We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel, food services and Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #15 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel has completed the renovation and the rooms are well appointed. Some have smaller bathrooms with short counter space. Otherwise the room was very nice and confortable.

The breakfast food service was made more pleasant with the outstanding service by Stacie in the mornings.

Christie made having appetizers and a beer easy and fun in the evening.
If you sty at this hotel look for these 2 folks as they show what the Hilton chains should be looking to present to their customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger bathroom and verify the AC is working well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimRabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Greetings JimRabe,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that 2 of our team members made such a good impression on you. It will be our pleasure to thank Stacie and Christie for the outstanding service you received.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

the whole experience was perfect. of special note was the 2 meals I ate at restaurant 221. my waitress both nights was Mary and her performance was without equal!! Both of my entree's were delicious, especially the blackened grouper sandwich that Mary recommended.I cant wait to get back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Greetings Brenda B,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to visit many of our great attractions.

Your comments about our hotel and our staff are very much appreciated.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

HiltonTampa Downtown- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Was staying here during a business trip and received tremendously courteous and professional service in the lounge, where I ordered a drink and snack, from Christie. She's a super ambassador for Tampa and for the Hilton. The physical setting is terrific, and the hotel maintained at a very high standard, but it is ultimately the service that separates one hotel from another, and because of Christie, this was a memorably pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Greetings Mark M,

Thank you for staying with us. Your comments about our bartender, Christie, are appreciated.
Like you said, she is a great ambassador for our hotel and we are happy that she met your expectations of exceptional service. It will be a pleasure to thank her for representing the hotel so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for my sister-in-laws' wedding, which was across the street in the Tampa Club - top of the Bank of America building. We were running late and got lost on the freeway so I called and talked to a staff member who directed us easily. When we arrived, the valet and Bellman were very efficient with parking and bringing up our bags in a hurry so we could change. We inevitably could not get into the Tampa club since it was after hours so I called again to the Hilton to see if they knew how to get into the the building. They did not, but connected me to the Tampa Club directly so they could give us directions without me having to go thru information. Unfortunately, we were too late for the wedding but we enjoyed the reception!
Afterwards, we stopped at the lobby bar (very cool pendant lights I must say!) and had a couple glasses of wine that were really good - a bit pricey - but good. Christie was our waitress and she was helpful in getting our teenage son a meal to go. She even threw in an order of fries on the house, which would make any teenage boy smile :) Thanks Christie!!
The only problem we had was that the room was really hot. (1019) I normally get cold very easily but I kept waking up in the night having to turn down the air. Even at 62 it was still pretty warm. The only other minor thing was that when we tried to get wi fi, it said there was a 9.95 charge, even tho the desk clerk said it was complementary. So we found that a little confusing and wonder why any hotel in this day and age would charge for wi fi? Other than that, everything was fine. Thank you for hiring customer service oriented staff!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Greetings MiniSZ,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your comments about how our staff helped you during your sister-in-law's wedding day and about our bartender, Christie. The one number asset of this hotel is our staff. They sincerely care about our guests and will go above and beyond to provide you with excellent customer service.

We apologize for your room being hot. We are forwarding your comments to our Engineering Department for immediate action. We offer free wifi in all our public areas.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Well located and clean. Renovation is very nice. Room next to pool on 5 a little loud.
Antonio at the door was very pleasant and inviting. He made us feel at home each time we came in and out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room next to pool on 5 a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeC860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Greetings JoeC860,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments.

It was nice to see that you felt at home with the great customer service you received from Antonio. We are very fortunate to have people like him on our team who sincerely care about our guests. It will be a pleasure to thank him for representing the hotel so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This attractive, clean hotel offers spacious conference and comfortable guest rooms, with an outdoor pool and lounge and multiple indoor lobby sitting areas. It is beside a pretty city plaza and very near a beautiful river walking path, also within walking distance of the Aquarium and other pleasures. The hotel offers handy transportation through a Blue One van. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Greetings Dennis M,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your gracious remarks about the food in our Restaurant 211. Mary is an incredible server and we are happy you had the opportunity to experience her great customer service. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your meal; we will pass along your comments to our F&B Department to let them know what a great job they are doing.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My girlfriend and I had a chance to get away for a long weekend recently and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Tampa and stay at this hotel. The room was comfortable with a fabulous pillow top mattress. The pool area was very well appointed and well kept, but get your sun in the morning. Start with breakfast at the Hilton or two blocks up the street at Samaria. Lunch at Samaria is excellent and reasonable. Dinner at the other Greek restaurant (past the square and CVS) is excellent for flavor filled traditional Mediterranean fare or try Mise En Place a half mile across the bridge for fabulous, but pricey, French fare. The arts festival was excellent and should be included in your future plans.

Now the reason for this review (I never write reviews, instead opting to just tell folks firsthand). I took a cab from the hotel property to the airport this past Monday. Once I was dropped at the airport I realized I left my brand new eyeglasses in the cab. I didn't get the cabbies name or number, but he told me he used to play college basketball and was an independent driver. I called the hotel and spoke with Brad Cox who took down the information and asked several additional questions which I just couldn't answer. He said he'd do his best to figure it out and we hung up. The next morning I ask my girlfriend (let's refer to her as D!) to check in, but Brad said "nothing yet". Later that day, my girlfriend (D!) sent me a text picture of her wearing my previous lost eyeglasses. I posted that picture of D! on facebook with a story and caption "My hero". However, the real hero of this story is Brad who was able to go on what little info I provided, track the cabbie down and have him return my eyeglasses. Kudos and a toast to Mr. Brad Cox and the entire Hilton Tampa Downtown team for a great four-day stay!!! J!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the parking garage. We were lucky enough to grab a room with a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Greetings Jess R,

Thank you for staying with us. We were glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and one of our team members, Brad Cox, made such a positive impression on you.

After reading your review we are happy to see that your glasses were found and return to you. Brad is one of our great ambassadors and we are very fortunate he is part of our team. It will be a pleasure to thank him for the exceptional service he provided you.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £123 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa
Hilton Tampa Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing