We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would I go there again? Hmm, not really...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Would I go there again? Hmm, not really...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

A nice and modern hotel, but a lot of things just went wrong for me that day:
- You have to pay extra for WiFi in your room - really? That is like charging for hot water...And then the download speed was 0.3 Mbps. I complained the next day and they did not charge me for it, at least.
- I paid extra for a late check out. But of course, after 12 pm the key card would not work any more. I tried to call the front desk from the phone in the corridor, but the phone was not working.
- Later, a guy just entered the room after knocking once and not waiting for two seconds for an answer.
- Breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing. I have seen better in hotels with less stars. And the employees were more chatting with each other than serving or looking after the buffet.
- The waiter at the pool did not ask my once for an order.

The guys from the valet parking offered the most professional service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Magicflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,616
    634
    165
    60
    26
See reviews for
510
685
145
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Perfectly located - 3 mins from the airport, on the water, 5 mins from the BEST restaurants in Tampa, perfectly quiet in the midst of everything. Perfect food - The BEST room service meals you will ever find. Typically, room service food gets a bad rep. In all my business travels, Hyatt wins best room service food hands down. Excellent, excellent! Grand Hyatt also has some of the best restaurants in Tampa. Great, great food! Perfect decor/ambience... wonderfully designed hotel. Completely modern! Perfect service from the bellhops/luggage attendants. Will DEFINITELY choose to stay here for all my Tampa trips.

Room Tip: Get a room with the view of the water. The sunsets/rises are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Krys D,

I am so happy to hear you had an amazing stay at our property. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
-Paul R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Quiet, peaceful & surprisingly lovely. Casita room (in the resort side of the property) was a little hidden oasis. Big raccoon hiding in the bushes outside our door was a big of a shocker. Breakfast brunch was outstanding but expensive. Front desk staff not overly helpful & overcharged on my card. They couldn't explain why, just a "oh well" attitude.....
Other than that, and the location being not terribly close to downtown, I loved this place. Certainly will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
I'm so glad that you enjoy the casita room. I'm glad you had a quiet and peaceful stay. We would love to welcome you back soon.

Becky S. -Guest Services Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel is everything you'd expect from a Grand Hyatt. The property is very nice, the hotel furnishings and common areas are up to date and clean, the beds are the standard Hyatt grand beds and reasonably comfortable. (For my money no beds beat those found at a Westin, but the Hyatt beds have pillow-top mattresses, a good assortment of pillows, and a much lighter comforter than the sometimes-too-heavy ones found at a Westin.)

I was told that I was being given a room designed for "female travelers", and indeed this room did have nice amenities (e.g., shampoos, soaps, etc.), a robe & slippers not often found in rooms that aren't on the "club" floors of hotels, and a very nice lighted makeup mirror with settings for several different lighting scenarios. I don't generally use a makeup mirror, but the lighted mirror with the "evening" setting made for a nice nightlight for the bathroom. The room was also quite spacious.

This hotel gets BIG kudos for the numerous outlets that were very easy to access and distributed around the room, including two on the top of the nightstand between the two double beds. The spacious desk had a strip with outlets and multimedia attachments for the flat screen TV.

This hotel didn't get a "5" rating from me for a few, relatively nit-picky, reasons.

First, the bedding didn't smell as fresh as it might have and I suspect that the comforter, at least, had spent some time in a smoking room. The smell was very faint -- I have an overly sensitive nose -- and it's possible that most folks would not have even noticed.

Second, the coffee supplied with the single-cup coffee maker was not very good, and the design of the coffee maker made it impossible to use any coffee except that supplied by the hotel. I much prefer to have a "real" coffee maker and, failing that, at least a single-cup maker with decent coffee and designed so that someone could use their own coffee if they wanted to.

Finally, the in-room clock with iPod dock is somewhat dated and difficult to use even as just an alarm clock. The dock does not accommodate the new iPhones (you can use them with the auxiliary input but you can't dock them without an adapter). For me, ease of use of the alarm clock is much more important than having an iPhone or iPod dock, especially with the easy availability of portable mini-speakers (like the X-Mini which I always carry with me).

Food at the casual dining restaurant was ok but not great. There is a nice but pricey breakfast buffet available. The "Cuban" sandwich I had from room service in the evening was ok but not really a Cuban sandwich. Room service is available from 6 AM - 2 AM.

All in all, and despite my nit-picky complaints above, this hotel is an excellent choice for accommodations near Tampa airport and I would definitely stay here again, especially if the Starwood properties in the area were not available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WahineOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Traveled to Tampa to see Billy Joel at the last minute and quality hotels were hard to come by at the last minute, but I was able to get a room at the Grand Hyatt and I was glad I did. The hotel was farther from the concert venue (TB Times Forum) than I would have liked, but access to the highways was very convenient, and the hotel was situated on the bay which provided a tranquil setting. It is located among office buildings so the setup is a bit strange, but once inside you don't notice. The staff was very friendly at check-in and the door man was always there to open the door for you.

I booked the bay view king which had a nice view of the bay and causeway, in addition to overlooking the pool. The room was very modern and well decorated. A criticism of the room was that shower was not as hot as I would have liked, but perhaps too many people were showering at that time so the hot water supply was limited. In addition, some of the TV channels were very blurry, and this still amazes me when I check into hotels and they have a beautiful TV displaying such blurry pictures. Seems like they need to have some re-wiring done.

Didn't have a chance to eat at the hotel but I overheard people saying it was good. The weather was a bit chilly so I didn't get to enjoy the pool but it did appear to be very nice, and they had a little nature walk that is probably nice in warmer temps. I would recommend if back in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Came in to town for a quick three night trip and wanted to stay close to the airport for convenience. The staff was fantastic, especially the bartenders and morning staff at the restaurant. I didn't give it an excellent rating for the fact that there was a fairly big very loud construction project right across from the restaurant and lobby. I will always choose to stay at another hotel if there is any construction, even if it is a great place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sprich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Awesome place to stay. Front desk was great. Room well kept and clean, except the windows. Bar good. Outdoor fire area awesome....all of them. Only complaint is the breakfast server...he sucked. No personality. Through down our plate and my husband burnt his finger on it. But all in all great place

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Morey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Morey L,

Thank you for your review. I do apologize for any frustrations the server might have caused. I truly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
-Paul R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.9 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
5.8 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1479
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing