We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff, perfect for spring training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #15 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and staff, perfect for spring training”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was stuck in Tampa an extra day because of snow in the northeast. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating, despite the hotel being very busy the day I was supposed to leave. Also, a special thanks to the bartender Pilar, who gave a lot of good recommendations, directions etc for things to do locally and for good spring training tips, too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Greetings Douglas H,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments, especially the one about Pilar. We will be happy to forward your good comments to our staff, to let them know how much their customer service is appreciated.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Tampa, we hope that you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    407
    151
    56
    30
See reviews for
218
265
49
644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a great hotel in downtown Tampa, FL. It is located close to several area interests. We have used this hotel for several conferences and the staff are outstanding! The location of the hotel and the food/bar is great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Greetings Nancy B,

Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you for your comments about our hotel, staff and food/bar. We are glad to see that you have been here many times!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
251 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a recent conversion from a Hyatt. Rooms were completely redone carpet to beds to the bathroom. Will stay here again when in the area. Within three blocks of the Tampa convention center. Valet and self parking are available. Beautiful lobby with a small Starbucks and a bar/restaurant. Room doors have a sizable gap at the bottom that can lead to excessive noise entering your room if you are near the elevator.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escape2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Greetings Matt P,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments. We apologize for the noise from the elevator entering your room.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
238 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here because my husband was in Tampa on business, and it was a perfect for that. Well-located, efficient and very comfy rooms. Nothing particularly Florida about it, though. Could have been at any Hilton. We did not use the valet parking because I was going in and out, so I used the lot about half a block down. I think it was about $16 a day. I did not have any trouble finding a space in the evening, but I did hear some people say they couldn't find a space when they came back later at night; there is an overflow lot yet another block away. Lots of amenities all around, within walking distance of the aquarium, easy to get to off the highway. Starbucks in the building was handy. I had no noise issues, as had been described in other reviews. I did have a TV issue; they had to switch out my flat-screen 3 times to get one that worked (the Olympics were on!). They were very concerned that I was happy with my TV, which I appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pthomas156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Greetings Pthomas156,

Thank you for staying in our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We hope your visit was very enjoyable. We apologize for the TV issue but we are glad the situation was taken care of so you could watch the Olympics.

Should your travels bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was the first time I stayed at this property since Hilton took it over from Hyatt. The renovation is first class and provides a comfortable and inviting place to stay. The new dining room and lounge is great. Will definitely s area.tay here again when in the Tampa

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Boblu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Greetings Boblu17,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you visited us for the first time since we switched to Hilton and that you liked our new look. Thank you for your comments.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Good location, really excellent, friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Pity the sewerage smell was an intermittent problem and the sound-proofing between rooms was not very good. Meals in hotel restaurant were good. Business centre was excellent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Greetings Noeleen M,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and staff. We are glad that you enjoyed the restaurant and also the Business Center.

We sincerely apologize for the sewage smell, this is very unusual and the problem has been solved. We also apologize for the noise. We will forward your comments to our Engineering Department for action.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

HiltonTampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed for several nights for spring training. Rooms were fine - standard and clean. Pool was nice (but a little cold). Highlight was the hotel bar with an excellent bartender named Pilar who was extremely friendly, made solid cocktails, knew her wines, and recommended some great bars and restaurants around Tampa. We had a great trip, in part because of her!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Greetings Jen H,

Thank you for staying with us during your spring training. We appreciate your comments about Pilar, our bartender. We are very fortunate to have people on our team that sincerely care about our guests and it will be our pleasure to thank her for representing the hotel so well.

We look forward to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#31 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Property: Hilton Tampa Downtown
Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa
Hilton Tampa Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing