We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“horrible”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We've been to other Hyatt Place hotels and for sure this one is the worst ever. Although it has a lobby and rooms looking like the same as the others in photos the bathtub faucets are kind of falling down and the overall impression is of dirty and oldness.Dust everywhere and we leave the hotel next morning though we have reservations for two days.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank M Elvira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    295
    108
    39
    21
See reviews for
250
210
59
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I just finished my fourth stay in about 12 months at this property and again was as pleased as my first stay. I wrote a glowing review of the place then, rating them high in all categories.
This time staff came through when I needed them. The day I was to drive to Tampa, after staying several days at the beach, Danny helped me recover from a booking error. Over the phone he corrected our reservation, and we were able to arrive that afternoon.
We used the complimentary shuttle that night to go to a restaurant, enjoyed our comfortable room to catch up on some TV and used the compact workout facilities--just what we needed to relax. One of my favorite touches this hotel offers is complimentary chilled bottles of water on the shuttle ride from the airport. The staff here care and it shows. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

great cheap place to stay very nice accomadations very nice staff overall great place

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank georgemavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We travel to Tampa twice a year as my partners family lives here. We normally stay in the Brandon area with Hilton or Marriott brand hotels. However in a effort to save money we tried Hyatt Place where we got a good deal on Hotwire. First off I'm not a person that will comment on every little detail but instead I try to look at the overall picture. Overall the hotel was fine for what we paid, however if I had paid full price I wouldn't have been very happy. First off the Westshore area is nice and convenient to two malls tons of restaurants, etc. The hotel itself was nice no major issues that staff was very pleasant and professional always acknowledging us. Breakfast typical continental other hot option available for purchase but you could have done better at IHop or Denny's. Rooms was a mini suite with a fridge no microwave, sectional sofa with pullout bed a nice flat screen TV. The tub in the bathroom is a danger zone it was soft, squishy and slippery if you can imagine, not sure what was going on with that. Mat provided but you still needed to be really careful. Pool area small but nice and clean, needed towels one night after the pool they came right up! Overall nothing really bad but nothing that stood out, I understand this is an renovated property so may be slightly different from other Hyatt properties.

Room Tip: Double beds not queen's
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MzNikki130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My family of 7 stayed at the Hyatt Place Westshore for 1 night with a 'Park & Cruise" package. We had 2 rooms with 2 adults and 1 child in one room and 2 adults and 2 children in the other. We got king size beds and sleeper sofas. The rooms were clean and comfortable. One complaint is that this is the first hotel I have stayed in for many years that did not have a microwave in the room. It did have a mini fridge and a coffee maker. The hotel offers a continental breakfast that was basic at best but, it was enough. Seating for the breakfast is pretty much the lobby or you can take it back to your room. The only restaurant within walking distance is 'Ruth Chris' so, we ordered in pizza for dinner. There is a shopping mall and other restaurants a short drive from the hotel. We were allowed to leave our car parked during our cruise and we were supposed to have shuttle service to and from the cruise port. We were on the first shuttle of the day going to the port and the driver was very nice and personable. We were handed a business card with a telephone number highlighted to call when we got off ship so our return shuttle could be dispatched. Upon leaving the ship I called this number 3 times and never even got an answer (I let it ring about 10-12 times with each call). We would up having to get a taxi back to the hotel. I went inside on our return and told the front desk what happened. Their response was "Really?". That was it. I did email Hyatt and was issued a credit to my charge card for the cost of the return taxi. I would recommend the hotel but not count on the return shuttle service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smileycruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I always love going to Hyatt Place hotels and this time it was no different. Although our stay was great it was kind of annoying that the a/c made a lot of noise and sometimes it didn't work properly. And that in the middle of summer, haha! The beds were also a bit smaller than the other Hyatt Place hotels we've visited. Sofabed was really uncomfy, but that's what we expected from Hyatt Place. But the stay overall was amazing, visiting Tampa was great! Oh and also, I love how friendly and enthusiastic the staff was!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miineko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Dates of Stay: Wednesday 6/29/11 - Thursday, 6/30/11
Total Nights: 1

In a nutshell, this is a wonderfully located Hyatt Place with stellar customer service and is the perfect place to stay after a long day at work!!

Now, for my detailed review:

First, I need to preface this review by stating that it builds upon my detailed prior review of this property. I have posted one prior review of this property, and the service continues to exceed my expectations! Please see that prior review for further information on this property:

“A Very Restful and Relaxing Property in a Convenient Location!!” - April 7, 2011

As for this stay, it was a last-minute booking, as my wife -- who works at a law firm within 5-minutes of this property -- had to work late one night, so I got us both a room so she would be able to work late and avoid the resulting late-night commute. As usual, check-in was extremely quick and efficient, with the Front Desk Agent greeting me by name, welcoming me back to the property, and thanking me for being a loyal Diamond Tier Hyatt Gold Passport Member. The agent promptly checked me in, informed me that I had a wonderful and quiet corner room on the top floor, and I was to my room within a matter of minute. As is customary at Hyatt Place properties, she offered me a tour of the property amenities -- i.e. the food options, the breakfast area, etc. However, as I was very familiar with such items, I declined. But, it is very nice to know that Hyatt Place exhibits such wonderful customer service to all guests.

Our room was the typical and wonderful Hyatt Place model, with the extremely comfortable "Cozy Corner" sofa sitting area and then a slightly partitioned off sleeping area. The room was equipped with a small refrigerator, a wet bar and a coffee maker, which is definitely crucial after a long day at work as an attorney. The large HD television that swivels to allow viewing from both the "Cozy Corner" and the bedroom area is a wonderful touch which allows one to truly relax after a long day. Oh, and I cannot even begin to tell you how wonderfully comfortable to "Cozy Corner" couches area -- personally, I think this is something that should be available in all hotels, as it truly is the perfect place to just kick-back and relax after a long day. The "Cozy Corner" truly makes Hyatt Place a unique and wonderful brand that should not be missed.

As is usual at this property, the customer service was truly top-notch, and I did not experience any problems of any kind. You will not be disappointed by the service at this property!

All-in-all, this remains a truly wonderful property with stellar service, allowing for a quick stay after a long day at work, or a perfect place to stay before or after a flight arrival at the nearby Tampa International Airport -- to which a free shuttle is provided. Do not miss this property the next time you need a place to stay near the Tampa Airport or the local Tampa Shopping Malls!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AttorneyVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Property: Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Address: 4811 W Main St, Tampa, FL 33607-4501
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Family Hotel in Tampa
#49 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa is an all suite property conveniently located in Westshore business district. We offer complimentary hot a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast each morning, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary parking and shuttle service within 3 miles; which includes Tampa International Airport, and numerous shopping and dining options. Our spacious suites include a mini fridge, 42" flat screen T.V., with a cozy corner living area with sleeper sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing