We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, what else do you need?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Ranked #64 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, what else do you need?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

We had a perfect stay, clean, spacious room with big bathroom.
You have all that you expect from a motel, in a very nice way!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joernbausch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    243
    142
    55
    44
See reviews for
255
154
84
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

We were in town for the U2 concert and this was the cheapest and closest option to the stadium. It was ok. I am very happy when a hotel offers free breakfast and has a microwave and fridge in the room so i'll give it that. My bed was uncomfortable and i hated the pillows. There were a couple of bugs crawling on the floor but what can you do, its not a 5 star hotel. Location is great if you are in town for a show or event at the Raymond James stadium and there is plenty of nude bars around the hotel and restaurants. Would I stay there again, maybe. Also the swimming pool was nice and seemed very well kept.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Audreybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojosouthtampaairpor, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites

• Please know that the hotel you are referring to is the one located on North Dale Mabry which is just minutes away from the stadium. We are located South of Dale Mabry.

We have notified Tripadvisor of the misplacement of this comment and they are currently working on resolving this misunderstanding.

Thank you,
Sincerely,
Jackie Cruz
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Four of us stayed at this hotel for one night and we found the room very clean and the mini-fridge came in handy. The staff was quite friendly. The breakfast offered quite a selection of foods from cold cereal, bagels, & croissants, to waffles & fruit. They ran out of waffle batter when we arrived for breakfast, but had more mixed up by the time we left. We didn't get out to the pool, but it looked well maintained. Overall, a great value for the $$$. The location is quite convenient from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bree-Z-Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensacola, florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

OK, I'm use to more upscale hotels but my stay at the Dale Mabry HJ was so pleasant. I didn't feel threatened at all walking around the area. Lot's of fast food and other restuarants in walking distance. Everything was clean and neat. Great breakfast except they kept the TV on FOX noise and you couldn't pick up MSNBC in your room. We stayed 3 nights and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. I'd leave for the day and come back to a nice clean room. May of 2009. Thanks HJ for a pleasant stay. PS: nice pool.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baysideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojosd, Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, 25 July 2009
Dear valued guest,

I'd like to thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write this review.

I appreciate your comments and want you to know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jackie Cruz
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Most welcoming property from the front office, good location, clean rooms
and very nice breakfast. Would highly recommend. Convenient to downtown, beaches, airport, port, base, etc. Excellent value. Have
stayed at this property many times.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojosd, Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, 25 July 2009
Dear valued guest,

I'd like to thank you for your great comments in reference to your continuos stay with us here at the Howard Johnnson.

We take pride in our service and continue to make improvements to make each and every guest happy!

We look forward to seeing you more often.

Sincerely,
Jackie Cruz

Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont/Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning and end of our Vaca. Rooms clean. Inexpensive & close to Airport. On a busy boulevard so it can be a bit noisy but we bring earplugs with us. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheezboie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

As you pull into the entrance you are greeted with a Bail Bonds Store. That should say it all....Seedy area ....spend 25 more and stay at a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcop001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojosouthtampaairpor, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa for your 2008 stay in our area.

Please note that we’ve never encountered any issues or complaints in reference to their type of business in the 4 years they were there. Since 2009 their location has become a Hawaiian restaurant which many of our guests love.

Know that your comments is extremely valuable to us.

We value your business and hope that the next time you visit our area; you will choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa.

Thank you,
Sincerely
Jackie Cruz
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#108 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tampa
BEST WESTERN Tampa
#51 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
13.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
3.0 mi away
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
2.0 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#86 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Address: 3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629-7840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newly renovated Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Tampa. We are the closest hotel to Macdill Air Force Base and also within 5 miles of Tampa International Airport, Downtown, Cruise Terminal, St. Pete Times, Forum, and Raymond James Stadium. We fully renovated our hotel including a brand new bedding package in 2009. We welcome all guests to come see the new Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites - South Tampa / Airport Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites - South Tampa / Airport
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing