We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I travel to Tampa frequently on business. While I'd prefer to stay at one of the hotels in the Harbourview area, I've never found a satisfactory one (the Marriott is fine, but is difficult to book on short notice). On the past few trips, I've stayed at the Intercontinental. I'm not a fan of its location -- not a walkable neighborhood, and the views are disappointing -- but it's easily accessible to/from the airport. More important, it is the best of the Tampa hotels I've encountered thus far. The rooms are clean and well-furnished, breakfast and room service are decent, the staff is helpful, and the coffee is outstanding (they sell Illly in the lobby and restaurant).

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the elevators and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    517
    252
    94
    78
See reviews for
260
440
111
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
337 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is exemplary, very clean, and excellent condition, plus in a great location. The check-in service could have been more friendlier but beyond that, we had a great time in our two-night stay there. The bar was great/fun and the best part was Shula's Steakhouse. The food was 5-star quality as was the service! We look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a business hotel, apparently, but our stay was during the Memorial Day weekend.
The service was excellent, the front desk more than accommodating and pleasant, and the help was very friendly.
The maids seemed to be a bit slow in cleaning the room, but we should have been out and about in the afternoon.
Don Shula's Steakhouse is located on the first floor; there is a mall directly across the street and the Tampa International Airport is about 5 minutes away.
Tastefully designed, the only minor complaint is that the air conditioning seemed not to cool off enough for me.

Room Tip: Book through Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrails555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Room was very clean, roomy, with upscale furnishings
and luxury bedding. The hotel restaurant is too pricey for us but we found many great choices in
nearby malls where we shopped. Very close proximity to huge mall. I would mention two drawbacks
for this location. Heavy traffic, pattern is one-way and took several times around hotel to figure out entrance and parking. Valet parking is $18 but self parking is available in garage which has very low clearance and tight spaces. Only small vehicles should park here. A few spaces are available outside
the garage for large vehicles. Staff was pleasant. Maid failed to replenish coffee supplies on second day but when we called house keeping it was quickly taken care of. No free breakfast here. Does have In-room fridge and well stocked, expensive mini bar.

Room Tip: We used booking site and got a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel was not like any other intercontinental that I have stayed at before. The sheets had holes in them, a piece of the chair was broken off, and it smelt like cigarette smoke. It is in an office building in an area with nothing really to do.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

InterContinental Tampa was a surprisingly good value, and nice place to stay. In a portfolio of inclusions that should be a part of most urban luxury hotel experiences, at the InterContinental Tampa, parking is free and in room internet is free. The recent renovation of this hotel was nicely done, with a vaguely nautical, island/Balinese theme, rich in blues and neutral, natural materials.

The hotel has a unique position as the middle tower in a three tower complex connected by twin atriums--most guest rooms have interior views then, and can be a bit dark. Rooms are standard size and freshly renovated--with high beds, dark blue accent walls, and new furniture, down to flat screen TVs. Bathrooms have been renovated as well, though the features are standard combined tubs/showers--with anemic water pressure.

The fitness center is small, lots of cardio but few weight machines. The pool on the 9th floor features rooftop views of Tampa Bay and the surrounding Westshore neighborhood.

Two substantial shopping malls and the TPA airport are close at hand, and the downtown and Ybor City neighborhoods are about 10 minutes away by car. Tampa is spread out, and most travelers would want to use a car if they stay at the InterContinental.

For a hotel of this stature, the rates are surprisingly low. Standard rates for the night I stayed were $99; an online promotion got me this room for $50. In either instance, the public areas and guest rooms feel like a hotel much more expensive--particularly when the free parking and internet are figured in.

Highly recommend this hotel, and would choose to stay here on a future trip, again.

PS--while identified as an InterContinental hotel, this hotel is owned and operated by Destination Hotels & Resorts.

Room Tip: If natural light is important, req. exterior rm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed for the holiday weekend and no complaints at all. Great place very clean rooms and nice pool. Will stay here again soon!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
4.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing