We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Options Out There!”
Review of Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regency Inn
Ranked #136 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Edison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better Options Out There!”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I had booked this hotel through expedia using their phone agent. They recommended me this hotel/motel since i wanted something between University of South Florida and Tampa General Hospital. Yes the location was right, but there were other hotels they could have recommended. The place looked okay from outside, but the room color and the bed sheet color made the room really dirty and old. Bed was not comfortable at all. The bathroom was very clean surprisingly! In short, I would choose another option if it was not for budget and last min. thing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oosarkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    21
    14
    65
See reviews for
36
22
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Steer clear of this place - it was the worst hotel experience I can remember. The first room they put me in had to be over 100 degrees when I entered it. They may have had the heat turned up in hot, humid Florida because they were trying to dry something out of the carpet - half of which was wet with some kind of fluid that I don't think was water (there was some of it on the bathroom floor and it was slippery, like some kind of soap.) I nearly slipped on it in the bathroom and in the hallway outside. The tub was dirty and there was literally a mushroom growing out of a gap between the wallpaper and the tub stall. Turning the loose wallpaper back revealed a serious mold problem.

I requested another room and they provided me with another one, but that one wasn't much cleaner: A few minutes of walking around the room in bare feet or white socks dirtied them. The seal on the small refrigerator was broken so it wouldn't stay closed, and the air conditioner was so loud it was extremely difficult to sleep. The phone didn't work and when I complained about that the front desk clerk informed me that people kept breaking the cords on their phones (really?) and they had run out of replacements.

The neighborhood was also very questionable and when walking to the only lounge in the area I was approached more than once by vagrants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MediaManLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I thought since it was close to Busch Gardens and the name Howard Johnson Express Inn it would niceand the price was good because I booked the through Expedia. The prictures online is a lie. It really looks run down and dirty. The hallways had a bad odor. The bathroom was not clean. The towel was not bleachy white. The walls was dirty with holes. The area was bad. There was people (crackheads) hanging outside. I think it was a Motel. The glass doors was unsafe. I do not recommend anyone to stay there. It do not matter if you are young, old, single, married, with or without kids please find another Hotel. {TRUST ME PLEASE}

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KeishaA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Very friendly staff but a complete dump! Bad neighborhood, extremely loud hallways, filthy rooms, run down, horrible beds, cob webs, cracks in doorway, bugs everywhere. Way too pricey for such a mess of a hotel. Not at all what we expected but got there too late with sleeping kids and not able to find another place for the night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POEducator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We enjoyed our stay which was in the midst of everything and inexpensive. Most surprising were the waffles which were wonderful. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

A friend of mine and I were taking a girls weekend, but as students we needed something in our price range. It was a great location, but if I had it to do over I would have stayed somewhere much nicer. The roof had patchy spots, there were people lingering at all hours, and it was an unsafe neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lani_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

This Howard Johnson was not as bad as the last one. My biggest turnoff was the scary neighborhood and the booger on the shower curtain. It wasn't bad for just a place to park yourself for a few days. I would say it was adequate and served its purpose. Just don't plan on bringing the wife and kids. This area is a bit creepy. It's also situated on a very inconvenient street. There's no opening in the median so you can't pull out to make an immediate left-hand turn. You have to go right for about a quarter mile and make a U-turn going through the same traffic light TWICE (to & fro). Just going to the store for a snack or beer becomes a major operation. That gets old real quick! If you just continued right, there were no more stores or other businesses, like you were at the edge of town or something. All the restaurants and stores were in the other direction. It was really screwed up.

The room and bathroom were clean enough except for the dry booger left on the shower curtain. (again, don't bring the wife & kids LOL). It had plenty of ammenities, cable TV, fridge,micro,iron/board,hairdryer. I didn't see any bugs. I only noticed some regular tell-tale signs of age like some paint peeling here and there. I also noticed a little mildew at the top of the wall in one small area. The linens seemed clean enough and smelled ok. I didn't go there to stay in my room all day so it was just fine for crashing after a day of sightseeing. Overall, it was ok if you're mainly concerned about price. Otherwise, I wouldn't go there if you could afford to trade up. It was just adequate enough for single guys with little cash.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eandatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
1.3 mi away
West Wing Boutique Hotel
West Wing Boutique Hotel
#28 of 163 in Tampa
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn

Property: Regency Inn
Address: 720 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-5332 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tampa North/Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Howard Johnson Tampa
Tampa Howard Johnson
Regency Inn Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing