We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #38 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

PROS: Great location, accross the street from a large mall, Panera and Starbucks.
Comfortable beds, lots of pillows.
Very good room cleaning (5th Floor)
Free self-parking
CONS: No free WiFi, not even in the lobby. The business center computers were slow and had
wornout keyboards. Printers are good, though.
Small pool with small towels.
Overall I was happy with the hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingPuck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    509
    250
    93
    78
See reviews for
255
434
110
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Waste of money.. 4 star rated but you get horrible service worst than 1star. William at front desk really rude.. black gentleman bold head with glasses works at night. dont ever go there.
I suppose to check in at 3pm but they didn't have the room ready until 11pm. waste of time and money... no customer service at all

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Naga S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Robert, Missouri
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here for almost a week for business. The staff was very professional and helpful, and the room was nicely appointed. The bed was comfortable and there was good shower pressure. The breakfast buffet was a little pricey but had very good quality. There were a few minor things that bugged me. The outlets on the work desk were inoperable, and there were no others in the area, making it far less functional. There were no lights in the foyer of the room, so it was always dark until you stumbled into the main area to find an individual switch on a lamp.
Despite my reservation, the only room available was a handicapped-accessible room. While normally not an issue, the accessible rooms are all on the central pillar near the elevators. The counterweight shaft for the elevators was next to the room, so all night long you could hear the swooshing of the machanism as the elevators operated.

Room Tip: Avoid the handicapped rooms if possible due to the elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treavor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Sapperlight,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad you had a positive experience with our Front Desk staff and our breakfast during your stay. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what felll below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced with the room accommodations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27698109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here in Feb for 4 days and I really was pleased with everything.
The room was very nicely decorated but most of all clean.Beds were just what we like and I found the inside room situation nice.Being on a very busy street there was no road or outside noise at all.The windows had a curtain that allowed light in but gave you privacy with a room darkening one over the top.
The mall across the street had a movie theater and lots of store and eateries.
We did eat in the bar one nite. The mac and crab was really good.and a reasonable price.
They did have free parking which is rare but you do have to pay for WiFi
We had no problem finding the hotel and would stay here again.We did notice one evening that there were alot of people staying the nite before leaving on a cruise so that is also a plus for cruisers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Ten minutes from airport, but not noisy. Handy for West Shore Mall, just over the busy Kennedy Boulevard. (Same as all the other malls in the USA). Comfortable room with high quality bed. Flatscreen TV, which is nice to see. Three of us there on business found the air-conditioning to be "freeze or off" or somewhat stuffy.

Friendly staff at open plan bar, but no draft beer. Shame. 'Shula's' restaurant doesn't disappoint with good steaks. Buffet breakfast had an impressive array of fruit but the 'hot' choice was limited - no beans, beef hash, mushrooms, tomatoes. But a good supply of smoked salmon with garnishes.

When trying to sleep, maid ignored "Do Not Disturb" sign on bedroom door. Suggested the sign be printed in Spanish!

Small outdoor pool on 9th floor proves popular with staying air crew.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms face courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexFogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here for the Jimmy Buffett concert March 30th and so did Jimmy!!! This is a nice hotel and close to Airport and St Pete. We purchased thru priceline and were given a sub standard room with ice machine condenser in ceiling of room making a very loud noise !! We called and were given a nice quiet clean room. The hotel is very modern and beautiful with nice staff and free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for another room if you are not happy, The staff switched us to another with prompness and court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobNaplesFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent two nights in the Tampa Bay/St. Petersburg area. I had researched hotels and the least expensive ones that were 2 or 3 stars ranging in price from $50-100+ per night were often not in a good area, were rundown or way out from the main areas of town. The three star hotels run from $100-up with four stars starting around $150 and up (and more depending on time of year). I needed two rooms for two nights and didn't want to spend a fortune, but prices for the areas I wanted would have been $150 and up per room per night for a 2-1/2 or 3 star hotel.
I then tried Priceline and searched for a few areas of St. Petersburg at $55-$60 for 3 star or up - Nothing. I then tried an area of Tampa, same info and nothing. I tried around the airport near the bay for slightly more...and I got the Intercontinental Tampa. The lowest rate I had found if I booked with any online site including the hotel's own site, was $169/night per room. Had I paid that amount, I probably would have rated the hotel a bit lower, but for less than half that, it was quite impressive.
The hotel is part of an office building complex and there are offices on either side with an open covered atrium on either side of the hotel, which has 11 floors. We were on the 10th floor and had a great view of...the offices in the next building. You could sort of see the bay in the distance, but this is not a hotel to get if you want great views from your room. HOWEVER - there is a open-air swimming pool on the 9th floor. The Pool area is simple and plain, with lounge chairs, bathrooms and towels, but the view is wonderful.
ALSO, even though the hotel is non-smoking, the pool area is not, so you can smoke at the pool area. Two of our party were smokers and I'd tried getting a hotel that allows smoking which usually are more expensive, and Priceline doesn't let you choose a smoking option. They usually have to go downstairs and outside a hotel to smoke, or if we're lucky enough to get an outdoor balcony with the room (No balconies on this hotel), but the pool area was convenient, quick trip on the elevator, about 100 feet to the pool area and have a cigarette.
The rooms are fairly modern with 32" flat screen TV, coffee maker, fridge stocked with drinks and snacks at the usual high markup.
Because we booked with Priceline, the type of room (one king bed, two doubles, etc) were up to the hotel. However, if you call the hotel directly after you book, you can often reserve a specific room/bed type for an extra $20 per room (that's per stay, not per night, so even if you stay multiple nights just a one-time fee). At the price we paid, any extras wouldn't be that big a deal, BUT BEWARE as this hotel can nickel-and-dime you. Examples:
Valet Parking for guests is $18 per day with unlimited in and out, BUT you can self-park in the garage behind the hotel for free. The elevator in the center of the garage leads to the back of the lobby of the hotel. Ask for the directions to the self-parking entrance.
Internet is $12.95/day for 24 hours of use. I had seen that and didn't bother bringing my computer because it was a short trip. At a time when many hotels give free wireless access, and considering the regular rates of $150+ per night, this seems high. There is a free "business center" off the lobby that has 3 computers and a printer plus a connection for your laptop (not sure if you have to pay for that, looked like a modem connection), but the computer internet connections were slow and occasionally dropped completely for a minute or two. Good for printing up boarding passes or checking email, but don't expect to do much heavy-duty work on these.
Beware of using the hotel phone, charges apply, see the rate information in the room.

We had a couple of problems with one room, such as bathtub wouldn't drain, but the staff was responsive and quickly resolved our issues. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. There is a small snack bar for pastries, smoothies, sodas and such just off the lobby that is open through the afternoon. There's also a bar off the lobby and a Shula's Steakhouse which is an expensive but good chain of steakhouses. There are a number of comfortable seating areas in the lobby area looking into the atriums.

The beds are VERY high, even at 6'1 I had to "jump" a bit to get on the bed. I requested non-feather hypo-allergenic pillows and they were in the room when I arrived. They even put the feather pillows in a special case in the closet. Bathroom is modern and simple but clean with usual amenities.

Overall, I don't know if I'd say this was a 4-star hotel but definitely at least a high 3-star. Location near major highways and the Tampa airport means you can get most anywhere in Tampa or St. Petersburg within 30 minutes by car (except at rush hours). If you can get a good discount on the price, it's a great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#37 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing