We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning customers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Sailport's location is amazing! When they say every room faces the bay, they mean it! The rooms were accommodating to us because we were staying in Tampa for a longer period of time and didn't want to waste money on constantly eating out. Since their rooms come a kitchen, and all the things needed like you were at home, we saved a ton of money by cooking at the hotel.
We will definitely be returning and recommending Sailport.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duevelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Awesome feedback…thank you very much!! Very good to hear that your stay was great and that we could save you some money along the way. Does not get any better than that!! Keep spreading the good word. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Easy access to Interstate, Airport and restaurants.
Room was comfortable, it was nice having the kitchen and living room area for the extra space.
Nice quiet evenings, no outside noise.
Very good dining within 1 mile, several locations to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael K. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

You hit all the main points on the head and it sounds like we did the same!! Thank you for your review and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our condo faced the bay so the view was beautiful. The unit was a one bedroom with a full size kitchen. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only negative was the sofa was broken and the chairs were worn. The condo is a great value for the amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. Sounds like your stay was wonderful and we appreciate the positive feedback. Just so you are aware, we are undergoing a complete renovation of all of our rooms which will remedy the issue with the worn couch and furniture you spoke of. We should have this complete by early March. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

What a great place to stay for a family in Tampa. Close to everything, clean nice pool. Beautiful beaches, big rooms, two bathrooms, comfy beds. Great views from our balcony, we had a corner room. It had plenty of space, lots of outlets for all of our devices! Big refrigerator. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Beautiful sunsets! Bonfire and swings on their little beach. Close walk to restaurants and bars - wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

It is great to hear that your stay was to your satisfaction and the accommodations were excellent. Please come back and visit us again to take advantage of the new amenities we have coming in 2014 such as our outdoor fitness center (Fitness Island) and the new food and beverage outlet we will be introducing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

1. Room 472, balcony and sill to outside are rotted and very spongy.
2. Bedroom is barely big enough for the arguably queen (I say full) Bed.
3. Couch is compacted from the 10 or better years its likely been used.
4. Pull out sofa bed is as thick as a box at this juncture.
5. Check in is 3. Someone should explain that to staff. We were here with more than 50 people. 90% did not get in before 5pm.
6. A security deposit will be charged daily and refunded 2-10 days after you leave.
7. Security deposit amounts are different on the 3 forms I was asked to sign. At first it was $50/3 days, then $30/per day then $20/per day.
8. The beach is beach sand dumped in an area (that is groomed) by a sea wall. You cannot touch the Ocean.
9. There is a firepit. Comes on sometime in the eve, shuts off promptly at 10pm. There was 12 of us sitting by the fire and the guy shut it off regardless.
10. At 10pm you will incessantly be harassed about noise if party is more than a couple folks. Your encouraged for some reason to go to your room and not stay outside by the firepit which is away from the rooms.
11. It's basically an old lady castle. If your an old lady, this is your castle. If your 40ish with a hockey team worth of kids and parents, there's a lot better places to get stuck.
12. This is a great place for $100 per night. That's it. Otherwise, extended stay, Marriott or Hampton is a better value.
13. I stay in hotels 3 weekends of every month. You can take this review as face value.
14. FYI, I never complain. I realize if I want it my way, the best place for that is my house. We paid $140 a night and my opinion is reflective not of my preferences but of what I usually get for $140 or less per night.
!!Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanchosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

We sincerely apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are taking all of your concerns into consideration and will do our best to try to correct them for future guests. We were extremely busy that weekend with the Holiday and two groups of amateur hockey groups so it was a trying time for all involved. Our security team does their best to control the hotel during these times to make sure that all guests are satisfied and noise complaints do not become an issue. We appreciate your candid feedback and will address your concerns in the most appropriate manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent a week at Sailport to escape the brutal, everlasting winter in the Midwest. Our stay was pleasant, even though we had a few cloudy days while we were there. Our 4th floor suite was rather dated, but very clean and the bed was super comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the beach and the bay from our balcony. The pool and beach areas were clean, not crowded, and we enjoyed our sunny days by the pool. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The shuttle service was perfect, since we didn't have a car and used the shuttle for several trips to restaurants, the grocery store, and the malls.

However, we were disappointed to find out that, although they advertise Sailport as "non-smoking," they allow smoking on their balconies. Unfortunately, the guests below us smoked continuously on their balcony, and the smoke made its way up and into our room. Instead of enjoying the fresh air and sunsets from our balcony, on many occasions we were forced to stay inside our room with the balcony door closed to avoid the smoke. Perhaps Sailport could separate their complex so that non-smoking guests are not mixed in with smoking guests. Otherwise, it is deceiving to be advertised as "non-smoking."

The only other issue we experienced during our stay was the unreliable wireless service, but many Trip Advisor reviews mentioned this so we were prepared ahead of time. It appears that Sailport is working on a remedy.

Overall, our experience at Sailport was very positive and we would definitely recommend this affordable hotel!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jmodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for providing positive feedback regarding your stay. I will be taking your comments regarding the smoking policy to the next level to see what can be rectified to satisfy all parties when this takes place. I do apologize about the inconvenience and hope that you will continue to use Sailport when visiting the Tampa area. As for the Wi-Fi issue we are looking to have this resolved by the end of March. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We were there for a LSI procedure. We were treated like royalty. Nice room with a great view! Staff was very good and helpful. Our only problem was the internet connection which, we are told, is being remedied.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Your feedback is much appreciated. We are currently working with a new Internet provider that should have our system completely up and running by the end of March. This upgrade will increase our bandwidth throughout the hotel and provide seamless connectivity for all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#43 of 163 in Tampa
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £106 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, the Port of Tampa, Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, Amalie Arena and Raymond James Stadium Are all nearby. At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa
Sailport Waterfront Suites Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing