We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$224
US$199
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$142
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$215
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$196
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$159
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$232
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$184
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,065)
Filter reviews
2,065 results
Traveller rating
990
608
262
113
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
990
608
262
113
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenlaser spine institutefire pitfishing pierrusty pelicanvolleyball courtsandy arealiving roomview of the baycovered parkingprivate beachclearwater beachheated poolrocky pointbahama breezewater viewnice pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,228 - 1,233 of 2,065 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Pros:
The location was great, twenty minutes to the beach, twenty minutes to Busch Gardens, conveniences close by. The staff was nice. The room has a full kitchen and everything worked. The room looked clean. The view is beautiful, looking out over the bay. The pool was heated. They have covered parking. They have nice laundry facilities and the machines worked well. It was a quiet area, away from traffic.

Cons: You can hear Every noise through the walls and ceiling. I was woken in the middle of the night a couple times by 'neighbors'. Since smoking is allowed on the balconies you can still have smoking in your non smoking room. We couldn't open our balcony door the first two days because every time we did, smoke from the neighbor came in the room. They should maybe consider putting smokers on one part of the hotel, and non-smokers on the other.
I had read in other reviews that people stayed there 'longer term' using the suites as temporary housing. I would agree that people are living there and this leads to a big 'con'. This definitely detracts from the home AWAY from home feel and lends itself more to the transient feel. For example I requested a blanket and had to actually sign a form saying I would return it or be charged $20.00. ... And there are definitely roaches. I got up at 6 am, turned on the bathroom light and a roach ran across the floor, and under our small bathroom suitcase. This led to me rousing my two teenagers with shrieking and us chasing a cockroach around the bathroom into the hallway where he escaped under the door where the ductwork was. My three calls to the '24 hour' front desk finally got someone who said they would send up maintenance to look at it at 9 am (who never showed; we waited until 10 am), and asking us if we had food out. Note that there is a full kitchen, so food in the room would be normal, and our food was closed up, put away, and definitely Not in the bathroom. Needless to say, we slept with all the lights on the rest of our stay. I suppose this is just the nature of the beast, and some would say FL in general, but in all the places we have stayed on numerous trips, we have Never seen a cockroach before. We did only see the one in the room, and my daughter saw one in the pool bathroom as well, and one was floating in the pool.

In conclusion, this place could be perfect. They have so much to offer, so many positives, ... but the negatives are hard to get over.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration to increase our guest satisfaction moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Comfortable, wonderful view of bay, and great price. Resort could take advantage of bay with water activities like paddle boats, waverunners, parasailing, etc. Also, a gameroom for kids would be great. A restaurant would be nice too.

Room Tip: Avoid fees & higher nightly cost. Book direct with resort.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank itsmyseason2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are actually looking into taking advantage of many activities you listed above. Working with the City and insurance has been holding us back a little, but we are making progress. We are also looking to add and food and beverage outlet before the year ends as well. Hopefully this will be completed by your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sailport. The facility was very clean and well maintained and the staff was very courteous. We would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Tampa Bay area especially those going to the Laser Spine Institute.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We love our Laser Spine guests and appreciate you taking the time to let others know how Sailport treats its guests. Keep spreading the good word and make sure to come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Sailport so I could have surgery at the Laser Spine Institute. The staff couldn't do enough to accommodate our needs and after the surgery took care of both my wife and myself. The room had a wonderful view of the bay and the hotel is located in a good area to reach either downtown Tampa or over to Clearwater.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pod2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

It is great to hear your stay was to your satisfaction. We go above and beyond for our guests so thank you for letting us know we did just that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sailport Inn. All the rooms have the view of the ocean. I loved sitting on the balcony in the morning, drinking my coffee while overlooking the ocean. We really liked that it had a separate room and very large closet for the bedroom. Also, it had a full kitchen with everything you would need to cook your meals. The grounds were beautifully landscaped. The pool was beautiful! They even had grills, tiki huts and a bonfire every night that you sit beside the water.The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you fish, they even have fishing poles that you can use and fish right kn the property! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for such a positive review. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience at Sailport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews