We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay at a Usually Great Chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Ranked #20 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I have stayed at several Hyatt Place hotels throughout the US and was very disappointed with this property. The pluses for this hotel is its location to the airport, proximitiy to many different restaurants, free parking, and the signature free breakfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the facilities were not up to snuff. First of all the air conditioning unit was so loud was constantly going on and off all night. I tried to fiddle around with it but to no avail. Second, there was no outlet near the bed which made charging the phone a little tough. I did move the bed away from the wall to find an outlet. Third, the couch in the "living area" was DISGUSTING. The cushions were worn out and stained, and the couch had a disgusting body odor smell. I could not even sit on it. Finally, the internet was incredibly slow and frustrating.
I am normally a big fan of Hyatt Place but this experience was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rengs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TampaGM, General Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hello and thank you for this review of our hotel. We have of course checked this room right away and will continue to monitor the issues with the PTAC unit. Our A/C units are set up to cycle when the room becomes warm and then cycle off when the room becomes to the desired temperature. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you ever have any issues like this; as we will act immeditely to remedy any situations that may arise. I agree that the bed area is lacking in outlets and have passed this on to the Hyatt Corporate offices. We do have the plug and play panel with multiple outlets by the TV, living room, bathroom, wet bar area, etc. for your convenience. We will work harder than ever to maintain on normally high scores with our guests and I apologize for any inconvenience on this last stay with us. Thank you for choosing us and again, we will improve for you; our valued guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

Perfectly clean, and Hyatt's beds are super comfy. The breakfast was good, as always at Hyatt. The staff was friendly and attentive. Rooms are spacious. Wifi is fast. Really, just all good! If you need a place to stay convenient to the Tampa airport, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leylacheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

this a centraly located hotel in tampa. near everything in the area. is in a safe area near airport. you do hear some airport noise from time to time. it was fine. has a nice pool area but no hot tub. everyone was so helpful there. they have a morning breakfeast free egg muffin sandwichs,fruits yougarts,cereals,juices,coffee and breads. dont compare it to a restaurant. its decent food and your not paying to eat out all the time. the beds were comfortable. spacious rooms clean. could use a microwave and a few more tv channels. place is clean and delightful. theres reastaurants close by. clearwater beaches like 15miles away. its mainly a buisness hotel with tourists and on weekends the cruisers stay there with the free shuttle save you some $$ and you dont have to worry about getting places. i got a great rate on HW was well worth it. would stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank armydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Booked via PL for 50$.

I love Hyatt Place...and this one is no exception The rooms are large, with separate living room and bedroom area, big LCD TV, large bathrooms, fridge, and free wifi. The gym was smaller but well equipped with functional equipment, a good sized pool for swimming laps, and a great free breakfast with egg and ham sandwiches, waffles, and all the usual trimmings, all in a restaurant like setting. Order a pizza which was a bit disappointing (but the food available at the bar is basically ready made frozen and cooked in IR oven) and a bit pricey. Free parking and easy access to the rest of town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were impressed with this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights before heading off on a cruise.

First of all, shuttle service:

Free shuttle service from the airport was very convenient, and we didn't have to wait too long before being picked up.
We used the free shuttle multiple times during our stay, and the drivers were great, and again, service was fairly quick.
We paid $40 for hotel shuttle service to and from the port of Tampa as it's a ways outside the 3 mile radius that they service for free. Service on our way down to the port was smooth. After our cruise, service wasn't as good (perhaps because we were no longer staying at the hotel?? - however, we had still paid for this shuttle service). When I called the front desk to be picked up from the port, they seemed confused, and at first, told me they don't service that area. Had to be put on hold while they sorted this out, and realized, yes, they do pick people up here (ya think??) Then the shuttle was very crowded on the way back from the port, and our luggage was absolutely crammed into the back because we were carrying too many people. We also did several stops/detours even though we had a plane to catch, which was frustrating. They should be more prepared, and have multiple shuttles running on days with cruise ships arrivals/departures.

Hotel itself:

Front desk staff was very friendly, and always made us feel at home. They were very helpful, although I would recommend they get proper maps of the hotel area (they didn't have any!) Concierge service could definitely be improved to match the rest of the front desk service levels. They were also not as familiar as they could be with bus routes (they brought us to the wrong bus stop and we had to wait there a while before the next bus driver told us the proper stop to wait at). Again, very helpful, but concierge services leave something to be desired.
The room was very nice: spacious, with a separate sitting area, a nice TV, mini-fridge. The bed and washroom were clean and modern. We definitely enjoyed the room.
The free breakfast each morning is a great deal; they had a fair amount of options, not just a limited continental breakfast, but some hot food options as well.
The location of the hotel is ok, but if you want to explore Tampa, it's better to stay closer to downtown. The Hyatt is close to a few shopping malls, but not much else, it's a good 15 minute drive away from the ports & the heart of the city. Walking at night in this area didn't make us feel 100% safe, as there weren't a lot of pedestrians around, or people at all.
Overall, a really good hotel, especially for the money. Would definitely stay here again, unless we wanted to explore the actual city of Tampa more, in which case we would stay downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeeGeeE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with my 7 months old baby. The hotel is very clean, staff are very accommodating. The free breakfast is a good selection. They even accommodate all my online shopping in receiving the package. Perfect location in tampa. Very near at the mall. A very pleasant and excellent choice in staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltenpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I have stayed in Hyatt Place's in a number of spots and I am always taken by the sameness of one to another. In this case, that is a very good thing because the property is always well run and has the amenties which I like for the price.
HP in Tampa is convenient to the airport and the facility is clean and inviting. The staff can't be anymore helpful and the complimentary items are quite good. Breakfast, the newspaper, the shuttle and the workout room are just fine and eliminate some of the travel hassles. The rooms are very large and very clean. Even though this property has been here for a while, it shows no signs of aging.
Stay there and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: It is not far from the airport but noise was not a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.9 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
1.7 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Address: 4811 W Main St, Tampa, FL 33607-4501
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Family Hotel in Tampa
#49 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £89 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa is an all suite property conveniently located in Westshore business district. We offer complimentary hot a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast each morning, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary parking and shuttle service within 3 miles; which includes Tampa International Airport, and numerous shopping and dining options. Our spacious suites include a mini fridge, 42" flat screen T.V., with a cozy corner living area with sleeper sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing