We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms in an old box...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice rooms in an old box...”
Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

These rooms were nicely done and the staff was nice, but this is and always will be a 1980's glass box with an odd lobby and odd breakfast served at a connected steakhouse.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tally11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
tally11111,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.
Thank you again for your review.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    515
    252
    94
    78
See reviews for
260
440
111
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was just in Tampa briefly so chose to stay at the airport - or 5 mins away, and have my meetings meet me at the hotel.
It was great for this. I arrived early - round 10am, and although they did not have a room ready, they took my phone number and requested cleaners to let them know as soon as one was available.. I ate breakfast in the restaurant, delicious, great service, everything that's good about a hotel breakfast. And within 45 mins I got a call to say my room was ready.
Anyway, I just dropped my bag off and continued to the Lobby area where I had a meeting, it's light, airy, has a water feature noise close by, and was very comfortable as a meeting place.
This hotel is directly opposite a mall, it's pretty big and has most of the stores common to all malls, it seemed a little run down, but I ran over here near end of day and bought a swimsuit as the weather was beautiful and the idea of swimming on the rooftop pool was appealing.
The pool itself was a let down, it just needs to be redone, it's not particularly appealing and it should be to go with the rest of the hotel. They need to look at the Andaz pool in West Hollywood...
The rooms were really nice, great design, relaxing, really comfortable beds, great bathroom, spacious... Loved the blue tones.
Overall it was really nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Good hotel, not really in the most lively location. Mall across the street. Decent rooms, but no WOW! Business hotel. I'm a member of Intercontinental properties, not the best. Clean, nice, but just not much for the money.Stay in rear of hotel, front faces a noisey street.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are less noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildcatgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear wildcatgolf,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Clean , comfertable and nicely located hotel in Tampa. Advertised price is too high for the rooms. The rooms are not so large , maybe some are , but the heated outdoor pool and the fitness center are nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellotcities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

we booked through Expedia unpublished hotels, so we didn't have a lot of choice. But all we needed was a night at a hotel before flying home the following day.

In short, its fine, but nothing to write home about. The room was comfortable. The pool was quite pathetic (small, on a roof top and cold). Its a short walk to the mall for some dinner, but nothing special over there either. And the coffee shop in the lobby is one of the most expensive I have ever come across (2 coffees for over $8)!

The shuttle service to the airport was good and timely. But all other service at the hotel was average.

The room was mostly clean, but the grout in the bathroom was dingy and black. The rest of the hotel seemed relatively clean and respectable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Raeleanne,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
780 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Not as grand as some Intercontinental Hotels, but still very modern and nice. Connects to a business complex with a shopping mall across the street and the airport just 5 minutes away. Shula's Steakhouse is expensive but very good. A great place to stay the night before a morning flight out of Tampa.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We booked up the InterContinental Tampa as our past experience in other cities using the IC was very good. The hotel was close to the Yankee and Phillie Spring Training fields. We hasd a suite at the end of the hallway - Room 228. For 4 days we had to endure dragging our bags and ourselves through the daily flooding of room 224. At first, we didn't complain as we thought it was a minor problem and it seemed that the staff was working on it with fans and suction vacuum cleaners. It was barley passable during the day...but in the morning it was a flood. They kept the suction machines off during the night (thank God) so by morning the leak was massive. It was even coming out of the ceiling above the front lobby. I figured the leak would be fixed and controlled by day 2....nahhhhh. It seemed the staff was content in just sucking up the water. By day 3, we finally complained. You would think that they would of offered us a different room on day 1 when they KNEW we had to walk through the water park on the way to our room. But they didn't. On our last nite (3rd nite) they asked us to change but we were leaving the next afternoon and said no. We weren't offered an apology or anything. We are going to Tampa again in April and July to see the Yanks and we will not use this hotel anymore. Horrible

Room Tip: ASk for a room away from the leaks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
4.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing