We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Godfrey Hotel & Cabanas Tampa
Ranked #42 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I spent a couple of nights here on a business trip. The staff were all very capable and helpful, the bed was very comfortable but the place felt a little shabby and in need of a makeover. There was quite a bit of noise in the corridors at night and both nights I was awoken by revellers moving around and calling to each other.

Hogans Beach is a little loud if you are used to the quiet life but is not too bad after you have adjusted to it. The menu is not too exciting but both meals I had were well prepared and very tasty.

The hotel offers free wifi and a free airport shuttle, the latter takes only 5 minutes door to door.

I would stay here again if I was travelling on business but would probably look elsewhere if I had children with me.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at The Godfrey Hotel & Cabanas Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Dear Tim A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel. Our team is pleased that we exceeded your expectations with our customer service, the tasty meals and the amenities we provide. We fully agree that our property needs a makeover and we have plans for an extensive renovation program that would include the refurbishing of all the guest rooms. I do apologize for the noise issues you experienced. We are taking steps to increase the security presence in the hotel on weekends to prevent any instances of noisy persons roaming the hotel and affecting our guests. Although Hogan's Beach has a livelier atmosphere on the outdoors, it remains more family-friendly in the indoor dining area.

Again, we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your future stays with us!

Best Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,539 - 1,545 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Spent two nights here at the beginning of our holiday, we had a bay view room and the view was great and worth the extra

After our visit last year the restaurant has changed and now it's Hogans, it was busy both nights and the food was good, the bar was lively and the beach volleyball was very busy

I would stay again without hesitation

Room Tip: Have a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garyc2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We are BW Gold members and were extremely disappointed in this hotel. The outside looked fairly decent as does the lobby. That's where it stops. The halls are musty smelling and the rooms are well-used and not too clean. if you have asthma or other allegories -- AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS. I had to use my inhaler several times due to the mustiness.

This hotel is in desperate need of a gut job! Our room had carpet that was lumpy and threads pulled, lampshades with rust, curtains with mildew, shower had mildew on the tile, and the latch was broken on the sliding door. People from neighboring balconies could easily climb across the dividers and onto our balcony. Also, the pool area, while very nice to look at, the alleged heated pool was COLD! Airport shuttle only starts at 6am -- so much for those of us who have to catch flights at 630 and need to be at the airport earlier!

Room Tip: Stay at the Double Tree across the street. The rooms there are much nicer, cleaner and the service i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at The Godfrey Hotel & Cabanas Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Tracy516,

Thank you for being Best Western Rewards members and for submitting your comments about your stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. You stated "This hotel is in desperate need of a gut job". To that end, we have plans for a multimillion dollar renovation project, which will definitely address most of your concerns. During the spring and summer months, the pool would not heat because of the high outdoor temperatures we experience here in Florida. Also, please note that we do offer an early shuttle, starting at 5 A.M. for our guests who request it - but like most hotels in the area, our shuttle's official starting time is 6 A.M. Once again, I apologize for your less than stellar stay, and we hope you will visit us in the future to experience our updated rooms.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Went here for a nice weekend away. If you want to party this is the place for you! If you want to relax go somewhere else. This is a hotel that the pool never closes. Called front desk at 1:45 about people in the pool. 2:30 more people in the pool. 3:45 security yelling at people on balconies to get in their rooms. They tried to resolve the problem but more people just kept coming. We checked out first thing in the morning. Room was discounted but weekend was ruined. Parking another issue. Ugh

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the pool, it never closes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucsfan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at The Godfrey Hotel & Cabanas Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Bucsfan00,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your comments. I would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had with us over the holiday weekend. Your feedback is being used to help us develop procedures to provide a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We have a pool policy and rules posted which state that the pool is open from 8:00AM - 10:00PM. Usually, guests voluntarily obey the rules. Sadly, on that particular occasion a few did not. We have since increased our security presence, particularly on our busier nights, to prevent a recurrence of this. We are also taking steps to improve the parking situation for our hotel guests. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Best Western Bay Harbor in Tampa was wonderful. I would strongly recommend that you get a "bay side" room. I booked a city view but upon arrival realized that this just would not due. The front desk was nice enough to upgrade me at no additional cost. Kudos to the Best Western Bay Harbor....I will definitely stay there again. The Hulk Hogan bar and restaurant that is attached is very convenient and the price is a little steep but it is located right there on the premise.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a "Bay View" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josepha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our family has been going to this hotel every year for 5-6 years and used to love it. It was quiet, had a great small bar/restaurant called Crabby Bills, a wonderful pool and views. This time the bar/restaurant changed to “Hogan’s” owned by Hulk Hogan and it is now 5 times the size. This brought EVERY NIGHT extremely LOUD music, wild drunk party goers, and extreme chaos. These people were not even suitable for my 13 year old son to see. The hotel did NOT enforce “hotel guests only” for the pool, the hotel itself and the parking lot. One night we could not even park in the hotel lot. We could not use the pool due to all of the drunken people filling it to capacity and playing their boom boxes so loud you couldn’t hear yourself talk in your own room. I of course complained to management and they said it has been like this since Hogan’s opened and there was nothing they could do about it…. NOTHING! We would never return even if we were paid to go. It is such a shame….

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have been going to this hotel for the last couple of years. I enjoyed it there great location. I went there this weekend 5/25/13 to 5/27/13 they changed the name of the club to Hulk Hogans and they have partys every weekend it was out of control people sleeping in the lobby and drunk all over the hotel nowhere to park cops all over the pleace outside. Came back from dinner at another place because my girlfriend was afraid to eat at the hotel. came back when to the rm. and when we got off elevator some people staying there tried to start a fight with me they were drunk all over the hotel. It's to bad it was a great place.I'll never stay again.

Eddie

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.6 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#103 of 164 in Tampa
770 reviews
10.5 mi away
West Wing Boutique Hotel
West Wing Boutique Hotel
#16 of 164 in Tampa
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#47 of 164 in Tampa
745 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
4.3 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Godfrey Hotel & Cabanas Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Godfrey Hotel & Cabanas Tampa

Address: 7700 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £72 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Godfrey Hotel & Cabanas Tampa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need. Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant serves a variety of menu items with a full bar. We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens(R), the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock(R) Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Godfrey Hotel & Cabanas Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa
The Godfrey Hotel & Cabanas Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing