We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bay Harbor Hotel
Ranked #74 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    486
    338
    161
    149
See reviews for
422
525
83
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Az
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed at the Bay Harbor hotel 12/28/13 -12/29/13, before we went on a cruise. The hotel is fairly close to the airport and has a free shuttle to the hotel ($10.00 per person to the port).

We got there at about 10:30 p.m. and the front desk staff were very helpful. The room was clean and about average size and it had a real balcony, not one of those where you take one step and you are at the railing. 2 chairs a small table and a great view of the bay.

The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with enough towels.

2 negatives about the room, no matter what I did I could not adjust the temperature in the room short of turning the AC off. The room was a constant 73 degrees (my alarm clock has a temperature gauge). We were there on a Saturday night and there was a party at the bar area with a live band. It was loud. We were on the 6th floor, with the door to the balcony open I had no problem hearing them, with the door closed the music was some what muted. I understand that a live band wants to play as loud as their amplifiers will go, but you are at a hotel, be respectful to those who want to sleep turn the volume down a few decibels.

For those who like pro wrestling there is a considerable amount of Hulk Hogan memorabilia in the restaurant and bar area.

Overall I would go back, maybe not on the weekend if a live band was playing but during the week.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the bay are $10 more than the rooms overlooking the city. Your choice I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolf064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Wolf064,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and complete review of the property. I'll make sure Maintenance gets the comments about the A/C. Your comment is well taken about the music. You may be happier through the week, but we'll be glad to welcome you back anytime you want to come.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

nice views but no shops or restaurants within walking distance. The rooms had dated decor with noisy Ac/heating units. Nice to relax but not very inviting. Nice beach and bar area but the restaurant is a tired sports bar with limited unexciting menu. Close to airport,with free shuttle. OK for a night or two but not really a vacation stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank glorista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear glorista,

I'm sorry that your stay was not exactly what you expected. Did you know that our complimentary shuttle can also take you to two of Tampa Bay's foremost malls? These malls have several restaurants as well as major department stores and shops. There are also several restaurants nearby on the shuttle route. All of our rooms are being updated and we should be finished shortly. If you ever come back this way, please book us again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel was close to the Tampa Airport. Great entry to the hotel, it was inviting. The staff was very helpful. The room was large and very clean. We had a bay view, very nice. We watched the dolphins swimming in the bay. We had a great breakfast in the restaurant. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Julie H,

Thank you for the great review. It's always especially nice to get a good review from a local because you can go anywhere you want. You didn't have to come here. We're glad you did and thanks for spreading the word.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stay for 2 night, very service minded staff - solved our problems fast and without any discussion. Internet on room worked very well. Big and very clean room on 6th floor. Breakfast was not included and to expensive for what you get in the restaurant. Pool very nice and clean. Will be back next year.

Room Tip: Room with bay view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccerwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Soccerwatcher,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. It's great to know that you'll be coming all the way back from Denmark and you want to stay with us. We know you could have picked a thousand other hotels. Thank you very much. We're looking forward to your return.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeRoy, KS, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Absolutely gorgeous!!! The view of Old Tampa Bay was spectacular. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the staff was courteous and helpful. We were extremely happy with our choice to stay at this location. I would recommend this location to any friends planning to go to Tampa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Warren H,

Thank you for all the compliments. The fact that you would come back and recommend us to your friends is the best compliment of all. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Breeze, Florida, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My son and I stayed here after Christmas. Everything was great. The hotel was laying tile in the front lobby upon arrival. It was finished the next day. The room was supposed to get ESPN but it did not. The front desk clerk was not able to assist. Other than that, there are great views and great service at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Robert P,

Thank you for your comments. They are helpful. Believe me, I am sorry about the situation with ESPN. The problem lies with the provider, so there was nothing the front desk could do. As a result, we are in the process of changing providers, so the next time you come, the situation should be remedied. I do hope that some one let you know that ESPN was available at the bar because they have a separate direct satellite. They are not on the cable system. Please come back soon and enjoy the views and service again in the new year. We look forward to seeing you.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
6.6 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
0.6 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#40 of 163 in Tampa
704 reviews
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Hotel

Property: Bay Harbor Hotel
Address: 7700 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1430 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need. Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant serves a variety of menu items with a full bar. We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens(R), the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock(R) Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa
Bay Harbor Hotel Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing