We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Restful and Relaxing Property in a Convenient Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“A Very Restful and Relaxing Property in a Convenient Location!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Dates of Stay: Wednesday 2/16/11 - Sunday, 2/20/11
Total Nights: 4

In a nutshell, a very relaxing and restful property in a truly convenient location -- great for a stay before/after a flight or just to get away from it all!

Now, for my detailed review:

My wife and I spent several nights here in mid-February as she needed a quiet and relaxing property to get away from it all and prepare for the Florida Bar Exam; this property proved to be the perfect place for her to study. The rooms seemed extremely quiet, the large desk provided ample study space, and the free high speed internet made it possible to study and work with ease.

Upon check-in, we were greeted by name at the Front Desk and the Front Desk Agent even specifically wished my wife best of luck studying and promised her a very quiet room to study. It is always nice to see such personalized service and prompt attention to the comments manually typed into the online reservation form. Check-in went very smoothly, and, as we had never actually stayed at a Hyatt Place property before as we normally prefer Grand Hyatt or Hyatt Regency, the Front Desk Agent took her time to show us around and explain the Hyatt Place Amenities to us. All-in-all, a very pleasurable check-in experience.

Upon reaching our room, we were very happy to find that we truly did have a perfectly quiet room -- we had been placed in a room on the top floor, at the very end of the hall ... far away from the elevators and any noise. This provided my wife with some perfect peace and quiet to study -- I will admit, the proximity to the airport does allow for some noise from airplanes, but we did not notice it much or even find it to be bothersome. It comes with the territory at any airport property, but from the many airport properties that I have stayed in, the noise was not bad at all.

The room itself was rather large, and, from what I gather, is rather common for Hyatt Place properties. The room is divided into two basic sections, with a small privacy wall between the living area and the bedroom. The living area contains an extremely comfortable sofa and ottoman (dubbed "The Cozy Corner" by Hyatt, a name that is truly fitting!), a large work/computer desk, a small wet-bar with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, and a very nice large 42" flat-screen HDTV that could be angled to face either the living area or the bedroom. One very nice feature about the television is the fact that it has the Hyatt "Plug Panel" which allows for one to plug in any number of media options, such as ones laptop, a DVD player or a game system. This is a very nice feature, as many other hotel brands these days have plugs that are impossible to access -- but, Hyatt Place puts all the plugs right out in the open! The bedroom was also very nicely appointed, with an extremely comfortable king sized bed. Just ahead of the bedroom was the bathroom, with a decent sized closet, very new looking vanity area and then a separate room for the toilet and the bath/shower. The bathroom included the standard Hyatt Portico Bath Amenities and the vanity allowed for plenty of room for personal items. All-in-all, a perfect room at a perfect price!

As for the food options, it was typical Hyatt Place fare. There was a nicely arranged continental breakfast for free each morning, with hot menu options also available for purchase -- the cinnamon french toast was quite tasty! They also brew Starbucks coffee throughout the day, and they have a very well filled "Grab-and-Go" case with numerous options -- the cookies and brownies were VERY good! For lunch and dinner, there is an equally well styled menu of options available for quick and easy order and purchase via a touch screen computer system. In addition to the food options on property, this hotel is within a very quick drive to many area restaurants, so one will never go hungry staying here.

One must also note that in an age where many hotels brands are ending free airport shuttle service, this property offers such a service, and it appears to be very quick and efficient.

Finally, although we did not have time to use the pool, this property does offer a very nice looking pool which would be perfect for one to cool down on a hot Florida day!

All-in-all, this is a wonderful Hyatt Place property, in a perfect location that offers rooms for perfect rates. I would highly recommend this property for anyone needing a place to stay near the Tampa Airport, or for just a quick trip to get away from it all!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AttorneyVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Myself and the staff cannot thank you enough for such a detailed review of our property. We think it is important to "listen" to our guests and getting you that room away from all possible noise was certainly our top priority (knowing she had such a big exam upcoming). We are so happy this worked out so well. We are glad you enjoyed our special cookies and brownies we make each day and hope you will get to try the pool if you visit us again. We hope to see you soon and value your Hyatt Gold Passport membership and your business!! Thank you again for your time with this response and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    299
    108
    41
    21
See reviews for
257
220
62
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Palatka, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2011

My Wife and I stayed at this hotel a couple of nights in mid March. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were nice and spacious. The free internet worked great and the TV in the room was very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The free breakfast buffet needs a little work on the quality of the food, but it was free.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Thank you! We upgraded our internet service over the past few months to make it even faster and we are so happy you enjoyed it. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience. Hyatt Place is rolling out a new complimentary breakfast concept this summer and we hope you will enjoy the upcoming changes. We have already added hot oatmeal with raisins and cinnamon with a rotation of sausage gravy with biscuits (every other day). These changes and more are our commitment to a great hotel experience for all of our guests and we thank you so much for this review. My staff and I hope to see you and your wife again the next time you visit Tampa! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Great hotel - friendly service

Positives:
Hotel was clean
Conveniently located near airport and not too far from Downtown Tampa
Comfortable beds
Very friendly staff - excellent customer service skills
Free Internet
Free parking
Free continental breakfast
Fair (Good) priced Room service.

Negatives:
None

This is Great hotel for the price - don't be fooled by the 3.5 Star rating - its better than that.

5 Stars from us :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HabsFanNFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Thank you to our friends from Canada!!! Wow! 5 Stars! Thank you for this great review and especially for notating our great staff. We talk all the time in our daily meetings about you (our guest) and how you are our boss. We work for you! If you are not happy, we are not happy! Thank you again for these great comments and it would be our pleasure to see you again when you come down to Florida and Tampa. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two days following our Caribbean cruise. The room was very clean and spacious with small kitchenette and large-screen TV. The beds were soo comfortable. The continental breakfast included a varied menu for all appetites (they even serve Starbucks coffee!). We did not have a car so we used the shuttle bus to and fro the shopping malls (service was quick and efficient). Hotel is also very conveniently located near airport. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missferrari19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
We hope the cruise was fun and thank you for sharing part of your getaway or vacation with us! Thank you for these comments. We are so excited that you enjoyed the "clean room, comfortable bed and complimentary shuttle". With all the luggage and natural stress of traveling (especially for a cruise), we try to eliminate as much of this stress for you as possible. We find the complimentery shuttle to be a great way to eliminate one of those "worries" and also help save on any type of rental car expense. The Hyatt Grand Bed is certainly one of our signature amenities and we are glad you enjoyed our new beds. We hope we will have the honor of hosting you again on your next visit to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foothill Ranch, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The hotel was full so I got the room with the murphy bed. It was OK, but worn (corner was torn). I've stayed here many times and generally very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Thank you for your review! All of our rooms are set up the same way, except for our Handicap Accessible rooms which still have a King Size bed but it is positioned lower to the ground (for convenience of entry). I believe this is the room you are calling a Murphy bed room. We have a lot of guests who like this room (bigger bathroom, walk in shower) but also those who prefer the standard accommodations. We certainly understand and will ensure we don't give you this type of room again. We just want you back! Thank you for these comments and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We are flying out tomorrow from Tampa and just needed a place to spend the night close to the airport. Beautiful, spacious, well appointed room; so comfortable. I can work on the computer while the wife sorts our belongings while a greagt HD TV plays. There's a sitting room and clean bathroom. We aren't going out for anything, its just too great in here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
What a great compliment and thank you! We are so happy you liked the Hyatt Place room set up and the 42 inch HD Plasma TV! Sometimes we think the HD TV is TOO big (ha!) but we are so glad you liked it and we thank you for these kind remarks regarding our hotel room and amenities. Our goal is for you to be "wowed" by our rooms and we are so happy to have succeeded! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I booked a room at this hotel through Hotwire and got a fantastic deal, half what my colleague paid through his travel agent, but even if I'd paid full price, I would've given this hotel the same rating. The staff was always smiling and helpful, and the rooms were large and comfy. I was just across from the elevators and even so, my room was quiet. This hotel is great for business travelers, and a short 5 minute shuttle ride to the airport. Speaking of shuttle, it's free, and free to anywhere within a 3 mile radius, so they'll drop you off for dinner, and then pick you up, 24 hours a day. Cant beat that!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjug685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Thank you! No matter what you pay, you are a VIP to us and we appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write this review. Myself and the staff are glad you enjoyed the convenient free shuttle and thank you for the kind comments about your clean and comfortable room. It is rare for an airport hotel to be "quiet" but we do get that compliment a lot and we don't take it for granted! Thank you! Please visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Property: Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Address: 4811 W Main St, Tampa, FL 33607-4501
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Family Hotel in Tampa
#49 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa is an all suite property conveniently located in Westshore business district. We offer complimentary hot a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast each morning, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary parking and shuttle service within 3 miles; which includes Tampa International Airport, and numerous shopping and dining options. Our spacious suites include a mini fridge, 42" flat screen T.V., with a cozy corner living area with sleeper sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing