We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So much fun for a wedding”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was the perfect place for a wedding guests to stay if the wedding is in the area, particularly if it is at the Rusty Pelican directly across the street! You can relax at the pool or beach areas and have a family and friends volleyball game on the beach for extra fun. The staff here is extremely accommodating and helpful. Location is convenient to airport and several good restaurants. It feels like a home away from home instead of a hotel room and has beautiful views of the bay. Just remember to bring supplies for breakfast and snacks, etc. because there is not a restaurant on site. There is a limited cafeteria style eatery next door at the Wells Fargo building but they stop serving breakfast kind of early. The only suggestion I would have for the unit would be to install ceiling fans, particularly in the bedroom. Super value for the price!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us while you were here to attend a wedding and that were able to enjoy the amenities our hotel has to offer during your free time. We hope that you are able to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    536
    231
    94
    89
See reviews for
580
496
85
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

You never know how a hotel is by the reviews, but this one turned out to be great. Friendly staff, beautiful location, and convienient travel to other parts of Tampa. We even saw a porpoise swimming in the water from our balcony.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potcheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you decided to choose us and had a great stay. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at the Sailport last November and plan to stay again this coming November. I loved everything about this place. I was looking for an affordable place to stay that didn't feel like a sardine box and the Sailport was perfect..plenty of space, a kitchen, nice view, wonderful staff..we even saw dolphins in the bay early in morning. Plus you could hear the music from Wisky Joes at night on the balcony
I like that the Sailport was kind of out of the way and secure, they give you a pass to put in your window of your car and security checks it when you drive through the entrance

Room Tip: It looks to me like any of the rooms would have a good view of the bay, but we saw the dolphin from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We really appreciate the great review. We can't wait to welcome back this November. We are glad to hear how much you enjoy Sailport and want to thank you for your continued business and also a to thank you for the kind words that you have shared!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

All staff encountered at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. Rooms and property were clean. We liked that it was near the Tampa airport, some great restaurants and beaches. Beautiful views of Tampa Bay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seethebeachnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for you wonderful review. We appreciate you business and hope to see you again as a return guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our second visit to Sailport. We enjoyed the view and the hospitality of the staff. They remembered my Family from September 2013 and as always we had a good time from the Manager Harry to the limo driver Mike and the other staff members service was Great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We are glad that you choose Sailport for your return trip and have made us you home away from home. We pride our selves on our customer service and are always happy to welcome back returning guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I would recommend to anyone my only issue is the beds were VERY uncomfortable and sofa sleeper was not in good shape could feel springs :/ . Everything else was perfect would love to come and stay again !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and rating. We apologize for your discomfort during your stay and will get with our maintenance department to look into that situation. We do hope that you come back and stay with us again. We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is pretty big. Security is a joke... We just drive right by. The check in was hard to find. It's on the 2nd floor. Staff was super nice! The suites are a bit dated but they are huge! Big, full kitchen and nice, big balconies. The resort has a small beach that is on the bay and also has an outdoor exercise area. Not much within walking distance. There is a restaurant called The Rusty Pelican across the street and a Bahama Breeze down the road. It's about 30 minutes from Clearwater beach. We stayed there for a wedding across the street... It served its purpose!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VacationKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered upon arrival, but we are glad to know that our staff was able to assist you. We are glad to hear that you did however enjoy your stay and the proximity to the wedding. We do hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#71 of 162 in Tampa
1,431 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa
Sailport Waterfront Suites Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing