We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good for a Quick Weekend Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #35 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was a pre-planned weekend get-away w/a special weekend getaway rate. We were pleasantly surprised at the free parking. Check-in staff were friendly, professional, and courteous. The view from our upper floor, bayside room was spectacular. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of well-located outlets for our cellphones & laptops was an extra-nice added touch. We were glad for the included room safe - something I always look for and appreciate.

Concierge service is available, but we struck out on our own. We headed south across the Sunshine Skyway bridge for dinner on Anna Maria Island with a wonderful, sunset view of the Sunshine Skyway bridge itself. The night time view from our room upon return was beautiful looking across the bay.

The housekeeping service was immaculate, complete with turndown service & chocolates. In fact, housekeeping didn't mind our do not disturb sign the next morning, and just as unobtrusively took care of our room when we changed our sign to 'please service our room'.

The front desk staff were responsive, professional and followed up on questions. The hotel is centrally located just off of I-275 just across the bay from St. Petersburg and Clearwater, also fairly close to the airport, which surprised us as it was quiet. We breakfasted in Clearwater Beach, explored Ybor City and had dinner at Pane Rustica in town just down the street from our hotel. We highly recommend all of them. Getting around was a breeze. Our only disappointment was the rooftop pool: no shade, 1 umbrella & table always in use. A few more tables, chairs, umbrellas, a few palms and even a rooftop bar with shade would go a long ways to improving the space over the blinding white concrete there now.

The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms well laid out. Wifi signal was excellent, with plenty of routers to connect to. The hotel bar service was very good and bar staff friendly. There always seemed to be an interesting mix of people in the lobby lounges and we met several nice couples also there for the weekend. Close to Ybor City, Downtown, The Pier, St. Pete & Clearwater Beaches and everything that the Tampa Bay area has to offer, all in all a good choice for either professional or personal travel.

Room Tip: Lunch or Dinner at Pane Rustica, Ybor, or the Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zen_journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

I've stayed at this hotel before and loved it. However I've never stayed in the summer. As an ambassador member I was upgraded to a suite but shocked at the room temperature. The hotel has floor to ceiling windows causing the rooms to bake. I was shown 5 different rooms all of which were extremely hot. The A/C does blow cold air but it can't cool the room down. The hotel would not let me check out without incurring a one night penality. They did give me a $50 credit towards Shula's steakhouse, which was $8 more than the cheapest steak! Housekeeping brought a fan 4 hours after requesting. The bed's do not need comforters or even a top sheet because it is too hot! I checked out after one night and cancelled all future reservations. The bellhop and the maintenance man told me many customers complain about the hot rooms in the summer. Management is obviously aware but don't care. I should of known something was up because I only paid $104/night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fdipace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I travel to Tampa frequently on business. While I'd prefer to stay at one of the hotels in the Harbourview area, I've never found a satisfactory one (the Marriott is fine, but is difficult to book on short notice). On the past few trips, I've stayed at the Intercontinental. I'm not a fan of its location -- not a walkable neighborhood, and the views are disappointing -- but it's easily accessible to/from the airport. More important, it is the best of the Tampa hotels I've encountered thus far. The rooms are clean and well-furnished, breakfast and room service are decent, the staff is helpful, and the coffee is outstanding (they sell Illly in the lobby and restaurant).

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the elevators and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is exemplary, very clean, and excellent condition, plus in a great location. The check-in service could have been more friendlier but beyond that, we had a great time in our two-night stay there. The bar was great/fun and the best part was Shula's Steakhouse. The food was 5-star quality as was the service! We look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a business hotel, apparently, but our stay was during the Memorial Day weekend.
The service was excellent, the front desk more than accommodating and pleasant, and the help was very friendly.
The maids seemed to be a bit slow in cleaning the room, but we should have been out and about in the afternoon.
Don Shula's Steakhouse is located on the first floor; there is a mall directly across the street and the Tampa International Airport is about 5 minutes away.
Tastefully designed, the only minor complaint is that the air conditioning seemed not to cool off enough for me.

Room Tip: Book through Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytrails555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Room was very clean, roomy, with upscale furnishings
and luxury bedding. The hotel restaurant is too pricey for us but we found many great choices in
nearby malls where we shopped. Very close proximity to huge mall. I would mention two drawbacks
for this location. Heavy traffic, pattern is one-way and took several times around hotel to figure out entrance and parking. Valet parking is $18 but self parking is available in garage which has very low clearance and tight spaces. Only small vehicles should park here. A few spaces are available outside
the garage for large vehicles. Staff was pleasant. Maid failed to replenish coffee supplies on second day but when we called house keeping it was quickly taken care of. No free breakfast here. Does have In-room fridge and well stocked, expensive mini bar.

Room Tip: We used booking site and got a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel was not like any other intercontinental that I have stayed at before. The sheets had holes in them, a piece of the chair was broken off, and it smelt like cigarette smoke. It is in an office building in an area with nothing really to do.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#48 of 164 in Tampa
745 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £127 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing