We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIlton Tampa Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #15 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed here for a business trip and really enjoyed my stay. The staff and service were great! The hotel was well decorated, rooms were large and comfortable and the bathrooms were very nice! It was also very close to the airport. Since it was a business trip, I really didn't get a chance to explore the surrounding area. The hotel bar was great, very comfortable, and good service. The rooftop pool was also very nice and accessible in the evenings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefinickyitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Greetings thefinickyitalian,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see you enjoyed your stay in Tampa. Your kind comments are very much appreciated.

We are glad you had the chance to experience our great customer service from our staff. We hope you can visit us again soon and have more time to explore the city.

We enjoyed having you as a guest and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Tampa Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I am so glad I couldn't get into the HYATT! This was so great, it has renewed my faith in Hilton!
My experience from pulling in to Valet parking up to check out was FANTASTIC! First, the valet was courteous and fast and got my bags to the bell hop quickly. Note: there is much construction in Tampa near the airport and my GPS got very messed up by it...just beware. They got me to John Warwick, the front desk supervisor. Mr. Warwick was very courteous and helpful! I told him I needed a REALLY quiet room and he changed me from a pool facing room to 1139. I LOVED 1139!!!!! It has a sofa that looks out at the river (though a narrow view) and was cozy. It does have a very small bathroom but that was ok. It also had a refrigerator. It was VERY quiet! I almost moved to the non-street side and a higher level for quietness but my room had specifically met my request of an "allergy free" room and while this isn't a PURE room it was very allergy free...the best my allergies have been in a long while. So, I stayed in this room and found that the so-called street noise goes away after 5 o clock or so. It was quiet and great for business. The remodel is lovely. This is a MUST STAY location for anything at CAMLS at USF!!!! There is a FULL Starbuck's in the lobby and is great! ROOM SERVICE was TREMENDOUS! The flatbreads and sandwiches were EXCELLENT! The french fries are not to be missed! It was always fast and hot! The chicken pasta was also good. Housekeeping was also so sweet and accomodating!

The WiFi was free for Hilton Honors, the valet was 20$ a day and standard for a big downtown area. They did not hurt our car and were always fast and courteous.

THEY HAVE PETER THOMAS ROTH PRODUCTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best products ever! Better than the stuff the Ritz properties put out for you. These are high end, not allergenic and "cruelty free".

I love this place and spent all day for 4 days in this hotel and only leaving for dinner to study for an exam at USF and I have to tell you it was the best stay I have had at a hotel in a long time. Thank you Hilton!!!!! I will be back!

Oh, it is easy walking to: CAMLS (not even a block), Hattricks Irish Pub (skip this and go to TAPS), Taps, the TMOA, the riverfront...complete with dyed green water for St Patty's day, and many other restaurants as well as the trolley, etc. They also have a good workout room and nice outdoor pool. They had local, USA Today and WSJ daily in lobby along with cold water to drink and very nice business center. Did not go into shop or into restaurant/bar but looked quite nice.

Room Tip: Room 1139 is street front but after 5 pm, without a game, quietens down. Had a nice sofa that I don...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank withoutscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Greetings withoutascreenname,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review about your stay at our hotel. It was nice to see your stay here was enjoyable.

We are glad you had a room per your specifications and that you also liked the Peter Thomas Roth products. Thank you so much for all your kind comments.

We hope you did well on your exams and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stay here every time I come to Tampa (about 6 times per year) it really is a great hotel, the folks at the front desk are genuinely friendly, Pilar, Ronnie and Natalie at the bar are all fantastic and it is one of the few hotels that have king size pillows on the king size beds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Greetings Mike R.,

Thank you for staying with us and for your continuous business.

We appreciate your comments about our staff. We always enjoy receiving glowing remarks about our staff and it makes it especially nice when it comes from a special guest as you are.

It's always a pleasure having you as a guest.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I love the pool on the rooftop. The workout facilities are nice as well. Everything is what you should expect from a Hilton. I go here once a month and the staff seems to be consistent. If you travel a lot, this will be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Madeline Schwei... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Greetings Madeline,

Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you for your kind comments and for visiting us so frequently. We appreciate your business.

We look forward to having you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I liked the free wifi. Valet and guest services were nice. Rooms are very dark, couldn't see much! Hard to pack in the dark! House keeping was not good. Dirty glasses just left and not cleaned, cups not replaced, stingy on towels, didn't like coming back to a room that was how I left it instead if cleaned up! The flush from the upstairs bathroom is very very loud... But past that the hotel is quiet. The location isn't great, we got in late at night and wanted a grocery store and nothing was open. In a downtown core, that was a bit strange. Great if here for convention or a game but other than that need the car to get anywhere more populated. The outdoor pool are is very nice but a bit shaded by surrounding buildings.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Greetings Mary D,

Thank you for staying with us. After reading your comments it was obvious your stay was not perfect. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you encountered. We will forward your observations to our Housekeeping Department so they can reiterate to our staff their role in serving the guests.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was one of the worst top rated hotel I have ever stayed at. Location was terrible- room had roaches in bathroom that came out at night - had to call to have room sprayed - was offered another room - but wouldn't take any chance on having more come out - didn't have clean washclothes on last night because they want us to use the same ones that we used the night before. valet left my van overnight in the shuttle area with doors unlock and keys in van, after threatening to give me a ticket and having it towed!

The brightest thing was Antonio the bellman and Mac in security!!!!!!!!!!!!! Need more like them. They were the best along with Christian another bellman/valet. I don't remember the young man name that was in charge in the afternoon - he was great also. after all that happen hats off to these men!
One of the young valet guys was very mouthy had to tell him to back off and stay in his lane!!!!!!!!!!!!

I don't expect to stay there anytime soon!!!!!!!!!!! and will not recommend any to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks - be blessed

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Greetings Tina B,

Thank you for your review concerning your stay with us. After reading your comments, we were very disappointed to see we let you down in so many areas. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences we caused you. Let me assure you this is very unusual and all your observations have been addressed with our Rooms Executive for immediate action.

We are disappointed to see that you would not return to our hotel in the future. Our goal is to regain your confidence in our services and staff, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had a great stay as usual. The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful. Pilar was especially nice and very good at what she does. My room on the 16th floor was the best room I've stayed in this hotel because I believe that the rooms are a little larger on the 16th floor and above.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Greetings Steve J,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made such a positive impression on you especially Pilar. Our staff really care about our guests and I am happy you received great customer service from them.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
439 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £115 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa
Hilton Tampa Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing