We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate (if you're male, single & brave)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regency Inn
Ranked #135 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Adequate (if you're male, single & brave)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

This Howard Johnson was not as bad as the last one. My biggest turnoff was the scary neighborhood and the booger on the shower curtain. It wasn't bad for just a place to park yourself for a few days. I would say it was adequate and served its purpose. Just don't plan on bringing the wife and kids. This area is a bit creepy. It's also situated on a very inconvenient street. There's no opening in the median so you can't pull out to make an immediate left-hand turn. You have to go right for about a quarter mile and make a U-turn going through the same traffic light TWICE (to & fro). Just going to the store for a snack or beer becomes a major operation. That gets old real quick! If you just continued right, there were no more stores or other businesses, like you were at the edge of town or something. All the restaurants and stores were in the other direction. It was really screwed up.

The room and bathroom were clean enough except for the dry booger left on the shower curtain. (again, don't bring the wife & kids LOL). It had plenty of ammenities, cable TV, fridge,micro,iron/board,hairdryer. I didn't see any bugs. I only noticed some regular tell-tale signs of age like some paint peeling here and there. I also noticed a little mildew at the top of the wall in one small area. The linens seemed clean enough and smelled ok. I didn't go there to stay in my room all day so it was just fine for crashing after a day of sightseeing. Overall, it was ok if you're mainly concerned about price. Otherwise, I wouldn't go there if you could afford to trade up. It was just adequate enough for single guys with little cash.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eandatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    21
    14
    65
See reviews for
36
22
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

While close to Busch Gardens, this hotel was located in an area that felt unsafe. The rooms had sliding glass doors leading to balconies with very unsound-looking locks. One wing of the first floor had the awful odor of a combination of a dog kennel and a smoker's lounge. The continental breakfast was lacking... a very very limited selection (gas station pastries, individually wrapped bagels, juice, milk and one kind of cereal). There was cream cheese for the bagels, however, it was left out overnight despite labeling requirements of 'keep refrigerated.' The property also had inadequate parking... when the lot was full we were told 'they were sorry' and that it was up to us to decide where it would/would not be safe to park. Finally, upon checkout a mysterious $1.25 safe charge was added to our bill... a charge that was never mentioned when the rate was quoted over the phone, at check-in or on any posted signs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gator287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2006

We were very apprehensive about the hotel prior to our check in as it was booked through Hotwire before I had read the reviews. When we pulled up to the hotel we found the office surrounded by police cars but were assured it was a civil matter and of no concern of the Hotel. We did request to see the room prior to signing in. For the price it was about what could be expected. A bed to sleep in, the sheets were clean, the washroom was clean what more could you ask. The hotel was simply tired, new linens and some upgrading would be a real improvement. We were only there for a nights sleep and that is just what we got and paid for.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Age of linens
  • Tips/Secrets — Check reviews prior to booking
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ldhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eustis, fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2006

Sorry to say we wanted to save a little money since we would only be staying one night. Like someone else said you get what you pay for. We booked though Hotwire and were very disappointed by the hotel they said would be like a "La Quinta, Holiday Inn, etc."
Hotel was awful. Not one towel was clean and even had dirty ones from previous guests left in the bathroom. The "free" breakfast (a couple of boxes of donuts) was gone by 8 am so none for us. Pool was green and hot tub out of service with slimmy brown water left in it. Think husband and I either had bed bugs or fleas in our bed as we spent the night scratching. It is apparent that they let the rooms to long time tenants as the desk clerk was having a disagreement with one over payment. Suggest you stay else where.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clanlamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2006

It was OK for $54/night but felt a little uncomfortable. Only stayed one night. Doubt we would go back though. I'll pay the extra to have a nicer place. This place is rundown and old. Cracks in walls, picture missing from wall in room but holes were still there.

Turnoffs: Person repairing brake system on a car in parking lot, color of upstairs halls is brillant electric yellow (whats up with that?), heavy permeation of cigarette smoke especially on first floor halls, a few unsavory looking folks in area..

Good things: Nice big pool, seemed to be well maintained and in nice order, AC worked well, continental breakfast was good, queen bed was so-so but no backache in morning. If your just going for a night to go somewhere the next day no prob but I wouldn't recommend it for any length of stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2006

This hotel was the worst hotel we stayed at in Florida. The entire hotel is run down, outside not kept up at all. The ice machine, the room safe and the lock on the sliding glass door did not work. There was a little chain lock on the slider. The room appeared to be clean enough but certainly not worth the money we paid. The continental breakfast was not worth eating at, I went to the car and ate some yogurt we had in a cooler. This hotel is privately owned so don't let the "Howard Johnson" name fool you into thinking it is a nice place. I highly recommend not choosing this hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLACKPOOL,ENGLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2006

We were on our 9th visit to Florida from England. This was the third time that we have stayed at this Motel. Since our last visit many improvements had been made and this is on going. Congratulations to the Patel family for their efforts. From the time we arrived until our departure we received first class service from everyone. Well done and thank you!! My wife & I are returning in September and we are staying here again before and after our Cruise from the Port of Tampa. My family, also will be returning to this Motel in Jan/Feb 2007. I consider that this is very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North
#1 of 5 in Temple Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Property: Regency Inn
Address: 720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-5332 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Regency Inn Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing