We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great, seems to over-book sometimes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Westshore
Ranked #61 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel was good, but not great. It is very close to the Tampa airport and Yankees spring training, but not close to any beaches. Which we knew going in, so again, location was good for our purposes. Our room was clean, and seemed fairly recently renovated. Beds were comfortable. Pool area was nice. Some confusion as we were originally told there was no food service to the pool area, but then later told we could be served. Breakfast buffet was good, but did not come with the room. Hotel staff was nice, and there is a shuttle you can use for the airport, or to go out within a 2 mile radius.

Would have given 4 stars, except they oversold the hotel the first night of our stay and originally said they did not have 2 of the 4 rooms we reserved. It was worked out ok, although we did not get our room preferences (King bed vs 2 double beds). I would be careful about things like this if you book here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingAuntA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

my club sports team is currently staying here and this is the worst staff at any marriott I have ever stayed at. Supposedly they over booked by 30 rooms and was suppose to offer guests to switch to another hotel, fee breakfst etc. They did nothing. They put 4 people in a room with a king size and sometimes offered cots. Then they c omplained to the guests as if we had a problem. This was s stay to play so we were required to stay there. They knew that and took advantage of us.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LezaMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Every single Marriott staff member that I had any interaction with was incredible! They should win a customer service award. Especially, since the food is TERRIBLE (even the burger that I had from room service...dry bun, undercooked meat...). And, housekeeping was mediocre....not cleaning out my soap dish daily nor brushing off my bed prior to making it up. Traffic is awful in this area, but that is not the hotels fault. But., the hotel needs updated.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The staff at the hotel was the highlight of the trip. They greeted me everytime I came in or left the hotel. Very attentive to my needs.

I would stay here again, even with the slow elevators.

Pro:
Very nice indoor/outdoor pool. The pool was heated and warm. The hot tub was unavailable.
Free shuttles. The hotel will drop off and pick up within about 3 miles. This includes airport, shopping, restaurants, etc.
Close to restaurants/shopping - Within walking distance to 2 malls with restaurants.
Room - the beds were very comfy. I was able to get a mini fridge in the room.


Cons:
Elevators were slow as others have noted. On my last day, only 1 elevator was functional. During the morning rush, I waited 5 minutes for the elevator
Water temp in the rooms can be iffy - The first evening, I was not able to get hot water. The first morning, I let the shower run for about 5 minutes until warm water started running. Another guest had a similar problem. I did not report this to the front desk because the water quickly warmed up the following days.
Small bathroom. It was OK for one person, but 2 people could not be in the bathroom using the mirror at once.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and refridgerator in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeinieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Besides the slow elevators, the stay was good. The beds are extremely comfortable. The rooms are quiet. I recommend some more attention to the elevators. They are really slow. Plus one of them skipped my floor every time. The indoor/outdoor pool is beautiful. The pool attendants handed out bottles of water. The fitness room was good with 3 treadmills, 2 elliptical machines and 2 bikes plus weights. They have a coffee snack center plus a restaurant. We visited the concierge lounge which was well worth it on e 14 floor.. The only negative was a few burned out lights in the room, one in bathroom and other bed light. Maintenance responded quickly. The carpet should have been vacuumed better.

Room Tip: I recommend the poolside unless you want to look down at the strip club across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLSUNNY1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here for a quick stay after a late arrival to TPA befor departing for Sarasota. The hotel seemed a bit dated compared to other Marriott properties. The elevators were slow ( not just waiting for one) but thu actually moved slowly between floors and it seemed to hang before the doors would open. The room was on the smaller size and the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. Way smaller than NYC hotels. The door barely cleared the toilet. There was no way more than one person could be in there at the same time. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The breakfast buffet in the breakfast was typical Marriott. Nothing special but nothing negative either. Check in was friendly and fast. No complaints. It was a short drive from the airport and very convenient since the Marriott at the airport was full. We had a car so I dont know what the shuttle situation is like. It it was very easy to find using gps on my iPhone.

I would probably try another property next time just because nothing grabbed me to make me want to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hangdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel was spacious, but that is all. It is a converted Embassy Suites. There was plenty of room without any of the amenities. There was no Breakfast. Most hotels at least have coffee. There was none to be had here. Just those crappy hotel room coffee pots. The pool was no big deal. A hot tub would have been relaxing. It was just okay. The bathroom was small. The shower did not really work, water was still pouring from the spigot when you turned on the shower. It took forever to get a clean towel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beyonce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
2.8 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#48 of 164 in Tampa
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Westshore

Address: 1001 N West Shore Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
#45 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £114 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tampa Marriott Westshore is located in the heart of the Tampa Westshore business district, near top shopping, night life and restaurants all within walking distance. At your airport hotel in Tampa, Florida, convenience is yours as you're just minutes away from area beaches, Raymond James Stadium, International Plaza Mall, Westshore Plaza Mall, Tampa International Airport, and New York Yankees Spring Training at George Steinbrenner Field. Start your day with your favorite specialty coffee beverage at our Starbucks coffee bar in lobby. All of our hotel's newly renovated guest rooms are equipped to meet your every need with 2-line cordless telephones, personal voicemail, high speed internet access, and 32-inch LCD HDTV flat screen televisions with connectivity panel to provide guests with enhanced video and audio. Tampa Marriott Westshore sets the standard for hotels in Tampa, with an indoor/outdoor pool, Blue Bistro, over 13,000 square feet of meeting and event space on-site, all with renowned Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tampa Marriott Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Marriott Westshore Hotel Tampa
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Westshore Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing