We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis but no Free WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“An oasis but no Free WiFi”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is very close to the airport but it's location is all about tranquility.Delightful views of the bay,good food in 3 restaurants and pleasing service.But when will they include Free wifi? It really is unacceptable these days to charge a hefty fee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank second row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,792
    679
    172
    63
    28
See reviews for
562
758
157
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I stay here a lot for work and the rooms are always ready, clean and comfortable. I really like having a mini refrigerator at no extra charge in all the rooms. Parking is a sort walk, but all covered.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotatbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Greetings!

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay! Thank you so much for your loyalty and thank you for choosing Hyatt for all your business travels. Hope to have you back soon on your next visit to Tampa.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here recently while visiting for MLB Spring Training. The hotel is nice, comfortable and convenient to the airport. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are not many good casual restaurants nearby - only bland/boring tourist and chain joints. The hotel bar is ridiculously expensive - even by hotel bar standards so didn't even try Oystercatchers, the well reviewed hotel restaurant. Took a taxi (Checker) from here one night to Whiskey Joe's (not recommended). We knew the restaurant was only a 1.5 away so after driving for 10 minutes I checked the map on my phone - he was taking us the opposite direction.

Room Tip: The Bay View rooms have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillMutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Highly recommend although no beach nearby if that is what you want. Very pretty hotel. Really super nice staff. Two pools that play music, have a bar and service staff. Pool by Casitas villas (a short walk from hotel) has hammocks and a very small beach area plus restaurant w/outdoor seating. Rooms are good size and nicely decorated. Food is good. Room service included healthy choices I had never seen at other chains- for example egg white only eggs and vegetable health drinks to name a few.

Gym is decent size for a hotel and includes plenty of treadmills and some free weights among other options and a bath with showers there. Rooms have small refrigerators and room safes. I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0beachbum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Greetings 0beachbum0,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. Excited that your whole stay from start to finish was amazing! We will be sure to praise our wonderful team members for the amazing job they did. Hotel management will definitely be forwarded your kind comments because everyone at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach deserves a round of applause. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for one night on business in March 2014

I was only briefly at this hotel, checked in around 6pm, and checked out early for a 6am flight, but was amazed at how well run and well trained the staff is at this hotel.

From valet upon arrival and valet at departure, every staff member was friendly and helpful. Katie at the front desk gets the gold star for service. She was very friendly, and made small talk during checkin without making it sound scripted, she asked me if I needed help with dinner reservations or directions, and was overall just outstanding.

I had a small toiletry need, I called down, was greeted by name by the phone operator, and the issue was squared away immediately. Before dinner, we had cocktails at Armani's, and it was great, fantastic service and breathtaking sunset views from the veranda. We had dinner at Oystercatchers on property (separate review--it was not good, really really horrible actually) we had drinks in the lobby bar, and it was great. Top shelf options, very friendly service, and decent value.

In spite of leaving the hotel at 4:30, I was able to get my car brought up immediately from the valet, and got help with directions.

Overall, other than a strong warning to avoid Oystercatchers Restaurant, I can say enough good things about this hotel. I'll never stay anywhere else in Tampa.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor bay view room for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DulceVida-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on you recent stay with us at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay! We are so excited to hear about the amazing service you received during your short stay with us. We will be sure to send your kind comments about our staff and Katie to our executive management team for them to recognize the great job they do. I am so sorry to hear about your dinner at Oystercatchers and we hope this will not deter you from returning. We hope to welcome you back on you next trip the Tampa!

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kutztown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I write this from my room in Hyatt Place, a "low-end" Hyatt in Daytona Beach Shores, that handily beats our room last night at the
Grand (?) Hyatt in Tampa . The room there was no larger than this one and the bathroom was cramped, the toilet was just about wedged against the wall in a corner. The in-room coffee was single-serve in paper cups. It was noisy. The staff, though, were prompt & courteous.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockycomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in an executive suite, which really is two adjoining rooms. One room was the living room area that had a couch , chair, desk, bathroom and TV . Lots of huge windows provided a gorgeous view of the bay. The second room was the standard king room with another beauftiful view of the bay on 2 walls! Stunning!! Very quiet and comfortable. The only thing missing for me was "outdoor" space. I would of liked a deck or someway to open a window. The grounds were beautiful. We would defiantly stay here again. So close to the airport and to all the highways.
Very relaxing weekend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Carol B,

I'm happy to hear that you had a relaxing weekend during your stay with us! I appreciate your feedback.

-Paul R.
Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.9 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
5.8 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 163 in Tampa
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1479
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing