We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #35 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
atlanta
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We moved here from a hotel on Clearwater Beach due to the freezing weather. We obtained a Hotwire rate that was 2/3 less than the cramped beach hotel. We were able to check in early. There is free parking in the deck but valet parking is also available. It's across the street from a mall, movie theaters and a nice variety of restaurants (Pinkberry & Starbucks included!). The hotel is beautiful, modern and very clean. The staff were all helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Other than not being able to use the room refrigerator (it's completely full with $$ items) for our drinks & leftovers and the wifi not being free, I have no complaints and would definitely stay here again. We also used the free airport shuttle which was very convenient.

Room Tip: We had a view of the lobby. Not exciting but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thanks for the nice review. I am pleased to see your vacation was not a complete disappointment due to the weather. Glad we could help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    502
    241
    90
    76
See reviews for
249
425
107
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lantana, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This property is an unusual location, half the room face into an atrium in an office complex. There is a Shula's restaurant on the property. There is a free self service parking garage and $18/night valet parking. The staff is exceptionally friendly- from the front desk, housecleaning, valet etc. Rooms were clean. However, I think this property could be a little better maintained, the doors were not clean- a coat of paint would do and on my particular room- if the door wasn't fully shut it did not close by itself. When i went up to my roon the door was open. The bathtub drain needed fixed. Small things that should be taken care of in a 4 star hotel prior to the guest complaining. The rooms were quote comfortable but I think they need a little TLC in this property.

Room Tip: the room service breakfast was quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WPBTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for posting your experience with us. I am delighted to see you enjoyed our friendly associates, amenities and clean comfortable rooms. I also appreciate the feedback on the conditions in the property, these are circumstances a guest should never need to bring to our attention and should be resolved before you arrive. I have shared your experience with our team as it is our goal to maintain the hotel in top condition at all times. Thanks again for writing.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was at the InterContinental for a work conference. The hotel as a whole was very nice. The room was exceptionally clean and fairly well maintained. The hotel can be rather noisy. I would recommend asking for a room that faced the atrium. I was on the 9th floor and my room faced the street and I could hear every rev of a motor and all of the passing traffic. It was exceptionally bad on the weekends. When closing the room door it does close rather loud, actually kind of slams. Every time someone would enter or leave their room I could hear it very loudly in mine. This became frustrating when trying to sleep at 3 a.m. Between the noise outside and the doors slamming it was rather difficult to sleep at times. For a hotel, the beds were very comfortable. The hotel does have Wi-Fi capabilities but charges almost $13 dollars a day for the services. Food was provided several times during the conference and I did order room service once. The food was pretty good, no complaints. The attitude of the staff at the hotel did kind of vary. Some were very friendly and helpful while other seemed like they couldn’t be bothered. Some of the maids had a better personality than some of the front desk staff. If you are flying in from TPA you will have to call the hotel when you arrive to have the shuttle come to pick you up. There is a Walgreens across the street and a Panera Bread and Starbucks. Also, there is a mall directly across from the hotel. You do have to walk back a little farther to get to the entrance but it is not far at all. The mall has numerous shops, 3-4 sit down restaurants and a food court. You are not able to see the water from the hotel unless you go the pool on the 9th floor, you can see it in the distance. I was told it was about a 20-30 minute drive to the main beaches.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the atrium side. Call the hotel when you arrive at the airport for the shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Hi Sarah,
Thank you for writing about the positives during your stay and sharing the areas we can improve. It was truly a pleasure to host your group at our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here for a conference and overall enjoyed the stay. The room was clean and comfortable, and the typical conference catering and services were good. Good chain restaurants in walking distance but nothing unique or spectacular. The hotel is only three miles from the airport, and the complimentary shuttle was very convenient. Just a few minor notes though:
--I couldn't seem to find a 'do not disturb' card for the door, and even though they outlined their 'green' policies, they still washed my towels after one night even though they were hanging and not dirty on the floor.
--My room was very near the elevators, where you could hear the compressors all day and night. My room also faced the interior atrium, which meant there was little privacy with an office window right across from mine.
--Inexplicably, there was no hot water my last morning there. I was surprised that a higher-end hotel would have that issue.

Room Tip: Avoid near the elevators and facing the atrium if you want more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTravelLady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in offering a clean, comfortable hotel in a great location close to wonderful shopping, dining and entertainment options. Our concierge is great to use as a source for unique local restaurants and true Tampa experiences. I will also review you’re the discrepancies in your stay with our team in the effort to improve our guest experience. I am disappointed to see we dropped the ball on a few issues and will work to resolve this quickly. Thanks for sharing.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I booked the Interncontinental through Priceline for a 1 night pre-cruise stay. I had an extremely great price, 80$ per night, so I was very happy about getting a 4 star hotel for such a good price. We were only getting into Tampa for dinner time so we did not have much time to enjoy the facilities of this hotel so I can't talk at length about everything this hotel has to offer. Here are the pros and the cons:

PROS:

*The room was spacious, we had booked 2 rooms and were each upgraded to a king size bed, and clean. I had problems with the television and the engineer was in my room in a couple of minutes and resolved the problem quickly and efficiently.
*Location: It is located in front of a nice shopping mall so we went there on the morning of our cruise for a little shopping.
*Staff: We were treated very well by the staff during our check in and check out

CONS:

*Food: They only have expensive options inside the hotel. We had dinner in the bar area and it was more than ordinary for the price. However, we were tired from our day of flying so it did the job. You can cross the street and there are a couple of restaurants in the mall.
*Location: Except for the shopping mall, there is nothing much to do.

It is an excellent choice for our pre-cruise stay. We were more than happy with our choice for the price. I would stay there again in a heartbeat before leaving for a cruise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cricri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
I am very pleased your overall stay was positive and you experienced our wonderful associates. I am sorry we were unable to direct you to some less expensive dinner options. Next time you stay with us please feel free to consult with our Concierge. Tiffany is one of the nicest people you will ever meet and will be delighted to direct you to one of the many distinctive restaurants within walking distance or a short cab ride from the hotel.
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is my 6th or 7th stay here, usually for 4 to 5 days each trip. On my previous trips I have had a room with a view of the lobby of the adjacent building, these rooms have been nice and also quiet.
On this particular trip I was surprised to get a room on an upper floor with a view of the bay. A view of the bay also means you are right by the street. Starting at about 6am on a weekend you will hear a lot of road noise. So I am torn, a nice view with street noise, or a lobby view and quiet.
Rooms are nice, very clean. Comfortable bed, way better than the omni I just left.
All in all not a bad hotel, just noisy. Also most flight crews use this hotel, so you can get stuck behind a pretty good size group checking in at any given time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirsmokeyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
I appreciate the thoughtful and fair review and promise we will win over a better review from you next time!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Classy hotel, great lounge and close to shopping, great restaurants, sports and njghtlife. We stayed on the very top floor Bayside with spectacular view of Tampa Bay and beautiful sunsets! Its a very centralized location in Tampa and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGaffney, Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for writing about our great location, wonderful rooms and the fantastic No Name Lounge! I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend so much. Thanks for sharing with our future guests!
-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#33 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing