We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More then us staying in the room”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bay Harbor Hotel
Ranked #71 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
A TripAdvisor Member
“More then us staying in the room”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

There were hundreds of ants in the bathroom. All we got from the staff was 'we'll look into it". The carpet by the door was wet into the hallway. They sprayed something on it. The rooms smelled damp. NO room safes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

I'm sorry that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. From your brief comments, I can't tell exactly what happened and what was done about it. In any case, I hope you will try us again the next time your plans bring you to our area. We do have safes for guests, located at the front desk. Just ask to use one. They are provided free of charge.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    467
    328
    151
    142
See reviews for
405
508
78
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

we visited this hotel for a 3 night stay in November 2013 and we were appalled at the attitude of the staff and the best western company, on the 2nd day there I had a pair of trousers either stolen or taken from my room,when we went to the reception to report this we were told to call back later in the day all in all we visited the reception 5 times and had to explain each time my complaint(nobody thought to make a note of this) and still they couldn't help on the last day I spoke to the manager who filled in an incident report and told me he would be in contact with me ,I informed him that we were continuing on our journey and that we wouldn't be back home until the beginning of dec so he took my home number and said he would contact me.needless to say he didn't,so I decided to email them and again had to explain what had happened only to receive an email back telling me THAT IT WAS NOT THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE HOTEL IF SOMETHING WAS STOLEN OR TAKEN FROM MY ROOM,i asked for the address of their head office and they told me to write to a Mr Kong who was the ceo of the company which I did only to get a reply from somebody else telling me the same I also asked them who was then responsible for things going missing from rooms and they just replied that it wasn't best westerns .therefore I certainly wont be visiting any best western ever again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear berniecon,

I am sorry about your experience at our hotel. I do apologize that the staff did not act more promptly on your requests to look for your pants. Filling out the incident report and calling the police, is a guest requests, is all we can do. That is the normal procedure for most hotels in the U.S. I'm sorry that ruined your stay. I hope that here was something about the hotel and the Tampa Bay area that you liked and that one bad experience won't keep you from coming back.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were going to stay here one night after a cruise. We checked into this hotel and when we went to our room it was a huge disappointment. The room was very dirty. The hallways appeared to be unkepted too. We went down to the lobby and asked to get our money back. We were then offered a "remodeled room". The only difference was newer carpet and a painted room. We went back down to the lobby and checked out.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Traci14,

I'm sorry you were disappointed in our hotel. Let me assure you, your first room may have been dated, but it was not dirty. Our Housekeeping Department gives the rooms a thorough cleaning after each guest departs and supervisors check their work. Much more was done to our new rooms that just painting and re-carpeting. Whenever you feel that you would like to give us another chance, please come back.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

nice location close to the airport with a shuttle. The front desk staff were very professional and it showed that they enjoyed their work even when it was very busy. The attached Hulk Hogan bar was a unique experience and worthy of a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Sandy W,

Thank you for your short 'n sweet review. The front desk staff got a real kick out of it. It's always nice to be appreciated. Your description of Hogan's Bar was one of the best I've ever heard. It hit the nail right on the head. I think I'm going to start using it myself. "A unique experience, worthy of a visit." When you come back, I'll cut you in on the royalties.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock V
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I know some rooms are being renovated but does that mean the carpets in corridors and public areas should be dirty, dusty and in need of a vacuum? I have no complaints about the staff, they were very helpful indeed at the front desk at all hours. I used the gym every morning and again it appeared a little bit dirty, just a once a day clean is not too much too ask. The room was o.k. but difficult to tell if it had been renovated or not, either it is due or, if done, then I'd expect something better. There's a spacious bar, Hogan's Beach, that is big, noisy and without charm. The food was alright and again the staff very enthusiastic and helpful. The breakfast there was very good though with a great choice range. Can't fault this place by value. Being so close to the airport is a big advantage, if I were in the area again I'd try the Westin, close by.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a view of the water, odd numbers look on to the front and car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Alan M,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a comprehensive review of our hotel. I know the staff appreciates being recognized in a positive way. I will be letting the Housekeeping Supervisor know of an area where we fell short. I really liked your comment that you thought we were a good value, but you'd like to try somewhere else the next time. That's what this site is all about. Guests can read the comments of others and make choices for themselves. I really feel that after shopping around, you will agree that for the money, we are the best value for a waterfront, airport hotel in the Tampa area. We're looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great hotel, beautiful vew of harbor from our balcony room. Despite ongoing renovations management made sure current guests were not inconvenienced. Staff friendly & helpful. Convenient location to downtown Tampa & Airport. Unfortunately weather was too cool to utilize the beautiful pool, but perhaps next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank DianeA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear DianeA37,

Thank you for your review. Sorry about the weather. It's back up to 83 degrees and sunny today. We'll keep the pool nice for you until the next time. Please don't wait too long to come back.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
287 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I stay here when flying out of Tampa. We haven't been here in a while and was surprised at the renovations done. Our room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. The hotel is on the water with amazing views. Nice pool and airport shuttle . Leave your car for a nominal fee. Check out Hogans beach bar!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the water. Sunsets and sunrises are a nice added touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Lovetotravel0075,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you liked our renovations. Since you "lovetotravel," please don't stay away so long. We'll be looking forward to seeing you again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
6.6 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#37 of 162 in Tampa
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
0.6 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#109 of 162 in Tampa
701 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Hotel

Property: Bay Harbor Hotel
Address: 7700 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1430 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need. Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant serves a variety of menu items with a full bar. We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens(R), the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock(R) Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa
Bay Harbor Hotel Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing