We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Tampa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island while celebrating our anniversary. We really like to travel so we are always staying in hotels and we both agree that the staff at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island is the best we've ever seen.

We arrived late in the evening and met Mike at the Front Desk. He noticed that we were celebrating our anniversary and informed us that we had been upgraded to a premium room on the top floor. We couldn't have been happier.

Upon arriving to our room we noticed a hand written letter and a bottle of champagne from Adrianna, Angela, and Winnelle. We couldn't believe it. They each took the time to write individual messages to us congratulating us and welcoming us to the hotel. What an incredible gesture and incredible service.

The next morning we went down to breakfast but stopped by the front desk first. Angela and Claudio were working at the time and took the time to talk to us and learn our story. The Rooms Director, Rafael, even came out to congratulate us and talk to us. We couldn't believe how friendly everyone was.

We ate breakfast at 725 South, the hotel restaurant. We received amazing service from a women named Suru (Not sure on the spelling). She was the nicest waitress we've ever experienced. We opted for the breakfast buffet and the food was absolutely delicious. We will definitely eat there again.

That evening before we went out on the town we stopped by the hotel bar. If you stay at this hotel it is absolutely essential to grab a drink here and talk to the bartenders Craig, Rosa, and Eric.

After we left the bar we walked to the front drive and spoke to the valet team about what we should do that night. Patrick, Kyle, Rob, and Chris were working that night and they all suggested for us to go to the Hyde Park area for a night on the town. Rob even offered to drive us over there in the free hotel shuttle. Amazing.

To sum everything up, the staff at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island is the most professional and friendly staff you will ever encounter. The hotel is elegant and the rooms and hallways spotless. We highly suggest asking for a room facing the city. The view on this side is breathtaking. We thank everyone for making our anniversary so special. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city (odd numbers) - incredible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Cou N!
It is wonderful to know that you find our hotel to be a great location for your weekend get away and that you enjoyed all that we have to offer in the area. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tampa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

If I were to stay again I would stay at the Westin Tampa Bay over in Clearwater. It has much better amenities. The restaurant at the Westin Harbour Island has very limited service and there is no pool bar (only open on weekends). I'm from Boston so I wanted to do some work outside and there is no wifi. Deal breaker for me. Rooms are very large and the hotel seems quiet, but not the place for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

I would like to aolpogize for not providing you with the experience we had hoped to have provided. Our entire staff is available at anytime for any of your needs. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything else we may do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

It was a really busy weekend. We arrived and they couldn't find our reservation. We wait for a while, but they solved the problem. The conditions of the bathroom was terrible for the price we paid. Over all was good.


Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Greetings Ana V!
We are happy to hear that your stay back in January was good! Thank you for letting us know about the expectations that we did not meet and exceed so that we may improve upon these services.
Come back and visit us again if you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a great hotel. It exceeded all expectations. Mitch was excellent and went over and above to assure we had a great stay. The location was great as well as the breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. We will surely be staying here againg. The waterfront dining was truely great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Ben H!
Our staff is pleased to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations!
We hope to have you as our guests again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have stayed here now twice in the last month. I love the fact that it's close to all of my banking clients but I can come back after a day in the offices and run the bridge and around the island.
Tampa Bay Lightning play all of 5 minutes from the hotel. Super easy walk and there are always tickets. 10th floor has updated rooms. Valet parking is $20. Self Park is $17.

Overall the hotel is a mid-grade Westin. It indeed could use some updating. It's location though is the reason to stay here for work or play.

Room Tip: 1021 is a good room in my estimation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LostEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island TheDMC!
It is wonderful to know that you find our hotel to be a great location for business and for pleasure!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tampa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Pleasant staff easy check in. Room had a great view. $17.95 a day to self park and 12.95 for Internet about standard. Had trouble connecting to Internet transferred to tech support. when checking out they tried to charge $2.00 for a long distance call that I questioned. Apparently for the call to tech support that they removed. Shower had mildew growing and Tv remote decided to quit working. All in all I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylittletess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Greetings mylittletess!
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your most recent stay. Without feedback from guests we cannot improve upon the service we provide. Your experience is being shared with our team for review.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The place is beautiful, and I was upgraded to a brand new suite too. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and modern and the room service was delicious, albeit a bit over priced, but hey it's a hotel right? I got a great rate for being an SPG member and I would return in a heartbeat...except for one thing. I bought a new car, drove from the dealer to this hotel, get my car back the next morning and bam a scuff on the rear quester panel. Clearly the valet parking at $20 bucks per day would take better care of your vehicle. Hopefully it buffs out,the hotel is great, the valet...not so much.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank cubanito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island cubanito!
It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us! We apologize and would be happy to speak with you about the incident with your vehicle at your earliest convenience.
We hope you and your family come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
450 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,470 reviews
Westin Tampa Bay
#48 of 163 in Tampa
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tampa Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tampa Waterside

Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Westin Tampa Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £105 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Tampa Waterside 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Waterside is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Tampa Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin
The Westin Tampa Waterside Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing