We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #15 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The room was comfortable and clean. I liked the shower versus a tub and shower combo. The staff was professional and always ready to help if you ask for assistance. If your travels take you to downtown Tampa I recommend you stay at the Hilton. The restaurant staff was excellent; however, the breakfast buffet is a little over priced for scrambled eggs and bacon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Greetings Mike V.,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about the hotel and specially about our staff. Thank you for recommending our hotel.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    404
    151
    56
    30
See reviews for
218
264
49
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, FL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I found the service staff to be very patient and resourceful. They were able to feed 400 persons with ease. Congratulations! The ballroom was beautifully decorated as was the bar and bride and groom's table at the entrance of the reception area. There were staff to direct attendees. The evening was a great success with the staff and wedding cooradinator working together. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Greetings Paula M.,

Thank you for staying with us. Your kind comments regarding regarding the way our staff handled the wedding reception are appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the event.

We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Tampa.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I were in town to attend a wedding and we ejoyed our stay and have reccomended to our friends and family that should they be in the local area they stay at the Hilton. They wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Delvon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Greetings Delvon S.,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended. We appreciate your comments.

If your travel plans bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Hilton Downtown Tampa completed their renovation and this property is AMAZING. I remember this hotel as a Hyatt in the past and cannot believe it is the same property. Clean and modern rooms, beautiful restaurant with healthy menu choices and a full service Starbucks. The Hilton Downtown Tanmpa will be our go-to hotel when visiting Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Greetings Frank L.,

Thank you for staying with us. Your gracious comments mean a lot to us. We are happy you enjoyed our brand new Starbucks and our newly renovated lobby, restaurant and guest rooms.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

What can I say..... Service, welcome, room, location ..... All superb and I will always book myself here whenever I come to Tampa. The bed and the linen were amazing and a home away from home and the shower was so powerful in the morning, it was like I was showering in a warm waterfall... It was perfect. Thank you Hilton, you've done it again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeky_leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Greetings Cheeky_leon,

Thank you for staying with us. We truly appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Should your travels bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL Keys
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I spent several nights at the Hilton while attending an event at the Tampa Convention Center. The hotel is an easy (<10 minute) walk to the convention center. I booked well in advance and got a very reasonable rate. My arrival experience was the low point of my stay. I had to unload my truck while dodging traffic on Tampa Ave. I self-parked and was told to pull in to “any open spot” in a lot down the block. The problem was that there were no open spots. The lot does not have a great many spaces and it is a public lot, not reserved for Hilton guests. After driving seven hours, I had to hang out in the parking lot until someone pulled out of a space big enough to accommodate my pickup truck. I decided right then that my truck was not leaving that spot for the duration of my stay. The hotel is undergoing renovation which did not interfere with my visit. I was on the 13th floor. The furnishings in my room were lovely. There is a desk, sofa & plenty of lighting. My room had a king bed that was very comfortable. The room had a coffeemaker and no refrigerator or microwave. The a/c worked great and was very quiet. Unfortunately there was noise from traffic outside, toilets flushing in adjacent rooms, and from the hallway. The room was nicely dark for sleeping, except that light streamed in all the around the door. The employees I encountered were exceptionally friendly. One exception was an employee I heard, rather than saw. A housekeeping supervisor came down the hallway checking to see which rooms hadn’t been made up around 5:30 every evening. She slammed and banged doors as she went and she was very rude to the house keepers. I could hear her yelling “room number X is not clean and I need it done NOW!” Wi-Fi was available in the room for a fee. I would likely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamper48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Greeting HappyCamper48,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We apologize for the parking situation and also the yelling in the hallway. We will address these issues with the proper departments. Again, please accept our apologies.

Our newly renovated rooms will all include a refrigerator. Thank you for your comments.

We appreciate sharing your observations with us. We look forward to having you as a guest again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
477 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this Hilton primarily because of it's proximity to a business meeting I had in Tampa. The check-in was extremely smooth and pleasant. The front desk was professional and moved me to a different room as I had inadvertently signed up for a handicapped room. I was given room 606. The bed was phenomenally comfortable. However this room is directly above the hot tub with it's flashing lights and music. I thought it was ridiculous that I had to call security to ask for the salsa music to be turned down after 11 PM on a Sunday so that I could get to sleep. Bottom line, I really like this hotel, I like the breakfast area and service, the beds are among the best I experience, I just would stay away from room 606.
The workout room is sufficient for aerobic exercises but does not have very much for weight training. It does have dumbbells from 5 to 50 pounds, but not a lot of room for exercise

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Greetings Maltafaz,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the situation with room 606. Our Rooms Executive will look into this.

We are happy you really enjoyed our beds. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, please come back and visit us.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#32 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Property: Hilton Tampa Downtown
Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa
Hilton Tampa Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing