We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be perfect but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vernon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be perfect but...”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Pros:
The location was great, twenty minutes to the beach, twenty minutes to Busch Gardens, conveniences close by. The staff was nice. The room has a full kitchen and everything worked. The room looked clean. The view is beautiful, looking out over the bay. The pool was heated. They have covered parking. They have nice laundry facilities and the machines worked well. It was a quiet area, away from traffic.

Cons: You can hear Every noise through the walls and ceiling. I was woken in the middle of the night a couple times by 'neighbors'. Since smoking is allowed on the balconies you can still have smoking in your non smoking room. We couldn't open our balcony door the first two days because every time we did, smoke from the neighbor came in the room. They should maybe consider putting smokers on one part of the hotel, and non-smokers on the other.
I had read in other reviews that people stayed there 'longer term' using the suites as temporary housing. I would agree that people are living there and this leads to a big 'con'. This definitely detracts from the home AWAY from home feel and lends itself more to the transient feel. For example I requested a blanket and had to actually sign a form saying I would return it or be charged $20.00. ... And there are definitely roaches. I got up at 6 am, turned on the bathroom light and a roach ran across the floor, and under our small bathroom suitcase. This led to me rousing my two teenagers with shrieking and us chasing a cockroach around the bathroom into the hallway where he escaped under the door where the ductwork was. My three calls to the '24 hour' front desk finally got someone who said they would send up maintenance to look at it at 9 am (who never showed; we waited until 10 am), and asking us if we had food out. Note that there is a full kitchen, so food in the room would be normal, and our food was closed up, put away, and definitely Not in the bathroom. Needless to say, we slept with all the lights on the rest of our stay. I suppose this is just the nature of the beast, and some would say FL in general, but in all the places we have stayed on numerous trips, we have Never seen a cockroach before. We did only see the one in the room, and my daughter saw one in the pool bathroom as well, and one was floating in the pool.

In conclusion, this place could be perfect. They have so much to offer, so many positives, ... but the negatives are hard to get over.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration to increase our guest satisfaction moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    560
    238
    100
    90
See reviews for
621
529
87
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Comfortable, wonderful view of bay, and great price. Resort could take advantage of bay with water activities like paddle boats, waverunners, parasailing, etc. Also, a gameroom for kids would be great. A restaurant would be nice too.

Room Tip: Avoid fees & higher nightly cost. Book direct with resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank itsmyseason2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are actually looking into taking advantage of many activities you listed above. Working with the City and insurance has been holding us back a little, but we are making progress. We are also looking to add and food and beverage outlet before the year ends as well. Hopefully this will be completed by your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sailport. The facility was very clean and well maintained and the staff was very courteous. We would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Tampa Bay area especially those going to the Laser Spine Institute.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We love our Laser Spine guests and appreciate you taking the time to let others know how Sailport treats its guests. Keep spreading the good word and make sure to come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Sailport so I could have surgery at the Laser Spine Institute. The staff couldn't do enough to accommodate our needs and after the surgery took care of both my wife and myself. The room had a wonderful view of the bay and the hotel is located in a good area to reach either downtown Tampa or over to Clearwater.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pod2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It is great to hear your stay was to your satisfaction. We go above and beyond for our guests so thank you for letting us know we did just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sailport Inn. All the rooms have the view of the ocean. I loved sitting on the balcony in the morning, drinking my coffee while overlooking the ocean. We really liked that it had a separate room and very large closet for the bedroom. Also, it had a full kitchen with everything you would need to cook your meals. The grounds were beautifully landscaped. The pool was beautiful! They even had grills, tiki huts and a bonfire every night that you sit beside the water.The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you fish, they even have fishing poles that you can use and fish right kn the property! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for such a positive review. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience at Sailport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Grat location close to the Airport with a great view accross the Bay. The room was reasonable in size with a Balcony (unusual for American hotels in my experience). However the decor was tired which was somewhat disappointing. All in all though I would come back to use the place again as it was very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us. Thank you for your business and come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The resort itself had very lil to do on site, pool was small, no restaurants, not really kid friendly. However, very nice view of Tampa Bay, and especially nice at sunset. Rooms were great, quick response for housekeeping. Overall very nice resort with nothing special on site.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryCellular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us. I apologize that you were not able to advantage of the many activities we offer onsite. We offer beach volleyball, an outdoor fitness center, fishing poles to fish from our pier, as well as the outdoor pool to relax and cool down from the warm spring weather. I hope that next time you visit you inquire about these activities and enjoy them like many of our guests do on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#62 of 163 in Tampa
1,603 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa
Sailport Waterfront Suites Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing