We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed”
Review of Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bay Harbor Hotel
Ranked #75 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have been going to this hotel for the last couple of years. I enjoyed it there great location. I went there this weekend 5/25/13 to 5/27/13 they changed the name of the club to Hulk Hogans and they have partys every weekend it was out of control people sleeping in the lobby and drunk all over the hotel nowhere to park cops all over the pleace outside. Came back from dinner at another place because my girlfriend was afraid to eat at the hotel. came back when to the rm. and when we got off elevator some people staying there tried to start a fight with me they were drunk all over the hotel. It's to bad it was a great place.I'll never stay again.

Eddie

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    477
    336
    157
    148
See reviews for
416
517
80
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

On our first full day we had no water in the morning. When it finally came on the water ran brown for over 10 minutes. After waiting for water most of the morning I ended up taking a cold shower because there was no hot. This wasted half of my vacation day. Our sink in the bathroom was clogged. The maint man tried to unclog it with a wet vac. Well that didn't work. He said something about having to come back in 5 minutes to pour something in the sink. Not sure because his English was poor. After he didn't show after 1/2 hour or so we told the front desk never mind. We had a clogged sink for our entire stay. The satalite went in and out on the tv. And I had to search different floors for a working ice machine. For all our trouble the desk gave us 4 10$ drink tickets. All of the hallways had a musty smell. This was our second stay here, and our last. Last year they were working on the roof our entire stay. The only reason to stay here is if you like a bay view hotel.

Room Tip: Get a bay view room if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveWegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The location is absolutely perfect; I couldn't have found a better place for the price. However, the rooms were humid, our toilet didn't flush, and the sink only worked if it was placed on hot. We called engineering and they fixed the toilet to flush, but all night it made loud flushing noises that kept us awake. As a previous hotel employee, I felt bad about calling them back up, so we just dealt with the noise.

The beds were not very comfortable but not to the point of intolerable. I ordered a pina colada from the bar and it tasted like ice, and the ceasar salad I bought tasted like lettuce and mayonnaise. The food was not worth it, but the beautiful view and dock you could walk out on was enough compensation. The front desk was very professional and the aesthetics of the hotel were very appealing.

Overall, I would not stay there again, but it is not a horrible place if it's a last minute event.

Room Tip: The "city view" option is not much of a city view; it's a view of a parking garage and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here on a Sat/Sun night because of it's close proximity to Tampa airport.
Located right on Tampa Bay-amenities are fine, staff friendly/helpful.

They only offer a rather expensive basic breakfast option.
Apparently they cater to business during the week.
On the weekends it's party time catering to the college crowd. The bar/grill on property played very-very loud music both nights until well after midnight. Lots of drinking lots of noise that transferred to the elevators and halls of the hotel throughout the day and into the wee hours of the morning.
Would not recommend this hotel for family or people who want to go to sleep at a reasonable time because it's not going to happen.

Room Tip: Bay side rooms have beautiful sunset views but also more noise. stay as far away from bar/grill as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJB51862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear KJB51862,

Thank you for submitting your feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the customer service we provided, along with the amenities we offer. I would, however, like to apologize for the noise you experienced from the neighboring establishments. On weekends, they play music and because of our location on the waterfront, the sound easily travels across the Bay and can be heard by guests in our Bay view rooms. We ask that our guests notify the front desk if they are affected by the noise late at night. We have also increased our security presence, particularly on our busier nights, to minimize the noise within the hotel.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you would consider visiting us again.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I went to this hotel for business.
Pros: 1) Clean rooms
2) Great view
Cons: 1) Ty - behind the counter VERY RUDE!!
2) Common areas filthy (stairs)
3) furniture dirty
4) toilet clogged, fake wake up call

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Robin B,

Thank you for providing your feedback about your stay with us. I would like to apologize, on behalf of our team, for not exceeding your expectations particularly regarding the customer service you received and the cleanliness of the public areas. I have addressed your comments with our team member and housekeeping management, respectively, so improvements can be made to provide a better experience for you and other guests in the future. I am pleased, however, to read that you enjoyed your clean room and the great views.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. In the meantime, please feel free to contact me to further discuss.

Best Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had a very good experience at this hotel, check in as fast and we got a room that we did ask for. You have a typical room clean and comfortable....the balcony was great for the evening and of course the morning. You cannot beat the ease of access to the airport, shopping, Clearwater, and of course Hogan's Beach.

I had a family of 4 and we all enjoyed our stay...and of course for me a thrill was meeting Jimmy the mouth of the south Hart...

We are going back to Tampa in November and we likely will stay here again!

If you have any question let me know

Room Tip: Pay extra for the bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear ReginaRick,

The team and I are pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with us! It is great to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room, as well as the speedy check-in. I am happy that our central location was perfect for you and I know it must have been exciting to meet Jimmy Hart, the Ambassador for our on-site restaurant/bar, Hogan's Beach. Thank you so much for staying with us and for submitting your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next trip to Tampa!

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
6.6 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#36 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
0.6 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#109 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Hotel

Property: Bay Harbor Hotel
Address: 7700 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1430 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need. Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant serves a variety of menu items with a full bar. We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens(R), the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock(R) Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa
Bay Harbor Hotel Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing