We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My partner and I were in Tampa to celebrate New Year's eve from a cold northern state (to remain unnamed :).

We arrived late in the evening so it was dark and a bit secluded as others have mentioned, but isn't that what you want in a hotel? Off the main street a little, a bit quieter, etc? With GPS we found the hotel easily enough.

There is plenty of parking with no charge definitely a plus.
The lobby is very nice, wide, open and everything is easily navigable
Check-in was easy and fast, but the clerk, while not rude, was not the most friendly.

I believe the room service was available up until 11:00. We took advantage because there were no non-fast food restaurants easily available it seemed and we were tired from our travels.
I had the BBQ chicken quesadilla and other half had a cheeseburger + fries. Both were acceptable and not 'too' expensive.

The room itself was in great condition, the balcony large and inviting with a view of the pool (closed for service???). The TV was a large flat screen, modern and served the purpose fine. The beds were excellent. Showering was a bit of a negative as there was no ventilation so steam built up in one of the largest bathrooms I've ever had access to in any hotel.

Overall, the biggest drawback was the fact it was not close to downtown and required at minimum a 20-25 minute drive as well as being a 45 minute drive to Clearwater.

Bottom line for Sheraton East Tampa: Nice hotel, good rate and what you'd expect from a Sheraton. Clean, comfortable and a bit luxurious.

2 Thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munsif S, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Josh D,

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that the majority of your stay with us was satisfactory. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through with hotel clerk was not the most friendly and there was no ventilation in the bathroom.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to find more information about your arrival date and your room number. Please contact me at (813) 623-6363 ext 7109 or email me at Munsif.sharkasi@sheratontampaeast.com.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Munsif Sharkasi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    134
    98
    38
    29
See reviews for
99
85
27
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

By the exterior and the location, you may not think much of the establishment. The facade is giving away its age and the property is a bit hidden in seclusion near a main road. However, once you step inside into the lobby area, you will be impressed! The huge open layout is quite elegant. It has a simple, sleek, modern design. The hotel is much larger than it seems from the outside. There is plenty of complimentary parking on the lush grounds. A bar and lounge area is across from the lobby. A small business area with computers & printer are easily accessible anytime. The staff is hit and miss. Some are indifferent while others are helpful and friendly. A shuttle bus is available as well.

The hallways leading to the rooms are similar to a high end apartment or condo building. Hence, it makes it feel as if you're about to enter your own dwelling, which created a perception of privacy. The room was spacious with a separate living and sleeping area and was fairly clean. Attention to the furnishing would be good. Some were still dirty & greasy. Nevertheless, everything was well appointed. You have enough places to store your belongings and 2 televisions. Although, there was no mini refrigerator and microwave, you do get Starbucks coffee packets and teas with coffee maker. That's a treat! A safe is also provided. The bathroom was adequate except for only 1 hook to hang your towels or clothes. There was not even a towel rack or anywhere to put your stuff. So, if you get a ledge in there, use it. Rain shower heads were installed in this hotel and that is a plus. Those are awesome, especially the big ones! What was a surprise, is that they provide you with a mini scrub sponge along with your usual and basic amenities. The toilet was weak, where you had to flush more than once or twice. The bed was ultra comfortable and made for a wonderful sleep every night. The pillows were great!

If you have a car, it's better because you can then drive to find decent food. There isn't much at all close by and you really have to go out of your way to find something you like.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaglobetreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munsif S, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Tina G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

Kindly keep in mind for your future visit, that the hotel is located on exit north of Brandon Mall area about 5 min driving. There are lots of shopping, restaurants and entertainments. We do provide a complimentary shuttle service first come first serve to Brandon Mall area.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Sincerely,

Munsif Sharkasi
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel i was impressed. The lobby was nice and looked new (they renovated). I had a couple of issues at the front desk which put me off a bit but it all worked out so i proceeded to look around the hotel. First strike: pool closed for upkeep. had it been open it failed to impress either way. i then already doubtful proceeded on to my room.

The room was standard hotel room. it did seem very clean and i liked that a lot. The pillows and bed were comfy. there was a valcony which was cool as well. I started to feel better about the incident at check in and pool being closed so i decided to go and shower to get ready to explore the nightlife in the area (didn't seem like much hotel is in the middle of nowhere) so i proceed to get in the shower and turn on the water to hear a loud noise and no water. After fighting with the showerhead for a couple minutes i call my boyfriend in for help. No luck. I have him call downstairs to report the problem and i try the faucet...no water...flush toilet...no water. turns out water was being shut down til the next day at 6AM!!! so if you needed to shower, brush your teeth, USE THE TOILET you were unable to! No one bothered to notify us this was going to happen. Needless to say, not an awesome experience. Had potential but failed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissEimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munsif S, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Miss Eimu,

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. Unfortunately, the pool was not operational due to a problem with pump filtration system. However, the pool is up and running now. You have mentioned about no water. Also, unfortunately we had an emergency repair and we decided to conduct he repair between 11 pm to 6am, so it would not inconvenience our guests as much as possible. We did provide letters to all guests upon check-in and we also delivered to the rooms. I do apologize, if you did not receive a letter.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know. Please feel free to contact me at (813) 623-6363 ext . 7109 or email me at Munsif.sharkasi@sheratontampaeast.com

Sincerely,


Munsif Sharkasi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for a couple days and were impressed. The hotel is very nice (lobby, rooms, bar - everything). The staff was just incredibly friendly and always made us fell welcome. Since we were traveling with our pet, they even provide a dog bed and food/water dishes free of charge. The location is great and is close to several things in Tampa and Brandon. The only downside was the lack of free internet although since we weren't in the room except to sleep, it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Jay_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed for 5 days while getting to know the Tampa area. The hotel itself was fine. The front desk staff were helpful. I would suggest that when you check-in you ask for a room mid-way from the end of the row of rooms and the elevator. There were very few guests staying at the Sheraton, yet they put us in the very last room (the hallways are unusally long and winding) so it was a bit of a hull to the elevator, ice machine, etc. Which is normally not an issue, except three times our room keys did not work and you know the drill to get them re-keyed.

While the hotel faces a major highway and our room happened to face the highway, the heavy traffic noise was not an issue. So there was pretty good noise insulation.

The only thing that might be improved upon is the daily room housekeeping efforts. They would forget to give us bags for our ice bucket, didn't empty the coffee filter, nor replace our used supply with clean coffee cups and lids.

While there aren't restaurants within walking distance (more of a business complex environment), there are some restaurants about 10 minutes away via car.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukieBoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Great lobby area, nice rooms (although they are on the smaller side) with expected upgrades like flatscreen, etc. I would stay here again, ONLY because the business I traveled to visit is in the same general vicinity.

There are no good restaurants nearby, there are minimal amenities nearby. Its in an awkward location highway-wise. So unless your destination is within a mile or two, there are better choices all around Tampa. -1 star for location

-1 star for WiFi. Honestly, in this day and age WiFi is an expected perk, especially for a busines traveler. Having to pay for internet access is an instant -1 star.

That being said, staff was absolutely great in any interaction that I had with them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
151 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

You really get the best of both worlds when it comes to this Sheraton. The physical building is old with a ton of character. The recent total renovation makes every surface of the interior of the building shiny, new, and high class.

The lobby is huge and looked good and smelled good. I was checked in by a friendly desk agent who went the extra step of guiding me through the restaurant hours, gym location and general hotel information.

The hallways were updated with great lighting and new carpeting.

The room could easily pass for one found in a Westin. The carpeting was new, plush and in great shape. The bed featured one of the best mattresses that I've ever slept on complimented by great bedding.

The flat screen tv worked flawlessly as did the wireless internet. The bathroom was roomy and featured new wallpaper and fixtures. They did decide to keep the old tubs which really didn't match the high class look of the rest of the room but not a huge deal.

Overall a well run, nicely updated property that made for a comfortable night and considering the quality, made for a great value as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michtraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa East/Brandon
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Sabal Park/Brandon
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tampa East - Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel
Address: 10221 Princess Palm Ave, Tampa, FL 33610 (Formerly Sheraton Tampa East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel is newly renovated and offers the best accommodations in the Tampa area. We are centrally located in the Sabal Park Business Center, near the Tampa Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa East Sabal Park Hotel Tampa
Tampa Crowne Plaza
Sheraton Tampa Brandon Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing