. We stayed 3 nights and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. I'd leave for the day and come back to a nice clean room. May of 2009. Thanks HJ for a pleasant stay. PS: nice pool.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baysideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojosd, Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, 25 July 2009
Dear valued guest,

I'd like to thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write this review.

I appreciate your comments and want you to know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jackie Cruz
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    249
    159
    62
    52
See reviews for
273
167
88
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Most welcoming property from the front office, good location, clean rooms
and very nice breakfast. Would highly recommend. Convenient to downtown, beaches, airport, port, base, etc. Excellent value. Have
stayed at this property many times.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojosd, Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, 25 July 2009
Dear valued guest,

I'd like to thank you for your great comments in reference to your continuos stay with us here at the Howard Johnnson.

We take pride in our service and continue to make improvements to make each and every guest happy!

We look forward to seeing you more often.

Sincerely,
Jackie Cruz

Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont/Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning and end of our Vaca. Rooms clean. Inexpensive & close to Airport. On a busy boulevard so it can be a bit noisy but we bring earplugs with us. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheezboie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2008

As you pull into the entrance you are greeted with a Bail Bonds Store. That should say it all....Seedy area ....spend 25 more and stay at a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcop001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojosouthtampaairpor, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa for your 2008 stay in our area.

Please note that we’ve never encountered any issues or complaints in reference to their type of business in the 4 years they were there. Since 2009 their location has become a Hawaiian restaurant which many of our guests love.

Know that your comments is extremely valuable to us.

We value your business and hope that the next time you visit our area; you will choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa.

Thank you,
Sincerely
Jackie Cruz
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Stayed here only for a few hours. But here is the observation

Staff is very friendly, polite and very helpful. Rooms are well equipped and have microwave and fridge. spacious.Overall, a pleasant stay.

MY special thanks to Ravi at front desk for all the help. I was trying to find stores around midnight as I wanted milk for the infant, and he provided me with some from his own refrigerator!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuggleDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2006

This is definitely a budget hotel. You will find a small room with a hard bed and no frills. But it was clean, in a safe neighborhood (don't forget - you want the 3314 S. Dale Mabry location!), and the staff was courteous and efficient. The night clerk called a cab for us and even contacted our room again to give us an estimated arrival time. Upon checkout, when we told the day clerk the air conditioning had leaked water and wet my boyfriend's clothes on the floor, she took half off the night's rate without even our asking. The room had a cofee maker, mini fridge, and microwave. I think it's a solid choice for budget travelers.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 March 2005

This was a nice clean motel, and the room was spacious. The staff was helpful and polite.
There are fast food restaurants nearby.
We used this for a one night stopover after arriving at the airport and planning to travel south from there.
You must be sure you have the correct Howard Johnson motel - one further north is very seedy, very awful. If they ask you for a photo I.D. you will know you are at the WRONG one.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#97 of 163 in Tampa
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tampa
Best Western Tampa
#52 of 163 in Tampa
453 reviews
7.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Area-Tampa South
1.7 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Address: 3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629-7840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newly renovated Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Tampa. We are the closest hotel to Macdill Air Force Base and also within 5 miles of Tampa International Airport, Downtown, Cruise Terminal, St. Pete Times, Forum, and Raymond James Stadium. We fully renovated our hotel including a brand new bedding package in 2009. We welcome all guests to come see the new Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing