We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Loud and Over Charged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Loud and Over Charged”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We checked into this hotel for our honeymoon. When we checked in on Friday June 8th, 2012 we were told that there would be a $75 charge for incidentals, we were okay with that; but when I looked at my bank account Sat morning I saw that there was an additional charge pending in the amount of $398.48. $400 removed from a checking account for newly weds on their honeymoon is a BIG deal. We confronted customer service about this issue when we arrived to the hotel that Sat. We were told they were unsure of the charge but would pass it along to a manager. We then followed up on Sun morning & were told the charge was a mistake & the funds will be released asap. When we checked out Mon morning at 10am the manager still had not called the bank to release the funds but we were told it was a top priority. At this point we were traveling to GA for another part of our trip. I didn't hear anything until Tues at 11:30pm. The manager was caught off guard that I answered the phone & when I asked why she stated she was calling the bank. I was shocked that they we just then calling after they had 4 days to correct the issue. Come Wed am I called my bank directly to see if the funds have been release & they still had not called or released the funds. I called the hotel and was told they had forgotten but it would but would take care of it right away. We didn't get our money back until 8p Wed. We were not given an apology, offered another stay or anything. There was also a soccer team staying there that ran up and down the halls screaming until 4am each night we were there. When we complained about that we were told they are not responsible for the actions of their guests. I found this unacceptable. I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neeceebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Neeceebug,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in the our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    523
    254
    96
    78
See reviews for
263
447
113
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Elm, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

When travelling to Tampa on business I usually stay at this hotel and have yet to have a bad experience. The staff is great, check in/check out processes are a breeze. The hotel is within walking distance of a mall and several restaraunts ranging from fast food to fine dining. The rooms are well kept and well equipped. Nothing but great things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our guest rooms, location and especially our delightful staff. Our Associates really do make the difference for our property! We are so excited to hear you always enjoy your visits to our hotel. Thanks for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I got this hotel after bidding on priceline. I was worried since other reviewer's had mentioned priceline guest get the worst room. We arrived arounnd 11pm on a Fridy night to check in for a 3 night stay. They were very friendly and even accomodated my request to be close to the edge of the building to get a room with an outdoor view as most of the rooms face an indoor atrium. We didn't get our room cleaned(personal preference), but were able to get clean towels from the maid. The roof top pool was beautiful at night and was open until 10pm. You can see Tampa Bay and even downtown St.Pete in the distance from up there.
Free parking in garage.
Hotel had many areas on the property to sit, talk & get drinks with friends.

Only a few things kept me from giving it 5 stars:
-My key stopped working or was checking me out everyday, because I had to get both of them fixed each evening.
-No free wi-fi

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Miami Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

On 6/15/2012 I had checked in with my family at the Intercontinental hotel located at 4801 W.Kennedy BLVD ,Tampa,Florida 33609. I had two connected rooms. I had my young daughter and my neighbour's daughter. On 6/16/2012, I left the rooms at about 930am to go to Bush Gardens. Once we returned from the park, after a hot day, we assumed that we will be taking showers and changed before going back out to dinner. when we entered the rooms, we realized that they never cleaned and fixed them. I had my fiance calling the front desk and the phone rang several times before it was finally answered. He told them about the situation, and he was told that housekeeping was coming to clean the room immediately. we waited for about one hour no one came,so we tried to recycled the wet towels that we had used and towed on the floor on that morning before we went to the park that we could wash up and dressed up to go to dinner.when we were almost done, a lady from housekkeeper showed up. She told me that she came to clean the rooms,so we left her in the rooms. When we returned 2 hours later both rooms were still dirty.The house keeping lady left without doing anything. I picked up the phone to call the front desk again the phone rang about 15 minutes and no answer. I decided to go to the front desk to talk to them in person. Once I got there, there were 2 ladies working at the front desk and no guests. They were talking with each other, basically. not doing anything. I told them the rooms are still dirty. I asked them if it is such a problem to have it clean change the rooms to other rooms she told me that she could not change the rooms. She said that she would send the house keeper again to the room . the house keeper cleaned one room and left the other one dirty. Immediately , I had called that time they answered the phone right away. I spoke with this lady name Lyli and asked to speak with her boss. I had asked her whats really the problem.Basically, she had not too much to say.She offered me breakfast, but I did not want breakfast. I only needed my room clean or another clean room. I had the worst experience at this hotel then any other....I will not suggest this hotel to anyone ...or return to this location ever...It is not the location of the hotel thats bad instead it is the people who work for this hotel that need to be changed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Florence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
I am very sorry to hear of your experience at our property, it is completely unacceptable that you received such poor service during your stay. I assure you this is not typical of our hotel and I wanted to let you know I have reviewed this situation with the Housekeeping and Front Office management team to ensure this does not ever happen again. I apologize that this situation ruined your visit to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I recently stayed for four nights in a suite on the fourth floor. The rooms were very spacious and accommodating to my needs as I was running my business on the go. The front desk was very nice and helpful as well as the valet and housekeepers. The overall feeling of the hotel and guests were great and made me feel right at home. I will definately stay again and recommend to all of my associates.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DanAceRoofing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dan,
Thanks for the great review and sharing such nice comments about our hotel team. Our Associates are the best and we are very proud of their work… See you again soon.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a great place to stay in tampa! It is located directly across the street from a mall with tons of great restaurants and good shopping. There is an upscale steakhouse also inside the hotel. Hotel has all amenities including valet and a fitness center. It is located in the business district, so don't be suprised if mostly everyone is in suit and tie. You can see the bay from high windows.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience. It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Loved my recent stay at the Intercontinental Hotel in Tampa. First time at the hotel but when back in the area, I will return. The hotel is situated on busy Kennedy boulevard but once inside you wont hear any sounds from the street. The lobby is modern and very inviting; great for people watching. There is a Don Shula's restaurant/bar in the hotel which turned out to be a very fun place to be for happy hour. The rooms are beautiful with one of the most comfortable and luxurious beds I have ever slept on. The bathroom had great toiletries and big fluffy towels. The entire property was very well maintained. It's a great value. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelermia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Happy hour is a blast at Shula's No Name Lounge!Thanks for the great comments
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#40 of 163 in Tampa
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing